WIAW: Sleepless Edition

13 Feb

Hey guys!

So any consistent followers of My Freckled Life may or may not have noticed my very weird posting schedule this week (and it’s only Wednesday!) You see, this has been one weird week.

For some reason, which I have YET to figure out, I have absolutely NOT been able to sleep this week. We’re talking tossing and turning  and checking the clock every 20-30 minutes, until my alarm goes off in the morning. For 3 nights in a row. I’m seriously running on fumes at this point.

I even whacked my head on a desk overhead this morning at work and made my head bleed. That’s how tired and uncoordinated I am.

Like I said, I have NO CLUE why I am not sleeping. I’m so not a medicine kind of person, but I’ve seriously been considering taking some nyquil tonight for the sole purpose of making sure that I can actually sleep! Because I don’t know that I can function properly with another night like this!

Anyway, there has been something good about today – and that’s my food! And it’s Wednesday, you know what that means! It’s What I Ate Wednesday!

For anyone not familiar with What I Ate Wednesday, please check out Jenn’s blog for a beautiful explanation of what WIAW is all about!

This month Jenn challenged us to eat more veggies. After looking back on my meals today, I have to admit that I could definitely have done better with the veggies. But you live and you learn, right?

But let’s review!

Breakfast

I spent a couple extra minutes in bed this morning (hence no usual morning blog post), so I was running a little behind with breakfast. So I decided to go with something quick and simple. Honey nut cheerios, mixed fruit, and a side of tea. Simple and delicious.

IMG_2278

Coffee

Anyone who follows me on instagram (you should!) saw my #zombiemode picture this morning. By the time I got in to work, I was STRUGGLING. Coffee was definitely necessary. Thank goodness 7-11 has $1 Wednesday coffee.

IMAG0463

Lunch

Even though it doesn’t look appetizing at all, I promise it was delicious! Whole wheat pasta with mushroom sauce from last night. Considering I only had a few minutes to scarf down lunch between appointments this morning, this easy lunch was perfect.

IMAG0464

Snack

I had a few minutes in the afternoon for a quick snack (again, in between appointments – can you tell this was a busy day?) So I snacked on a homemade granola bar and a Babybell light cheese.

IMAG0465

Dinner

Since Chris has class on Wednesday night and we really don’t actually pass each other at home until about 10pm, we’ve been getting into the habit of doing crockpot meals so that we can eat whenever is most convenient for us. This week were both still thinking about that amazing buffalo chicken dip from the super bowl. So I was inspired by that and made a simple crockpot buffalo chicken, topped with some blue cheese. Paired with green beans and some tortilla chips for scooping. Delicious!

IMG_2282

Lent

Instead of my normal workout on Wednesday evening, I passed up in favor of going to my church’s Ash Wednesday service.

IMAG0466

I know I don’t usually talk about my religious beliefs on the blog, but I did want to mention it today because of what Lent means for my lifestyle for the next 40 days.

While I’d be happy to talk specifics of religion with anyone individually, if you are interested in learning more about Lent in general, here is a really basic overview of the religious season.One of the major components of Lent is the fasting/temptation/spiritual discipline aspect, which for a lot of people means giving up something.

This year for Lent, I’ve decided to give up  sweets! Which means for the next 40 days (well, technically 46 days because I personally don’t believe in cheating on Sundays), there will be no ice cream, no cookies, no candy, no pastries, and no desserts of any kind in my life.

It’s going to be hard. It’s SUPPOSED to be hard. That’s the whole point after all!

Again, while I’m not usually the kind of person to discuss religion in a setting like this because I’m totally accepting of everyone’s personal beliefs, I did want to bring this up so that you all know why there will be no sweets around here for awhile. I’m all about moderation on this blog, so I didn’t want it to seem like I’m a blogger who’s all about “no sugar, no sweets”!

ANYWAY, that’s all I have for you today! Cross your fingers that I can actually get some sleep tonight!

So tell me: What did you eat today? Also, if you are following Lent – what did you decide to give up?

12 Responses to “WIAW: Sleepless Edition”

  1. Taryn February 13, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    I’m giving up soda! Good luck with the sweets.. that’s not an easy one.

    • MyFreckledLife February 15, 2013 at 10:32 am #

      Ooh, soda is a hard one too. I made that one my New years resolution last year (and actually kept up with it for once!). And thanks – sweets definitely isn’t easy, but I think it puts me in check with realizing how many sweets I usually eat!

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake February 14, 2013 at 6:44 am #

    Ah, I hope you got some sleep last night! Thankfully (and knock on wood!) I’ve never had any sleeping problems but I can imagine that is very frustrating!

    • MyFreckledLife February 15, 2013 at 10:33 am #

      It’s the worst!!! I used to have problems in college when I really wasn’t sleeping a lot anyway, but this is the first time I’ve ever had issues in the “real world”. Blech!

  3. Chelsea Eats Treats February 14, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    Looks like a great day of eats! I’m not Catholic so I don’t usually go to Ash Wednesday services, but Fabio is and last year I went with him. It’s a nice service and I kind of wish I had gone yesterday!

    • MyFreckledLife February 15, 2013 at 10:34 am #

      I’m actually not Catholic either, but a lot of protestant denominations (i.e. Methodists/Presbyterians) do it as well. I really like the meaning behind it though, and always find it to be a very inspiring service.

  4. Alisha's Appetite February 14, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

    Hopefully you can get some sleep soon! My hubby usually gives up sweets EVERY year for lent! It’s only a problem when I make a cake for his bday (on march 2nd) and he can’t eat any of it….so I take one for the team 😉 Good luck!

    • MyFreckledLife February 15, 2013 at 10:35 am #

      Oh man!! That is brutal!! haha. I did make 1 exception last year when I gave up sweets for Lent, since I had to try cakes for our wedding!

  5. di @ life of di. February 20, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    I typically don’t participate in the tradition of Lent; however, this year I decided to do so. I decided to give up sweets (including bagels, scones, dessert breads, cakes, ice cream, creamer, and peanut butter – this one is included because it is my ‘go-to’ dessert these days!) I decided to partake in Lent this year because I think, like you said, the fasting/temptation/spiritual discipline aspect is something I believe will help strengthen my faith. 🙂 Only five more weeks until Easter!

    • MyFreckledLife February 20, 2013 at 9:54 am #

      Oooh, giving up Peanut Butter – I’m so impressed!!! That one would be hard for me! But I agree, I think Lent is a great way to focus your faith and remind ourselves what was sacrificed for us!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Favorites Friday #8 « My Freckled Life - February 15, 2013

    […] This has felt like such a longggg week. Especially since I’ve really been struggling to get sleep, so I’ve been walking around like a zombie, which just makes the days seem even […]

  2. Haulin’ It! | My Freckled Life - March 12, 2013

    […] a taste test. I tried to eat around the white chocolate chips, seeing as I’m not supposed to be eating sweets at the […]

Leave a Reply

