One Whole Year!

31 Jan

Happy Thursday friends!

Today is a very special Thursday here at My Freckled Life, because we are celebrating a BLOGIVERSARY!

Fullscreen capture 1312013 71326 AM

That’s right, MFL is officially 1 year old today!

I had been reading blogs for several years before I really decided give creating my own blog a shot. You can read my super embarrassing and awkward first post here (and see pictures of baby Laney!).

IMG_0022

When I first started I didn’t tell ANYONE about it – not even Chris for a good month or two. I had no readers and it was solely a blog for me. See, I have this known habit of starting something and never actually following through – so I had to make sure I was actually going to keep it up before I shared it. But slowly it’s grown and morphed and grown some more. It’s like a teenager now!

2012 was a huge year for me (which I recaped at the beginning of the year) and I’m so happy that I was able to document and share everything with you all!

So instead of looking back through the year (since I just did that), I thought instead I’d share with you all a few fun facts about My Freckled Life!

Most Popular Post

(source)

After the Home Page and the About Me page, MFL most popular post was on called Driving the Struggle Bus from last May, where I discussed My Big Fat American Gypsy Wedding (amongst other things).

The second most popular post was WIAW: Kryptonite Edition which included a lively discussion on cheeze-its. You should check it out.

One of my favorite posts from early on which I feel like lots of new readers missed out on was the time that I became Country and spent the afternoon at a dairy farm. Anyone who knows this city girl knows that this was an EXPERIENCE. Let’s just say I didn’t know what a baby cow was called before this. It’s a calf, just FYI. I’m country now.

IMG_0379

Most Popular Country

What I like about using wordpress is that it lets me see statistics – who came to my page, where they came from, if they left comments, etc.

But one of the things that I find most interesting is the country list, where it tells me what country my readers are from. While 4 of my top 5 might be expected (The US, Canada, UK, and Australia), my #4 totally took  me by surprise! Germany!

I guess they enjoy hearing about my German husband!

IMG_2124

Most Popular Google Search

The other best thing to look at is the google searches that lead people to my blog. Sometimes I don’t quite understand how google leads them here, but it does… Check out some of these:

* Face Licking (Why yes, I do enjoy a good face lick every now and again?)

* Being blind sucks (That is accurate, it probably does suck)

* Freckled Booty (Pretty sure I’ve never commented on my rear end here on MFL, but in case you want to know, yes my booty is freckled too.)

* I Hate Pink (I am actually pretty pro pink. Sorry google searcher, the almighty google lead you astray)

* Eat My Arm (…no thank you?)

* Yay, I’m a champion (Ok, I’m kind of glad this one lead you here)

And my personal favorite:

* dominican dj mowing lawn (I don’t even have any guesses as to how this got you here…)

 

But the all time leading google search, hands down? Struggle Bus

I’m glad all you who are struggling come to seek guidance from me. Because I am the master struggle bus operator, thank you very much!

(source)

So where are we going from here?

Over the past year MFL has definitely gone through a lot of growth and changes. I’m happy to say that I’ve gotten much more involved in the blogging community (wonderful people!) and in social media.

But I have a lot of new ideas for this blog, so don’t be surprised to see some a-changes coming! Some probably in the very near future!

I wont spoil the fun and ruin the surprise, but let’s just say that I’m working to turn my little teenage blog into a young adult. Complete with a facelift and some new connections in the blog world.

I’m both excited and terrified.

But here’s to you, My Freckled Life – Happy Blogiversary and may year 2 be even better than year 1!

11 Responses to “One Whole Year!”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake January 31, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    Happy Blogiversary! 🙂

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats January 31, 2013 at 9:13 am #

    Happy blogiversary!! 🙂

  3. Alisha's Appetite January 31, 2013 at 9:47 am #

    Happy blogiversary!! And the face liking search is hilarious! ha!

  4. Meagan January 31, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    Happy Blogiversary! It’s a lovely teenager if I do say so myself. I would love to catch up sometime soon! See how the first quarter year of marriage has treated you too ; ) Cheers, dahlling!

    • MyFreckledLife January 31, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

      Yes, definitely! We need a DR reunion soon… especially given this super cold VA/MD weather!

  5. IHeartVegetables January 31, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

    Awww, happy Blogiversary! I’m so happy you’ve been blogging, so I got to meet you 🙂 Hope to see you soon!

  6. di @ life of di. January 31, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

    Happy Blogiversary! So glad that I stumbled upon your blog this year. It has been fun to follow along. Looking forward to more posts and a new look 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Favorites Friday #7 « My Freckled Life - February 1, 2013

    […] though for you sweet comments and congratulations on yesterday’s post about My Freckled Life’s blogiversary! I’m so happy that I took the plunge and joined the blogging community and I’m really excited […]

Leave a Reply

