WIAW: King Edition

30 Jan

Happy Wednesday everyone!

I have to admit, I’m kind of glad that it’s Wednesday. We’re halfway through the work week and just a few short days away from the weekend. It’s taken me a little bit to get back to the swing of things this week after a very weird last week, but I’m finally feeling like I’m in a good place.

Now if only I could add more hours in the day to get stuff done! I’ve been stretching myself a BIT too thin lately.

But anyway, yesterday ended up being a pretty decent day all around. Especially my eats. And it’s it’s What I Ate Wednesday, you guys actually get to see them all! YAY! (<—Can you tell it’s early in the morning??)

For anyone not familiar with the idea of WIAW, please check Jenn’s blog for a very eloquent explanation about how WIAW was designed to share and celebrate food, free from judgment or comparison.  

Let’s get started!

Breakfast

I have been on a serious oatmeal kick and have basically been eating the same thing for breakfast for like an entire month. Oatmeal with peanut butter, jelly, cinnamon, and mixed berries. Simple, quick and delicious.

IMG_2154

Snack

My boss is from New Orleans originally, so she brought in Starbucks and a faux King Cake to celebrate the start of the Mardi Gras season.

For those Non-New Orleaners (myself included), here is the basic idea:

Fullscreen capture 1302013 71312 AM.bmp

(Source)

I ended up just having a few bites of cake, but the gesture was appreciated. And I definitely took advantage of the free Starbucks coffee.

Lunch

Lunch, per usual, was leftovers from the fridge. I had some of our Southwestern stuffed peppers from Monday night (recipe coming) which definitely do not photograph very well, and a clementine for some vitamin C!

IMAG0440

Snack #2

I’ve gotten into this 2 snack a day habit recently! I don’t know what that’s about… Anyway, I ended up eating a Blood Orange Chobani (one of my favorites!) and a mini babybell light. Still obsessed with these things!

IMAG0441

Dinner

After the gym I headed home to put together a super quick dinner. Turkey burgers (mixed with Worchester sauce, TJs everyday seasoning, garlic salt, and grill seasoning) topped with a Colby Jack thin, a side salad with light caesar, and some roasted rosemary red potatoes (x2). Simple and amazing.

Also, this picture is before I slathered it all in ketsup. #noshame

IMG_2216

Workout

Today’s workout from Best Body Bootcamp called for a cardio day. When I got to the gym I wasn’t really feeling it, but I decided to hit up the treadmill (aka dreadmill) for a run. Ever since I started running outside, I just despise treadmills. And to think I used to ONLY ever run on treadmills!

Anyway, I ended up doing about 3.5 miles while watching Castle on my kindle (thank goodness for gym wifi!) before my right quad started to get a little tight and I decided not to push it too hard. But I was still a sweaty mess by the end!

I have to admit it though, I am definitely turning into more of a strength girl than a cardio girl. Never thought that would happen! But I definitely look forward to strength days a lot more now. Maybe it’s time to change up my cardio routine a little bit. Put some spunk back into it!

Well there you have it! What I ate on Wednesday (AND what I sweated – like a two for one!)!

So tell me: What did you eat today?

9 Responses to “WIAW: King Edition”

  1. IHeartVegetables January 30, 2013 at 7:44 am #

    i haven’t tried that Chobani flavor yet but I’ve head it’s really good!!

    • MyFreckledLife January 30, 2013 at 8:56 am #

      It’s definitely one of my favorites! It’s like a mix of citrus and berry (if that makes any sense). You definitely need to check it out!

  2. di @ life of di. January 30, 2013 at 8:04 am #

    I love Blood Orange Chobani – so good 🙂 – however, my new favorite is pear! It’s delicious. The banana one is pretty good too but seems a bit artificial. Didn’t like it as much as I would’ve thought.

    • MyFreckledLife January 30, 2013 at 8:57 am #

      Blood Orange is definitely my favorite! And I actually was not as much of a fan of the pear one for some reason, but loved the banana. It’s funny how different tastes can be!

      • di @ life of di. February 1, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

        I agree 🙂 It is interesting how tastes are different (and how they change over time!) I can’t believe how much my tastes have changed as an adult. I’m open to much more food than I ever was as a teenager.

  3. consciouscravings January 30, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    I was born in New Orleans, so I know all about the king cake craze. If you ever want to try a really good one, look for one that is filled with bavarian cream. You will not regret it at all unless you end up eating the entire cake – totally happens in New Orleans all the time.

    • MyFreckledLife January 31, 2013 at 7:30 am #

      Yummm, that sounds amazing! And New Orleans is such a cool place – such a unique culture! I love it!

  4. Chelsea Eats Treats January 30, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

    I got the plastic baby in the cake at my office last year!!! Woohoo! lol

  5. jessielovestorun January 30, 2013 at 11:36 pm #

    your dinner looks delicious… so far today I’ve eaten toast (one slice with pb, and other with butter) and one egg. Nothing too exciting since I’ve been dealing w/ a stomach bug.

Leave a Reply

