Five Favorites Friday #8

15 Feb

Happy Friday guys!!!

I don’t know about you, but I am seriously SO HAPPY that it is Friday. This has felt like such a longggg week. Especially since I’ve really been struggling to get sleep, so I’ve been walking around like a zombie, which just makes the days seem even longer.

But I have some happy news to announce! I was FINALLY able to get some sleep! Hooray!! I managed to get a little sleep on Wednesday night thanks to help of some nyquil (I do NOT advise taking medications as a sleep aid. But I was desperate guys!). I guess that broke the no-sleep streak, because I completely zonked out last night. The glass of wine and full tummy may have helped too…

Anyway, I wanted to wish you all a belated Happy Valetine’s Day – I hope you all had a terrific day full of love!

Chris and I decided to keep it low key (since we just got married… and had Christmas… and had New Years… and had our dating anniversary…) and decided to avoid the crowds and stay in with our canine valentine. We made an awesome dinner and watched a movie. It was perfect.

But it is Friday after all, and you know what that means! Time for a Five Favorites Friday!

For anyone who is not familiar with FFF, it’s where I talk about 5 completely random things that I’m loving this week. There is no rhyme or reason to it. Just love!

1. Favorite Special Dinner: Sushi

Since Chris and I decided to stay in last night, we still wanted to make a special dinner to celebrate Valetine’s Day. So we decided on our favorite food – sushi! But not just any kind of sushi. HOMEMADE sushi.

IMG_2283

Chris stopped by Wegmans and picked up some sushi grade tuna and salmon (since you can’t use the normal stuff). We also had cucumbers, cream cheese, and chives. Philadelphia rolls are obviously my favorite, with the cream cheese. Yummmmm!

IMG_2285IMG_2298IMG_2303IMG_2304IMG_2305

We had SO MUCH SUSHI. We obviously could not finish this all, but we put a serious dent in it! I’m not really sure how leftover sushi is going to taste, but we’ve got enough for at least another full meal.

IMG_2307

Seriously, SO GOOD!

2. Favorite Redbox Rental: Perks of Being a Wall Flower

Chris also surprised me with a Redbox rental (aww, he knows me so well) of Perks of Being a Wallflower, which I’ve been dying to see since I heard such good things about it.

Oh my gosh guys, it was so good! A real honest look at life, being a teenager, pain, high school and heartbreak with some great music and funny moments mixed in. Plus the cast was amazing – a mix of well known actors (Emma Watson, Paul Rudd, Joan Cusack, etc) with a bunch of new faces.

It is seriously like this generation’s Breakfast Club. So watch it.

(source)

3. Favorite Canine Valentine: Cuddly Laneydog

(For anyone who hasn’t picked up on this yet, we’re kind of weird and call Laney “Laneydog” most often. I have no idea where this came from, but it’s just stuck!)

IMG_2289

I don’t know where it’s come from lately, but Laney has turned into SUCH a cuddle dog! When we first got her, she would literally only cuddle with you for about 15 seconds before she needed space. She was too full of energy to sit still enough to be cuddled. Now? She’s all up in our faces in bed, laying right between use. She’ll even put her head on your chest sometimes.

While it’s a little inconvenient sometimes (I mean, our bed isn’t huge, and she likes to spread herself out), it also is so adorable. My little baby is growing up and learning how to cuddle!

4. Favorite Surprise Dinner: Husband-made!

Since I didn’t get to do a Five Favorites Friday last week, I didn’t get to mention the lovely dinner that Chris made for me last week when I was having a super busy day at work.

IMG_2228

I came home to a delicious smelling house and a husband who was very proud of his accomplishment!

Mustard glazed chicken thighs with roasted carrots and red-skin mashed potatoes. It was seriously delicious, and tasted even better because I didn’t have to make it! He did a great job though. Which just means that I’m going to have to make him start cooking more often!

5. Favorite New Show: Smash

Ok, the show isn’t new, but it just started up again and I’m SO excited. In case you haven’t already guessed, I’m kind of a TV show addict. Which of course means that I have way more TV shows than I have time to watch, but I don’t care – I just love to get into good storylines!

Smash is back for the season, and I couldn’t be more excited. I LOVE Katherine McPhee, and they’ve done a great job at keeping the storylines interesting and constantly changing. Plus the music is just amazing. You all know I’m a total sucker for good music.

I would definitely recommend checking it out if you are looking for something new to watch!

Anyway, that’s all I have for you today! Happy Friday and have a great weekend!!

So tell me: What did you do for Valentine’s Day? What is the best Valetine’s Day that you’ve ever had?

6 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #8”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake February 15, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    Wow, that sushi looks great! I can’t believe it’s homemade!

    • MyFreckledLife February 18, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

      It’s actually really not that hard – as long as you get all the right stuff from the store! That’s the complicated part!

  2. di @ life of di. February 20, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    >>Sushi is one of my favorites but we haven’t gone out for it in quite some time. It may be about time to plan a date night 🙂
    >>Your dog is so cute 🙂 And I love the name Laney!
    >> I have read Perks of Being a Wall Flower but haven’t seen the movie yet. I’ve heard good things (and I love Emma Watson and Paul Rudd so I’m sure it’s excellent!)

    • MyFreckledLife February 20, 2013 at 9:53 am #

      Sushi is one of my favorite foods EVER! So good! and Thank you! Laney was named after Lane Stadium (Virginia Tech’s football stadium), because we’re total Hokie nerds. 🙂 And I would definitely recommend it – I was SO impressed!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Full of Eats « My Freckled Life - February 18, 2013

    […] Chris and I decided to take it easy on Valentine’s Day and stay in, we still wanted to do SOMETHING special to celebrate. So we met up after work at […]

  2. Five Favorites Friday #9 | My Freckled Life - February 22, 2013

    […] is her supervising the valentine’s day sushi operation. Just making sure that daddy knows what he is […]

Leave a Reply

