Virus: 1, Stephanie: 0

4 Mar

I’m ALIVE!!!!

I feel like it’s been forever, guys! Which I guess is pretty accurate, as it’s been more than a week since I’ve done a “normal” post. That’s like AGES in blog-land! haha.

Well I am happy to be back and finally starting to feel like a normal human being again. Thank you so much all on your kind comments and thoughts. You guys are the BEST!

This sickness really knocked me on my rear! I literally did not change out of my PJs or leave my house (other than the trip to the ER, where I traded PJ pants for sweatpants) for an entire week! I honestly have never been THAT sick in my life. I may or may not have had a few melodramatic “This is it, I’m going to die” moments.

But I survived! Due in big part to my wonderful husband who did a great job making me soup, buying ridiculous amounts of yellow gatorade, and even cleaning up the coffee table when I had an unexpected bought of vomiting. TMI? Sorry. It happened.

He was a rock star!

I also got to spend my week cuddling with this little bug, who was very confused (but I think very happy) to have someone stay home with her all day. Although she did get rather frustrated with me when she wanted to play fetch and the most energy I could muster was to push her ball back off the couch.

IMG_1069

Obviously very little working out (ok, NONE) and cooking (unless you could unscrewing the apple sauce lid) occurred in the last week, so I don’t have a whole lot to share with you today.

In fact, this whole weekend was pretty much recovery central. I deep cleaned the bathrooms, and picked up around the house. I did like 5 loads of laundry. We went on several massive grocery shopping trips, as we never managed to go last weekend and the poor husband has been living off of whatever he can scrounge in the freezer. I still did a lot of lazing on the couch.

About the only “fun” thing we managed all weekend (unless you count scrubbing toilets fun – I, personally, do not), was we did manage to make it to the winter farmers market. This is something new to me, because the Culpeper market always closed between November and April. But Fredericksburg manages to keep theirs, albeit much smaller, open all year.

We mostly just browsed, but since we got there close to closing time and it was FREEZING, the nice lady from Finchville Dairy gave us a sample size of her lemon-honey fromage blanc for free!

IMG_1077

Holy cow, it was amazing guys! So soft and smooth! Chris especially loved it, as he’s a big honey-lemon combo fan.

We spent awhile debating what to use it on, and eventually decided that it would go perfectly atop some Sunday morning waffles. Topped with some berries, of course. Waffles always should be topped with berries, in my opinion.

IMG_1082

We did have one other gem of a meal this weekend, but I’m going to save that one for tomorrow for a recipe. But I’ll give you a little teaser, because I’m mean like that.

IMG_1071

Any guesses?

Well that’s all for this Monday morning, guys! I’m hoping to finally get back in to my normal routine today, complete with a trip to the gym this evening. Although I’ll probably be taking it easy this week to give my body full time to recover.

So tell me: What fun things did you do this weekend?

3 Responses to “Virus: 1, Stephanie: 0”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats March 4, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

    Sweet potato shepherd’s pie?? I’m so glad you’re feeling better! Those waffles look amaaaaazing 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie | My Freckled Life - March 5, 2013

    […] I know I gave you a little teaser yesterday about today’s recipe, and Chelsea totally got it right! It is sweet potato […]

Leave a Reply

