From Pin to Plate: No-bake Granola Bars

12 Feb

Good Morning guys!

Today is going to be a CRAZY day for me (what is it about February that is turning out to be totally insane??), and I’m still not exactly feeling up to par since my gross stuffy-nosed sickness from this weekend.

So I’m just kind of hoping to survive the next few days.

I don’t really have any exciting workout news (because HA! I’d actually have to workout for that to happen), but I DO have a recipe for you!

A few weeks ago, Chris challenged me to make some granola bars as a work afternoon snack for us. I tried out one recipe which only turned out ok, and neither Chris nor I were really fans of the texture. We kind of determined that baked granola bars may just not be our thing.

When I found this recipe for no-bake granola bars on Pinterest, I was very intrigued, because they kind of reminded me of the old Chewy granola bars that we used to get with our lunches at summer camp.

(source)

I decided to give them a try, and I have to tell you – I’m loving them as a granola bar base! It’s such a simple recipe, but there is so much that you can do with it to make it your own.

For this first try, I decided to do a mix of craisins and mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. But I have tons of ideas that include all kinds of nuts, dried fruits, and other grains.

But here is the basic recipe for you, originally from Lauren’s Latest.

No-bake Granola Bars

Recipe adapted from Lauren’s Latest. Recipe originally adapted from Rachel Ray.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup honey
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
2 cups quick cooking oats (different from rolled oats)
1 cup crispy rice cereal
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons mini chocolate chips
2 tablespoons craisins

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, stir oats and rice cereal together. Set aside.

2. In a small pot, melt butter, honey and brown sugar together over medium high heat until it comes to a bubble. Reduce the heat and cook 2 minutes. Pour in vanilla and stir.

3. Pour over dry ingredients and mix well to moisten all ingredients. Add in chocolate chips and craisins and stir. Pour into lightly greased small jelly roll pan and press out to be about 3/4 inch in thickness. {Suggestion from original recipe: If your pan isn’t small enough, pack the mixture into one side. You really want to press them down so they stick together.}

4. Cool on a countertop to room temperature for two hours. Wrap in plastic wrap and store at room temperature.

IMG_2253IMG_2255IMG_2257IMG_2258IMG_2259

 

Again, these seriously have so much room for creativity. I’m almost excited to finish eating them, just so I have an excuse to make some more!

Well that’s all I have for you today! Hopefully I’ll be feeling better and back in the gym (and kitchen) soon!

So tell me: What are your favorite granola bar ingredients?

9 Responses to “From Pin to Plate: No-bake Granola Bars”

  1. genkikitty February 12, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    Wow! Looks yummy! I love to add flax and chia seeds to my granola bars.

    • MyFreckledLife February 12, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      I’ve always been too scared to use chia or flax seeds, even though I have some in my kitchen. I might have to break out of my comfort zone and try them out with the next batch!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats February 12, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

    Yum those look great! I would add in some peanuts and chocolate chips. So good!

    • MyFreckledLife February 12, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

      Yumm!!! I have all kinds of ideas about adding in different nuts and changing up the flavor combos. So many options!

  3. di @ life of di. February 12, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

    Homemade is always better – these look great! 🙂

  4. IHeartVegetables February 12, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

    Yum!!! Those sound great! And yay for making your own bars!

    • MyFreckledLife February 12, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

      I seriously am so excited about the possibilities! haha. Yay for successful Pinterest recipes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Sleepless Edition « My Freckled Life - February 13, 2013

    […] snack (again, in between appointments – can you tell this was a busy day?) So I snacked on a homemade granola bar and a Babybell light […]

Leave a Reply

