Viral

28 Feb

So… long time, no talk!

I sincerely apologize for my total absence for the last few days. Unfortunately things have not been so great in my world this week.

Starting Sunday morning, I got smacked upside the head with a nasty stomach bug. I basically ended up sleeping through about 80% of Sunday… and Monday. I was barely able to keep anything down. It was horrendous.

By Tuesday I thought I was finally doing better. I was able to stay awake for more of the day, I managed to eat a few 100 calories of food without it coming back up.

Until I couldn’t.

Then this happened.

IMAG0493

I was so weak, and so dehydrated, and so EMPTY, that my poor stomach was literally cramping in on itself. I couldn’t even sit up straight anymore.

Guys, this was the worst pain I’ve ever been in. Ever.

We spent over 4 hours in the ER. I got pumped with fluids, potassium, and pain meds. I even got a shot in my rear to stop my horrible stomach cramps.

The ER doctor said he believes I have the rotavirus, a severe viral infection that usually presents more with children (which is who I got it from), and has even been known to cause death in infants because of how dehydrating it can be. It causes severe gastroenteritis, which is basically an irritation or inflammation of the stomach and intestines. Which would be why my poor system got completely overwhelmed.

I am out now, but I’m still definitely in “recovery” mode. I’m lucky to be able to stay awake for more than 5-6 hours, and I’m still having a very difficult time eating food. But I’m working on it, and I’m on the mend. I hope at least.

Knock on wood.

So there you have it – why I’ve totally disappeared. I just didn’t have a whole lot to share the last few days, and my eats have basically consisted of small bowls of applesauce and chicken noodle soup. And LOTS of diluted gatorade.

I hope you all are having a better week than I am!

So tell me: Have you ever ended up in the hospital with an illness?

16 Responses to “Viral”

  1. Rachel February 28, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    So my hubs has the same stomach bug..he went to martha jeff..two er visits later and he still hasnt kicked it! Good luck girl!

    • MyFreckledLife March 4, 2013 at 7:13 am #

      Oh no!!! I hope he’s feeling better now! This virus seriously is a doozy!

  2. Her Happy Balance February 28, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

    I haven’t ever had to stay in a hospital before thankfully. So glad you’re out!

    • MyFreckledLife March 4, 2013 at 7:14 am #

      Thanks – me too! I unfortunately did have a 2 week stay in the hospital a few years ago when I had to get my gallbladder removed, so I’m all too familiar with hospitals!

  3. di @ life of di. February 28, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    Oh my gosh! I’m glad you’re out and you didn’t have to stay there longer than necessary. I’ve never been to the hospital for a sickness…knock on wood. Hope you’re feeling better!

    • MyFreckledLife March 4, 2013 at 7:14 am #

      Thanks, me too! I’m finally beginning to feel like a human again! haha

  4. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake February 28, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    Oh no! Glad to hear you’re on the mend; hope you’re feeling 100% soon!

  5. Nicole February 28, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

    Oh, I’m so sorry that sounds horrible! I went to the ER with horrible stomach cramps and sickness and had a shot in the bum to stop the nausea. I hope you feel better soon!

    • MyFreckledLife March 4, 2013 at 7:14 am #

      That’s what I had to have too!!! That shot was painful!!

  6. ahellams February 28, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    Oh my goodness!! I am so glad to hear you are doing better…rest up!!

    • MyFreckledLife March 4, 2013 at 7:15 am #

      Thanks so much! I’m finally beginning to feel better!

  7. Chelsea Eats Treats March 1, 2013 at 9:32 am #

    I hope you feel better soon!! That sounds awful 😦

    • MyFreckledLife March 4, 2013 at 7:15 am #

      Thanks!! I seriously have never been this sick before! I’ve been too tired to even OPEN my computer most of this week!!

  8. IHeartVegetables March 3, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

    You poor thing!! That’s awful!!! 😦

    • MyFreckledLife March 4, 2013 at 7:16 am #

      Seriously, worst illness ever! I’m just glad that it finally seems to be over!

Leave a Reply

