Five Favorites Friday #10

8 Mar

Happy Friday everyone!!

I’m so pumped that it’s Friday! Finally! For some reason, this week has felt especially long and dragged out. The 10 hour days of work aren’t really helping either. But since I announced that I’m leaving my job, I have a feeling 10 hour days are going to become the norm for awhile. Gotta get everything ready!

I’m HOPING that this Friday doesn’t turn into a long day though, because I have places to be this weekend! Chris and I are meeting up with some other couple friends of ours for a weekend away in Algonkian Regional Park. I’m hoping for a weekend full of hiking, eating (and maybe some drinking…), hot tubbing, and general relaxing fun! Obviously you guys will get a full recap when I get back!

Until then, a Five Favorites Friday will have to tide you over. FFF is something I started a few months ago to share with you all some totally random things that I’m loving currently. And when I say random, I MEAN random! Let’s go!

Five Favorites Friday

1. Favorite Entertainment: Puppies in the Snow

IMG_2378

Seriously, is there anything cuter than a dog playing in the snow?

Since we had the lovely snow storm on Wednesday (or Snowquestration if you’re a Washingtonian. I think the name is hilarious!) Laney has been OBSESSED with the snow. And by obsessed I mean she spends most of her day either passed out from exhaustion, or staring longingly out the back door window at the snow.

When she’s out there, she runs around like a crazy dog, eats as much snow as she possibly can, and pounces on every flake of moving snow she comes across. Chris and I had a great time throwing snowballs at her, which would totally send her into a frenzy.

We just had to be careful because the poor thing has such short hair that she gets cold pretty quick. And since I personally am not a fan of dog clothing… we just bring her inside and warm her up!

 

2-4. Favorite New TV shows: Vikings, The Bible, and Walking Dead

Ok, I know, it’s a little bit of a cop-out to use 3 shows as 3 favorites. But as you all might have guessed already, I’m a little bit of a TV addict. While I love reading, I’m also a big fan of throwing myself into some awesome TV shows.

Well Chris and I have FINALLY caught up on most of the shows that we were behind on, which means that this past week we’ve introduced a few new shows!

Vikings is a History Channel new series (just started on Sunday) that is all about the Scandinavian Vikings (Obviously…). Chris and I both really like it because we both happen to be very fascinated by the Vikings and their culture, since it’s so different than most of the historic conquering cultures that you learn about, like the Greeks, Romans and Egyptians. What can I say, we’re total nerds.

(source)

History Channel is clearly rocking in right now, because they also just started a series on the Bible. It is basically going straight through the Bible and telling a lot of the major stories. Obviously it can’t hit EVERYTHING, which I know is frustrating some people. But come on, the Bible is a big book. It’s still a great way to get to see and learn some of the major stories, and the filmography is great!

(source)

As I mentioned yesterday, Chris and I have started watching The Walking Dead, after hearing so much hype about it from our friends. Seriously, on Walking Dead nights, my facebook newsfeed would be blowing up with statuses about it. So we figured we might as well hop on the bandwagon and check it out.

Guys, it’s fascinating. In a creepy, kind of gives me nightmares but yet I want to keep watching kind of way.

And just to warn anyone who is thinking about watching – this is what you’re getting yourself in to. It takes at least 1-2 episodes to really get used to seeing the zombies. The make-up budget on this show must be absolutely ridiculous, because they do an amazing job!

(source)

Yea, it’s a little creepy.

5. Favorite Online Obsession: Internet Window Shopping!

Huh? I don’t know what else to call it, because that is basically it. Since I got this new job, I’ve realized that I’m definitely going to need to do some serious wardrobe overhaul.

You see, my current job allows us to wear jeans or shorts and flip flops to work. Every day. Which is awesome sometimes, but coming from a former job in DC, I kind of do miss my business casual work clothes. Pencil skirts and heels. They have been collecting dust in my closet lately!

But now I get to pull them out again! Except unless I want to wear the same 3-4 outfits over and over again, I’m going to need to get some new stuff. Problem is, I’m a HORRIBLE shopper. I can basically convince myself out of buying most anything because I’m a cheap-o.

Insert internet window shopping. I basically have been looking around coming up with IDEAS on what I want to buy and prices, that way I can make good purchasing decisions. I know, it sounds super nerdy. But once you start looking around at stores and getting ideas, it gets a little addicting!

 

So there you have it – a few things that I’m loving this week!

I hope you all have a terrific weekend!

So tell me: What are you loving this week? Do you have any exciting plans for the weekend?

5 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #10”

  1. genkikitty March 8, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    Oh, your little one will actually go in the snow. Ours is a bit more difficult. We got the large snow storm also down here in VA. Our furry baby gave us “the look” and then darted back into the house. Your baby is so cute!

  2. IHeartVegetables March 8, 2013 at 10:50 am #

    So many people have told me that Walking Dead is awesome but I STILL haven’t seen it! I need to get on that!

  3. Chelsea Eats Treats March 8, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

    Online window shopping is great! I do it all the time! When I find something I really want I sign up for email alerts from the company and wait until it goes on sale. It works every time!

  4. Taryn March 8, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    I always loved when it snowed because of my dog! We would throw snowballs for him to catch and he would dig his nose into the snow trying to find them. So entertaining!

  5. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake March 8, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    Love that picture of Laney in the snow! So cute!

Leave a Reply

