WIAW: Celebration Edition

6 Mar

Happy Wednesday guys!!

I don’t know if any of you all are like me, but so far I’m having a terrific Wednesday! We’re currently being dumped on by a massive snow storm, which means I’m spending the day working from home. In my PJs, obviously. Because what’s the point of enjoying a day at home if you cant be comfy! Honestly.

IMAG0501

This is what I woke up to this morning. It’s hard to tell in the picture, but it’s actually still coming down like crazy, and it’s supposed to continue all day long. While this might not be a lot to any of your northerners, us Virginians don’t get to see this kind of snow to often.

But let’s back up a bit and talk about Tuesday, shall we?

So I alluded to a “big exciting change” yesterday, and now that it’s actually official I can finally share with you all!

I have officially accepted a new job! I put in my 2 weeks notice (well, technically 2.5 week) yesterday. Which means that things are now going to be totally insane for the next few weeks as I try and get all my loose ends tied up and get everything ready to transition over to other people.

I can’t give too many details about my new job (not that I ever really gave you all details about my old job!), but I will say that it’s MUCH closer to home and is definitely a big step up for me. No more hour and 15 min commute!

ANYWAY, it is Wednesday, and you all know what that means. It’s time for a What I Ate Wednesday!

For anyone who is not familiar with What I Ate Wednesday, it’s an awesome idea created by Jenn to help us celebrate our eats and share without judgment. This  month she challenged us to “go green” with our eats.

Not going to lie, I kind of failed with the “green” part, but let’s review.

Breakfast

Chris picked up some of these Better Oats while they were on clearance at Target the other week (darn those Target clearance stickers! Get us every time!) He wasn’t a huge fan of this pomegranate flavor, but I actually loved it once I doctored it up with my usual oatmeal fixins: peanut butter and berries. Paired with a big cup of Earl Grey, of course.

IMG_2369IMG_2371

 

Lunch

Because I gave my 2 weeks notice, it was kind of an insane day at work trying to begin to prep everything. I was basically running around like a crazy person. I finally remembered to eat lunch, and scarfed it while making some phone calls. Leftover mexican food from the night before – a spinach, onion and tomato burrito, mexican rice and some refried beans.

IMAG0496

Snack

It was a really busy afternoon, but by 3:30 my stomach was grumbling like crazy. So I decided to make a run to 7-11 to pick up some sustenance (it was the closest to the office). I grabbed a strawberry chobani and a banana. Didn’t grab a picture, but I’m pretty sure you know what those look like. Paired with a cup o’ joe.

Dinner

I ended up staying at work until after 6pm, and then made a quick stop at the gym before heading home. Because I didn’t get home until nearly 8pm, Chris was awesome and had dinner basically ready. He made a shrimp and veggie stirfry, over brown short grain rice.

IMG_2372

Plus a surprise to celebrate my good news!

IMAG0499

Nothing wrong with drinking a little bubbly on a Tuesday night! Even though I MAY have gotten a little giggly. Champagne does that to me.

So there you have it – What I Ate on Wednesday (well… Tuesday)!

Gym

As I said, I did stop by the gym for a quick and dirty workout after I finally left the office. I almost decided to skip it since I left so late, but after the insanity of the day, I really just needed to blow off some steam and excess stress. So a quick run was in order. 30 minutes (+ warm up and cool down), and it got the job done!

IMAG0498

Well that was my Tuesday! It was definitely full of celebrations!

Now I’m off to enjoy this snow! Laney has been staring longingly out the window ever since she went out this morning, so I have a feeling I’m going to be layering up in a little bit for some backyard playtime. Puppies and snow are pretty much the cutest thing ever.

Hope you all have a great day!

So tell me: What did you eat today?

14 Responses to “WIAW: Celebration Edition”

  1. IHeartVegetables March 6, 2013 at 10:13 am #

    YAY for a shorter commute! That’s such good news 🙂

    Stay safe in the snow!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats March 6, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

    Congrats on your new job!! You’re going to love that commute I’m sure!! Can’t wait to hear how it goes once you start!

    • MyFreckledLife March 7, 2013 at 11:38 am #

      Thanks so much! I’m both excited and terrified!!

  3. Nicole @ Fruit 'N' Fitness March 6, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    Congratulations on accepting a new job! I’m sure you will love your shorter commute.

    • MyFreckledLife March 7, 2013 at 11:38 am #

      Thanks so much! And yes, I will definitely enjoy getting home before the sun goes down!!

  4. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake March 6, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

    Congrats; that’s awesome!

  5. katiedaisy921 March 7, 2013 at 6:01 am #

    Congrats on the new job! How exciting. Spending less time in the car (and on gas) is a huge perk!

    • MyFreckledLife March 7, 2013 at 11:38 am #

      Oh yea – the gas was killing me! I’ve put 6K+ miles on my car in 3 months from work alone!

  6. genkikitty March 8, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    Congratulations on the new job! Hopefully it turns into what you have been looking for in your career path. I love the oats too. I’ve never had this kind though. Normally I look around Big Lots (shocker but they do have organic, natural foods that are much more at Whole Foods) right in their stores. Strange but I go in there before going camping to purchase Oat Revolution (Better Oats) for about $1.00 a box! Yum!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Training Edition | My Freckled Life - March 13, 2013

    […] I’m also terrified because, as I announced last wednesday, I’m going to be leaving my job at the end of next week. And as each day goes by I feel like I […]

  2. Skinny Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken | My Freckled Life - March 14, 2013

    […] really need time in the office to finish getting all of my clients ready for transfer once I leave. At the same time, I could really use some time to relax! And that is what I’m planning on doing […]

  3. WIAW: Car-bound Edition | My Freckled Life - March 20, 2013

    […] with all the craziness of leaving my job this week, I am both ready for this week to end, and terrified that it’s actually going to! […]

Leave a Reply

