Five Favorites Friday #9

22 Feb

Good morning guys!! And happy Friday!!!

I am SO pumped that it’s Friday, because that means I just have to survive the day and then it’s the weekend! And with NOTHING on the agenda for this weekend, that means lots of relaxing, TV marathoning, and house chores – which is exactly what I need this weekend.

Some good ole’ fashioned veg time. I’m feeling a Teen Mom 2 marathon coming up. Don’t judge.

But as I said, that means I need to survive today – which might actually be a feat in itself as I have a packed schedule today. Meetings starting at 8:30am at one end of our catchment, and ending at 5pm at the total opposite end. Me and my car are going to be good friends today!

I haven’t quite figured out the whole lunch thing yet…

ANYWAY, since it’s Friday that means it’s time for a special tradition around here: Five Favorites Friday. Where I talk about some totally random things that I’m loving this week!

1. Favorite Weeknight Dinner: Quick and Easy Fish

Last night was a little bit of a struggle for me guys. I was feeling stressed after a crazy day of work, and had a whole list of things that I needed to get done at home. Which may or may not have ended up in a mild breakdown while driving home from the gym with Chris on the phone…

So we decided to cancel a few of our errands and make it a chill night in. Complete with a super easy and delicious dinner (prepared by the hubby because he’s awesome).

IMG_2353

Simple salmon (salt, pepper, lemon juice and a sliced lemon on top) broiled in the over for a few minutes, with some quinoa and asparagus. So basic, but so full of flavor! I love the edition of the lemon wedge!

2. Favorite Surprise Mail: Giveaway winner!

I arrived home tonight to an exciting package in the mail from NuNaturals! A few weeks ago I won a giveaway from Erica at For the Sake of Cake and I was so pumped when I opened the box!

IMG_2354

So. Much. Great. Stuff!!! NuNaturals totally rocked this and loaded me up with products! I’ve been wanting to try their stevia drops forever (since I’ve seen them all over the blog world), but I’ve never actually had the guts to fork over the cash in the store in case I’m not a fan. But now I don’t have to!

IMG_2358

I got totally spoiled with 5 different NuStevia liquid drops (vanilla, lemon, peppermint, orange and chocolate), some NuStevia prebiotic blend, and a back of 50 NuStevia packets. I can’t wait to use this stuff!

Now does anyone have any good recipes or tips???

3. Favorite New Jam: DJ Earworm

Last weekend Chris downloaded some new music, which I have been looking through to come up with some new gym playlists. When we first started dating Chris introduced me to DJ Earworm, and when I saw that he had downloaded some new mashups I was pumped!

They are such a great mix of different popular songs, and usually have a great beat (which is perfect for running/strength training in my opinion).

Check out one of his newest:

4. Favorite New Gym Routine: Cardio-Strength Mix

You guys know that I have totally been loving on Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp for awhile now, so feel free to roll your eyes as another love fest, but I am totally loving this phase of bootcamp.

Tina puts together 4 different phases (each lasting 2 weeks) throughout bootcamp, and this one is all about Power Training. Which basically means that there are a lot of strength moves followed by quick cardio bursts.

And I’m in love.

I’ve been searching for a good way to incorporating some more “intense” cardio into my workouts, because when it comes to cardio I often fall back on old habits of “slow and steady”. A 30 minute steady run. 45 minutes on the elliptical. That kind of thing.

But I’m LOVING mixing up strength moves with short bursts of plyometrics like burpees or mountain climbers. Not only does it get my heart rate up like crazy, I push myself harder because I just keep saying “it’s only 20 seconds! That’s nothing!”

If you’re not familiar with this kind of training, I totally recommend checking it out, because I’m kind of in love with it and I think it’s a great way to change up your routine. Plus it even makes things like squat jumps and mountain climbers not seem to terrible. So that’s a win, right?

Also, you should check out Best Body Bootcamp if you want to learn some of these techniques and more awesome strength moves!

5. Favorite Helper: My Canine Valentine

I realize that this TECHNICALLY goes back in to last week, but it was just too cute not to share.

We’re not quite sure what kind(s) of dog Laney is since we got her from the pound, but one thing that we’re positive about is that there is some sort of herding dog in there, because Laney loves to follow us around. She always needs to know what is going on, and who is where, and she’ll check in on you frequently if you’re in another room just to make sure you’re still there.

Which also means that she can get quite underfoot in the kitchen!

IMG_2293

This is her supervising the valentine’s day sushi operation. Just making sure that daddy knows what he is doing!

IMG_2292

And when I’m not paying attention and my camera accidentally takes a picture while I’m picking it up, this is what I get. The dog stink eye.

 

Well that’s all I have for today’s Five Favorites Friday!

So tell me: What are you loving this week?

4 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #9”

  1. di @ life of di. February 22, 2013 at 10:14 am #

    I really want to try those NuNaturals sweeteners! Let us know what you think 🙂

  2. Tina Reale (@tinareale) February 22, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    LOVE me some NuNaturals. The only sweetener I will ever use anymore. I even stash some in my purse to have it for an emergency Starbucks run. haha!

    Yay for power training! It’s so fun isn’t it?

  3. IHeartVegetables February 22, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    Bahahaha I totally had a teen mom 2 marathon last weekend while I battled a cold!! I also had a catfish marathon haha

    Enjoy your weekend, Stephanie!

  4. Alisha's Appetite February 24, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    Oooooh! Curious to see how you use your NuNaturals! I’ve seen them all over the blog world, too and have always been curious to try them!

Leave a Reply

