New Strength Moves

21 Feb

Happy Thursday everyone!!!

I’m in a chipper mood this morning because it’s Thursday, which means it’s almost Friday, which means it’s ALMOST the weekend! Hooray!!! (I feel a little bit like Rebecca Black here… “and Saturday comes after that…”)

Anyway, yesterday ended up being a pretty awesome day despite having a rough start. If you follow me on twitter (and you should – @myfreckledlife), you saw my not so happy status yesterday mid-morning…

 

Things didn’t start off so way. But I like to think of that  moment as the bottom of my day, because things did start to go up from there. A little productivity, a little gym time with Best Body Bootcamp. Then I came home and did a repeat of dinner last night.

IMG_2345

I also also still dreaming about those amazing broiled grapefruits from brunch this past weekend, so I decided to attempt to recreate it. I only had pink grapefruits (instead of the red ones), so while they are not NEARLY as pretty, they definitely tasted amazing. I would totally recommend trying this out if you’re a grapefruit fan!

IMG_2350

 

Favorite New Strength Moves

But there is something that I wanted to talk to you guys about today, and it’s 100% inspired by the work I’m doing in Best Body Bootcamp.

One thing that I LOVE about bootcamp (and is part of the reason that I keep going back to it) is that Tina is great at introducing new and different moves into the program. No more basic bicep curl or pushup – it’s all about creative variations that work muscles you never knew you had!

For example, you guys have already heard my profess my love/hate (as in hurts so good) with the curtsy lunges and the crocodile walk, but here are a few more of my new favorite moves that you should definitely check out!

1. The Plank with Dumbell Row (aka regular planks are for suckers)

This move takes the plank to a whole new level, and is a great move to work more than just your core muscles!

2. The Scorpion (aka Look like a fool)

I totally did NOT expect this one to be as difficult as it was. But it is SOOOO much more difficult than it looks. I was rolling all over the place at the gym.

 

3. The Balance Dog with Kickback (aka Looks easy, makes you want to cry)

Holy cow, I never thought adding a balance aspect to tricep kickbacks would be so difficult! I was shaking and cursing all at the same time!

 

4. Downward Dog Pushup (aka Yoga meets Body Builders)

This has probably been one of my FAVORITE moves of the entire bootcamp. It seriously works muscles that I feel like I don’t use very often and leaves me sweaty and sore in the best way possible. Plus people seem to look at me funny in the gym when I start to do these until they realize how hard they must be (as told by my awkward grunting).

 

Anyway, those are just a few of my new favorite moves from Tina’s bootcamp. Also, just as an FYI – Tina’s next round of bootcamp sign ups start March 4th! Be sure to check it out if you’re interested. It’s totally affordable and will absolutely kick your rear like you never thought possible. Plus there is a great community within bootcamp that helps to support and motivate you. Check it out!

Well that’s all I’ve got for today folks! Have a great Thursday!

So tell me: What new moves have you tried out at they gym? What is your favorite go-to strength move? Or what is your most hated move?

5 Responses to “New Strength Moves”

  1. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats February 21, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    Those moves look hard! I love the look of the scorpian one and I am totally going to remember the tricep kickback one 🙂

  2. IHeartVegetables February 22, 2013 at 8:02 am #

    I’ve always wanted to try broiled grapefruits! I love them plain so this sounds nice!

    Those moves look intense!

  3. Nicole @ Fruit 'N' Fitness February 22, 2013 at 9:04 am #

    I had a grapefruit with breakfast today. Now I wish I had read your post first so I could have tried it broiled, sounds so good!

  4. di @ life of di. February 22, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    I am going to try the Downward Dog Push-up. All these moves look intense 🙂 My most hated move would definitely be the Burpee. No thank you!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Favorites Friday #9 | My Freckled Life - February 22, 2013

    […] Also, you should check out Best Body Bootcamp if you want to learn some of these techniques and more awesome strength moves! […]

Leave a Reply

