WIAW: Orange Edition

6 Feb

Well happy hump day everyone!

I don’t know about you, but this week is actually going pretty quickly for me. I can’t believe that it’s already Wednesday! It probably helps that I’ve been super swamped at work, which definitely makes the days go by fast. One of those things where you blink your eyes and it’s 4pm already. Too much to do, too little time!

(But of course, on those weeks when you DON’T have anything to do, the time inches along like it’s your own personal circle of hell. Tell me someone else feels the same way!)

Anyway, it is Wednesday and you all know what that means! Time for a What I Ate Wednesday post!

For anyone not familiar with What I Ate Wednesday, please head over to Jenn’s blog for a lovely example and a great explanation about the WIAW phenomenon and the meaning behind it.

This month Jenn specifically challenged us to eat more veggies, and I took that on for sure! These are my eats from Tuesday.

Breakfast

I was in an little bit of an oatmeal rut yesterday (don’t worry, I’m back again today), so I decided to make something a little different. Honey Nut Cheerios with some fruit, and a half of an english muffin with peanut butter. Simple, but it did manage to keep me full for awhile, which is a plus. With tea on the side, of course. Need caffeine.

IMG_2231

Lunch

Lunch was a bunch of leftovers from the Super Bowl. I ate the rest of the buffalo chicken dip with some celery and carrot sticks, and paired it with some roasted red pepper hummus. Lots of veggies which totally filled me up. But I sure got my fill of beta carotene today – just look at all that orange! Orange dip, orange hummus AND orange carrots!

IMAG0455 Snack

Around 4pm I usually feel the tummy start grumbling, so I usually take a snack break. One of my favorites in Chobani because it definitely manages to fill me up until lunch. And, you know, it’s freaking delicious. Blueberry flavor this time.

IMAG0457

Dinner

We had some leftover shredded chicken from the buffalo dip, so I decided to whip up some quesadillas. Except that by the time I got home, I wasn’t feeling salsa anymore (I know, SUPER weird for me). But I was feeling BBQ. So we made BBQ quesadillas instead, with BBQ chicken, mozzarella, and caramelized onions. Side of broccoli.

IMG_2236IMG_2237IMG_2243

Dinner part 2

About 30 minutes after dinner Chris was still hungry, so he whipped up some sweet potato fries (no pic, sorry). I munched on those when he wasn’t looking. Because obviously I needed MORE orange food in my life today!

There you have it – what I ate today!

Gym

I did manage to make it to the gym, and started a new phase of Best Body Bootcamp, which definitely helped with my workout blahs. Today’s workout was shoulders and legs, and boy was I feeling it – ESPECIALLY in my shoulders! I was dying by the end!

One of my new favorite moves though is the plie lunge.

(Source)

I mentioned them before last time I did Best Body Bootcamp when Tina incorporated them as well, but I’d completely forgotten all about them. But they may be one of my new favorite moves again. One of those that just hurts so good! And boy am I feeling it today!

Well that’s all for today folks!

So tell me: What did you eat today? Have you ever done curtsy lunges?

10 Responses to “WIAW: Orange Edition”

  1. di @ life of di. February 6, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    I never thought to add berries to my cheerios! What a great little addition. Your breakfast looks awesome – very balanced with different flavors. I feel like I always need a variety of tastes when I’m consuming a meal. I (psychologically) feel like I’m not done if I haven’t eaten both sweet and salty 🙂 Weird….I know…

    • MyFreckledLife February 10, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

      No, I totally understand. I dont really like plain things, so I like to mix it up and include all kinds of flavors in my meals! That’s not weird (or maybe I’m just weird too!)

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats February 6, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    Yumm looks like a great day of eating! Most of my meals were leftovers from the super bowl too haha. So good!

    • MyFreckledLife February 10, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

      I dont understand the people who dont eat leftovers!

  3. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast February 6, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    I’m doing Tina’s boot camp, too! Did those same curtsy lunges. 🙂 I love having someone else tell me what to do for strength, holds me accountable!

  4. jessielovestorun February 7, 2013 at 2:35 am #

    Love using leftovers in some type of quesidilas. Makes for the easiest meal 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife February 10, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

      I dont make them NEARLY often enough! So easy and delicious!

  5. IHeartVegetables February 7, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    Yummm now I want a quesadilla!! haha
    Those lunges look intense!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Strength Moves « My Freckled Life - February 21, 2013

    […] example, you guys have already heard my profess my love/hate (as in hurts so good) with the curtsy lunges and the crocodile walk, but here are a few more of my new favorite moves that you should definitely […]

Leave a Reply

