Weekend Full of Eats

18 Feb

Happy Monday guys!

I don’t know about you, but I could really get used to this whole 3 day weekend thing. I’m thinking that if I ever became President (or, you know, Queen of the universe) I would totally make all weekends 3 day weekends. We could all use that extra day just to relax!

This weekend has been particularly busy for me, but in a good way! It has also been a weekend FULL of food. Also in a good way, of course. Well, maybe not good for my bank account, but I’m trying not to think about that…

Anyway, let’s do a little recap, shall we?

Friday

Since Chris and I decided to take it easy on Valentine’s Day and stay in, we still wanted to do SOMETHING special to celebrate. So we met up after work at Carrabbas for a special Valentine’s dinner (and apparently so did a bazillion other people, because we had to wait for-ev-er). But it was totally worth it.

IMAG0471 Started out with the bread basket (OBVI), a caesar salad, and a glass of blackberry sangria, which was A-mazing. The caesar salad was a little heavy on the dressing for my taste, but I still enjoyed every bite. I used to be a dressing addict, so being able to admit that there is too much dressing is a big step for me!

For my entrée, I had the Pasta Sostanza, which was pasta with chicken, artichokes, spinach and mushrooms. And it was amazing. Pardon the horrible phone photo… the lighting is clearly anti-photography and pro-ambiance!

IMAG0472

We then finished up date night be going to see Warm Bodies, which was actually really cute. It had a few jumpy moments, but for the most part it was full of some really hilarious one liners. I definitely recommend it. Even if it is a zombie love story.

Saturday

Not going to lie, Saturday was a pretty chill day for us around here. We slept in, lazed around, caught up on some TV shows (which I am SUPER behind on… yeesh!), and basically stayed in our PJs for a good chunk of the day.

I did manage to get a workout in from Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp, which totally kicked my tush. Literally… my glutes were on FIRE. I counted afterwards, and I ended up doing 15 minutes total of squats in one workout. Killer. But it felt great to really get in a solid workout, and Tina never fails to get me good and sweaty.

And that sounded TOTALLY awkward. My bad.

ANYWAY, one thing that Chris and I managed to do which was actually productive was FINALLY get some decorations up in our house. I mean, we’ve been here for almost 4 months… the walls were looking pretty pathetic.

Well, let me rephrase that. We got photo FRAMES up. I didn’t say we had pictures to go in most of them. Baby steps, people. Baby steps.

IMG_2312IMG_2314

 

Sunday

I was up early on Sunday to make the trek into the city for brunch with my bestie! I even put on my “city” clothes. AKA I actually tried to look nice, since I always feel like city people are so stylish. haha. Clearly I’ve been away from the city too long – it’s going to my head. (Awkward car selfie!)

IMAG0473

We ended up going to a restaurant in Georgetown called Farmers Fishers Bakers, which is an (AMAZING) environmentally friendly and sustainable restaurant which is based all around supporting American family farmers. They had a full brunch buffet as well as waiters who just walk by your table with food you can grab… it was like delicious food overload.

IMG_2316IMG_2317IMG_2319IMG_2320

I have to say, the broiled grapefruit was hands down one of the most amazing things I’ve had in a long time. I ate 2 of them. They were ridiculous. Also, the fried chicken came highly recommended and did not disappoint, although I totally could not finish the massive piece!

After stuffing ourselves with amazing food, downing several cups of coffee, and chatting about life, we decided to walk off our food by doing some shopping in Georgetown. Makes sense, right?

We ended up stopping by Lush for like an hour, and then making another stop at Sephora. Yea, those are dangerous, DANGEROUS stores.

IMAG0476

I basically got home in time to unload my haul and sit down for a few minutes, and then we were off to church!

Followed up by some Mexican food, because it’s our favorite. Cheese enchilada, bean burrito, and a bean tostada. Delish.

IMG_2321

Well there you have it – my busy and food-filled weekend. Since it was a long weekend I also had today off work, but it’s been a busy day and this post is already too long (anyone still with me?). So we’ll save that exciting-ness for tomorrow, k?

I hope you all had a great weekend as well!

So tell me: What did you do this weekend? Or more importantly, what did you EAT this weekend?

5 Responses to “Weekend Full of Eats”

  1. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats February 19, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

    Oooh my coworker went to Farmers Fishers Bakers a couple of weeks ago and she said it was great (but expensive, although she did buy a bunch of drinks too). Also one of my best friend’s used to work for Founding Farmers, which is part of the same company, and she said FFB is supposed to be awesome!! I’m just waiting for another nice day when Fabio can walk over there and try it out!! Hopefully soon….

    • MyFreckledLife February 19, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

      It was seriously amazing! It was definitely on the pricey end though – but sometimes the splurge is worth it (in my opinion). The food is definitely worth the price tag!

  2. di @ life of di. February 19, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    I really want to see Warm Bodies. When I first saw previews I thought it looked really stupid but everyone keeps saying such great things about it that now I’m intrigued! I’m looking forward to seeing it 🙂 Looks like you had an awesome weekend. PS – Love the picture of you! Your hair looks great!

    • MyFreckledLife February 20, 2013 at 7:35 am #

      Aww, thanks! And yes, it was definitely a great movie. Better than I was expecting, to be honest. I would say it’s worth seeing, at LEAST on DVD.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Presidents, Crocodiles and Spoilers « My Freckled Life - February 19, 2013

    […] actually be productive on a long weekend”. You can check out the recap of my actual weekend here. It involved a LOT of […]

Leave a Reply

