Five Favorites Friday #7

1 Feb

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!

Can you tell I’m super excited that it’s the end of the week!? It has been one BUSY week, so I’m definitely looking forward to doing some relaxing this weekend.

I’m still convinced that all weekends should be 4 days weekends!

I did want to thank you all though for you sweet comments and congratulations on yesterday’s post about My Freckled Life’s blogiversary! I’m so happy that I took the plunge and joined the blogging community and I’m really excited for some of the changes that are in the works for the future! You guys are the best!

ANYWAY, I apologize if I’m a little all over the place this morning. I didn’t really sleep well thanks to an event in our community last night. Unfortunately we have some neighbors that are…let’s just say “sketchy”. Well long-story-short, 4 of them ended up beating up another member of the community last night. It was bad guys. LOTS of police, and definitely shook us all up a little bit. We don’t even live in a questionable neighborhood! I don’t know what the future is going to hold for some of our neighbors, but it was definitely enough to concern me last night (and mess with my sleep!)

But enough on the deep stuff – it’s Friday and that means it’s time for a Five Favorites Friday! So here are 5 totally random and unrelated things that I’m loving this week:

1. Favorite Breakfast Creation: Breakfast Burritos

As I mentioned on Monday, Chris and I prepped a bunch of breakfast burritos last week to be frozen and pulled out for quick breakfasts. Well I FINALLY broke my oatmeal streak and decided to try something new. And seriously guys, I think I have a new love.

IMG_2219

They are full of eggs, turkey sausage, hashbrowns, cheese and salsa, and literally take like 2 minutes to make in the microwave. So quick and easy, and they are seriously filling. I’m kind of obsessed. You should make these immediately. And we froze them all individually, so they are great as a grab and go kind of breakfast too!

2. Favorite New Gadget: Pedometer

So I know a lot of people have recently jumped on the pedometer train to count their steps per day, and I have to admit that I have definitely been considering it. Well yesterday one of my coworkers came in with these REALLY basic pedometers that her insurance sent her. They are SO not high tech fancy ones, but it’s a great way to at least get a very basic idea of how many steps  your taking. And helps me decide whether I want to invest in a fancier one.

IMG_2224

Seriously super low-tech, and I have to wear it on my belt like a super-cool pager, but still. It gets the job done for the moment. I got it around noon yesterday, and walked over 9,000 steps by the end of the day. I’m curious to see how much I walk when I start from the beginning of the day!

3. Favorite Cardio Workout: Sprints

Since I started really running outside, I have found myself getting REALLY bored in the gym on cardio days. Like wandering the gym trying to decide what to do, bored. So recently I’ve found that one way to combat my boredom is to switch my cardio into shorter sprints on multiple machines. It totally stops my boredom, and seems to make me push harder since I know I only have 5, 10, 15 or whatever minutes on the machine.

IMAG0444

For example, the other day in between strength training circuits, I would do 10 minute interval sprints on the stairmaster or the treadmill. And yesterday I did several 15 minute rounds on the incline walker, the arc trainer, and the regular treadmill.

Keeps me entertained, and makes me a total sweaty mess. With lobster face (and long time MFL readers remember that?). Also, no clue why I was kneeling in the picture below… awkward.

IMAG0447

 

4. Favorite New Dinner: Fish!

I don’t know why, but I never remember to make fish when I cook at home. It seriously never crosses my mind! Chris and I were talking about it a few weeks ago, and I decided to make a conscious effort to cook more fish. So this week we decided to start with a basic and went with salmon.

IMG_2223-001

Topped with lemon pepper and dill (although I figured out I am NOT a dill fan), paired with green beans and some leftover roasted potatoes. Simple, and came together in like 10 minutes.

5. Favorite New Morning Routine: Vitamins

Several bloggers have recently become ambassadors for NatureMade vitamins, and their posts kind of inspired me to check out my own vitamin routine. I would sometimes remember to take a multivitamin, but I’ve kind of been slacking in that department recently.

So the next trip to the grocery store I went to check out the vitamin section. And what do you know? NatureMade was BOGO. Ummm, ok! I ended up purchasing 4 different kinds: calcium chews, fish oil chews, vitamin D melts, and vitamin B12 melts.

IMAG0443

Please ignore my seriously dry hands. The winter kills me.

I’m super excited to start incorporating them into my routine. While the melts are good, I have to admit that the gummies are my favorite. Even the fish oil ones are ok, even though they sound like they’d be gross. I’ve been trying to take some every morning, and then space out other vitamins throughout the day (so I don’t overload my system).

I’ll let you know how things go, but so far (aka Day 2), I’m loving it!

Well that is all I have for you! I hope you all have a fabulous weekend!

So tell me: What are you loving this week?

7 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #7”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats February 1, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    I’ve been trying to eat more fish recently too! I found some frozen tilapia filets at Giant that are individually frozen which have been awesome! I also found this article about how to cook tilapia ten different ways (http://texashealthmoms.blogspot.com/2012/02/ten-ways-with-tilapia.html) which has been super helpful!

  2. Nicole @ Fruit 'N' Fitness February 1, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

    Do the fish oil chews taste bad? I tried taking fish oil pills and couldn’t handle the aftertaste. I hope you stay safe! It can be very scary when something out of the ordinary happens in your neighborhood.

  3. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake February 1, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    You should definitely try out the fish recipe from my meal plan… it was SO easy! And I think any fish would work if you can’t find haddock.

  4. cleaneatingveggiegirl February 2, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    Those breakfast burritos look great, and it is a fantastic idea to freeze them so that you can easily fix them in a pinch. Awesome idea!

    • MyFreckledLife February 5, 2013 at 10:50 am #

      It’s so simple and makes things so much more convenient first thing in the morning!

  5. IHeartVegetables February 4, 2013 at 9:04 am #

    I love my gummy vitamins!!! I always remember to take them because they’re so tasty 😉

    • MyFreckledLife February 5, 2013 at 10:51 am #

      Sometimes I have to stop myself from taking too many they are so good!

Leave a Reply

