WIAW: Thank You Edition

20 Feb

Happy Wednesday everyone!

That’s the one thing I love about holiday weekends is that the week always seems to go by so quickly! I can’t believe we’re already halfway through the week. Hey, I’m not complaining though – I’ll definitely take it!

Since it is Wednesday and all, that means something special around here! What I Ate Wednesday, of course!

For those of you who are new to What I Ate Wednesday, you should check out Jenn’s explanation. It’s a great blog trend that is all about celebrating and sharing our food, free from judgment or comparison. It’s such a great concept and I’m so thankful to her for starting such a fun Wednesday tradition!

This month Jenn challenged us to Love Our Veggies and incorporate more into our daily routine. I definitely love me some veggies, but sometimes I know that I can forget about them if I’m not careful. So yesterday especially (where these eats are from), I tried to find a healthy balance!

Breakfast

I’m back in my usual rut again guys. And I kind of love it. I just can’t get enough of my favorite oatmeal combo! Oats, unsweetened almond milk, peanut butter, jelly, and frozen berries. Clearly I need more berries too, considering I got the bits at the end of the bag this time! Also paired with a cup of tea for the caffeine factor.

IMG_2332

Lunch

By noon I was a hungry hungry beast (almost just wrote hippo #90schild),  and apparently the hangry beast took over before I could get to a picture. So don’t mind the random chomp out of my pizza. This was leftover from last week – veggie pizza. While it wasn’t the BEST reheated pizza, I did like all of the veggies on top!

IMAG0484

Snack

Around 3:30 my tummy started rumbling again and I answered the call. Chobani to the rescue! Thank goodness we found this stuff at Costco, because I’m pretty sure my bank account cannot support my chobani habit.

IMAG0485

Snack #2

So after work I headed to the gym for 45 minutes of cardio. I wasn’t feeling running on the treadmill after my glorious run outside yesterday, so I ended up doing hill climbs on the elliptical. Got the job done. Then I head to run to Costco to pick up more Chobani AND more fruit (amongst other things). I was SO hungry walking through Costco that I just couldn’t avoid the food counter, and walked away with a berry smoothie. Not the best life decision, but I can live with it.

Then I attempted to take a picture in my car, in the dark. Total fail.

IMAG0488

I saved half for the hubby. It was exactly what I needed to make it home!

Dinner

As you all well know at this point, I love me some Mexican food. It was pretty much what I grew up on thanks to a dad from Arizona. So when Chris said he was feeling fajitas this week, I was not one to argue.

We used this sauce that we found at the grocery store for a change of pace, and because the ingredient list was actually pretty decent.

IMG_2335IMG_2338

Paired with some onions and mixed peppers, homemade guac (my husband is officially the master guacamole maker), greek yogurt and monterey jack cheese.

IMG_2342IMG_2344

SO GOOD guys! And so simple to make! I was seriously so full (and messy) after finishing these. And we have leftovers!!

Well there you have it – what I ate on Wednesday (well, actually Tuesday, but you get the idea).

The rest of my night was spent on the couch watching the Miami v. UVA basketball game and working on these:

IMAG0491

Wedding thank you cards. Oh so exciting, guys.

So tell me: What did you eat today?

10 Responses to “WIAW: Thank You Edition”

  1. IHeartVegetables February 20, 2013 at 7:42 am #

    Yummmm! That dinner looks awesome! And I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday either! Although I was sick through the whole long weekend, it’s nice that the next weekend is getting close!

    • MyFreckledLife February 20, 2013 at 8:53 am #

      Thanks! And I totally agree – I’m loving that we’re almost at the weekend again. I hope you’re feeling better though!!

  2. Rachel February 20, 2013 at 8:44 am #

    The food looks so good and go Hoos!

    • MyFreckledLife February 20, 2013 at 8:54 am #

      Haha, sadly I’m actually a Tech alum, so I was rooting for Miami!

  3. Stephanie (@RunsOnSun) February 20, 2013 at 11:39 am #

    It’s so refreshing to see a vegetarian pizza with ‘enough’ vegetable toppings. I find so often you open up the delivery box to a cheese pizza topped with what looks like three mushrooms and a tired green pepper.

  4. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats February 20, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

    I have that sauce too but it’s the “taco” version! I’ve been waiting to try it out/I sorta forgot about it lol so I’m very glad you reminded me! Maybe I’ll make some Mexican food today or tomorrow 🙂 Looks like a yummy day of eats!

    • MyFreckledLife February 21, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

      No way! You’ll have to let me know how the taco one turns out!

  5. di @ life of di. February 20, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

    Don’t think of your morning oatmeal as a rut but as a part of your daily enjoyment 🙂 Ha-ha. I’m not sure why but I seriously look forward to my oats when I go to bed at night. I hope that feeling never gets old. 🙂 Your oats look great by the way!

    • MyFreckledLife February 21, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

      Haha I like that. Part of my daily enjoyment!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Strength Moves « My Freckled Life - February 21, 2013

    […] Things didn’t start off so way. But I like to think of that  moment as the bottom of my day, because things did start to go up from there. A little productivity, a little gym time with Best Body Bootcamp. Then I came home and did a repeat of dinner last night. […]

Leave a Reply

