Battling the Workout Blahs

5 Feb

Happy Tuesday everyone! We all made it through Monday alive! I don’t know about you, but sometimes I consider that a success in itself. Mondays are just gross.

Yesterday was particularly gross because I had a LONG day. I didn’t end up leaving the office until after 6 thanks to some late afternoon appointments. By the time I worked out and got home, it was nearly 8:30! Then, of course, this old lady is in bed by like 10:00, so there wasn’t much room for anything last night.

I did get to try something new for a workout today, though – so at least that’s successful!

Any LONG time MFL reader will remember when I participated in the Drop It! Challenge in Culpeper last year. Drop It! is an initiative in Culpeper put on my one of the local fitness centers, to encourage fitness and healthy lifestyles within the community. They put on health fairs, have informational meetings about healthy eating, and do a free fitness class on Monday nights!

My coworker conned me in to going (just like last year – I can’t say no!) and this first week was zumba. Now, I am a TERRIBLE dancer so I was a little worried about it. I’m not trying to make a fool of myself!

But after getting into a room full of women (and some men) of all shapes, sizes, ages and dance ability – I didn’t feel so awkward. And when I bumped into the poor woman next to me? We’d just smile at each other, because no one knew what they were doing!

I have to admit, I didn’t really work up a sweat like I was hoping to. Clearly I was not getting my booty poppin’ on enough! But it was definitely nice to try something new! Especially since I’ve been totally feeling the workout blahs lately.

Battling the Workout Blahs

What are the workout blahs, you ask? You know – when you go to the gym and nothing really seems to be calling your name. So you jump around lackluster until you just call it a day. Or when you go in for your normal class or gym routine and just kind of phone it in. You all know what I’m talking about.

You’re getting the workout in, which is still good, but it just doesn’t have the same energy or spark that it used to.

Welcome to the world of the workout blahs. I am a frequent visitor.

So how do you fix this? For me it comes down to a few key tools.

1. Find what motivates YOU

Motivation means something different to everyone. For some people, the “rewards jar” idea works, where they place a dollar (or other amount) into a jar for every workout, and at the end of a month they get to use that money to buy something for themselves.

Other people prefer to give themselves rewards based on how many pounds they lose. For example, after 5 pounds they’ll get a manicure. 10 gets you a pedi. 20 gets you a new jacket, etc.

For me, I’m all about the competitive motivation. I need a tangible goal to work towards. First, it was looking good for my upcoming wedding. Then it was training for the half marathon. It was something that I could see in my head and every time I wanted to phone it in at the gym, I’d just remind myself of this goal.

Which is probably why I’m experiencing the blahs now. I have no goal that I’m working towards!

2. Mix it up!

Sometimes just being in a normal routine at the gym will get you into the blahs. Oh, it’s Tuesday? That obviously means it’s a running day. Thursday? Well that’s BodyPump.

Not only does your body adapt to the same workouts over and over, but your brain adapts too! You start putting in less and less effort because your brain simply gets bored.

So try something new! Take a new class at the gym. Venture into the “men’s” side of the gym and get some pointers. Sign up for some personal training sessions. Do something adventurous like indoor rock climbing or hiking. Mix it up, because sometimes that can be the jumpstart you need to break out of the blahs. Plus you may find something new and fun that you enjoy!

3. Find support!

They always say that working out with a buddy is a great way to keep yourself accountable. While this is true, I also think buddies can be a great way to push yourself harder at the gym, because you can motivate each other.

IMG_1990

If you DON’T have a gym buddy – find one! Smile at a new person at the gym and see if you can make a friend. Get your significant other involved, even if it’s just talking to them about your frustrations and getting their support. Social media is also a great way to get support from others online. Connect with bloggers! We’ve all been there, and the blogging community is great at supporting others!

 

So there you have it – 3 ways to break through the workout blahs. Nothing earth shattering, but sometimes I think it’s important to remember that the workout blahs don’t last forever. It just takes a little extra effort on our part and we can be back on top of our game again in no time!

Now I just need to take my own advice and break through them!

So tell me: Have you ever experienced the workout blahs?

7 Responses to “Battling the Workout Blahs”

  1. Her Happy Balance February 5, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    I totally understand the Workout blahs, I was feeling like I had those a lot last week. I think I got back on track over the weekend. Cute blog 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife February 5, 2013 at 10:52 am #

      Thanks! And yea, I think we all get into that rut. The important part is getting OUT of it!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats February 5, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    I’ve taken a few Zoomba classes before and I feel the same way; it’s a fun activity to do with a friend but I never break much of a sweat. I also get the workout blahs when I have no end goal in sight. It’s so hard to keep up the intensity if you don’t have a “reason” to!

    • MyFreckledLife February 6, 2013 at 7:30 am #

      Yea, I was a little disappointed in zumba. But it may have just been this class. It was fun though! And I completely agree – I need a new goal!

  3. Nicole @ Fruit 'N' Fitness February 6, 2013 at 1:52 am #

    I just signed up for a trainer and entered my first half marathon! Something to look forward to and work for and someone to help motivate me along the way. I love working out but feel like after awhile the hour elliptical sessions aren’t doing much in terms of improving fitness.

    • MyFreckledLife February 6, 2013 at 7:30 am #

      Congrats!! Trainers and races are definitely super motivating! I really need to find something myself to give me a goal to work towards! And I definitely understand how you feel!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Orange Edition « My Freckled Life - February 6, 2013

    […] make it to the gym, and started a new phase of Best Body Bootcamp, which definitely helped with my workout blahs. Today’s workout was shoulders and legs, and boy was I feeling it – ESPECIALLY in my shoulders! […]

Leave a Reply

