Haulin’ It!

12 Mar

Guys, I’m seriously struggling today!

Between the darkness outside in the mornings, and the total lack of sleep this weekend, I’m definitely feeling rough. My random nightmare that involved flying manatees and sharks probably didn’t help either. My brain just likes to torture me, I guess.

So I’m apologizing in advance for the short and possibly slightly out-of-it post this morning. My brain is not firing on all cylinders today.

But I realized the other day that I really havent done a grocery haul in awhile. Seeing as how I went shopping yesterday, it seemed like a perfect time to give you a little insight into our weekly shopping trips.

Now, we usually go to at LEAST 3 stores. Sometimes as many as 5. We’re those people who compare prices and find the best deal, even if it means driving to a store. AKA, we’re major cheapos.

On a normal basis we’ll for sure hit up Giant, Aldi, and Food Lion. Depending on our needs, and what deals and coupons are available, we will often hit up Target and/or Costco as well.

So here is my haul from Giant and Aldi from this week, where we get MOST of our food.

IMG_2436

– 4 Chobani flips (they were on sale!)

– Neufchatel cream cheese

– Salad mix

– Baby carrots

– 2 Lara uber bars

– Sugar

– Shredded Parmesan

– 2 container blackberries

– cherry tomatoes

– frozen peaches and tropical medley

– Breadcrumbs

 

Unpictured: We also picked up some pears and apples from Food Lion this week.

Now I will admit, this is a fairly small haul for us. Many grocery stores have had some crazy good deals on meats the last few weeks, so we’ve been stocking up on all the BOGO sales, which is why there was no meat purchased this week.

We are also going out of town this weekend, so we didn’t want to get too much that would go bad.

But I’d say that this is a fairly normal, albeit a little small, grocery store week for us.

Now I just cant wait until the farmers market opens back up fully next month! I love shopping there for all my produce!

My favorite thing of this week though? Chobani Flips. Holy cow. It’s like dessert. But healthier.

IMG_2441IMG_2442

Chris and I split it as a taste test. I tried to eat around the white chocolate chips, seeing as I’m not supposed to be eating sweets at the moment…

But you should go get one of these.

Immediately.

So tell me: What grocery stores do you usually shop at? What are some staples that are always in your grocery haul?

One Response to “Haulin’ It!”

  1. Chobani March 12, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

    Thanks for spooning in! Share your love for CHO Flip here: http://www.chobani.com/tastereal!

    Your friends @Chobani

Leave a Reply

