Skinny Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken

14 Mar

Phew, we survived Wednesday! I wasn’t sure I was going to make it there for a little bit.

Guys, this week has totally and completely drained me! Thank goodness that today is my “Friday”! I’m headed to GA bright and early tomorrow morning for my brother- and sister-in-law’s baby shower, and it couldn’t come at a better OR worse time!

I really need time in the office to finish getting all of my clients ready for transfer once I leave. At the same time, I could really use some time to relax! And that is what I’m planning on doing this weekend.

These 10-11 hour days are just kicking my rear!!

I know that people work 10+ hour days all the time, and manage just fine. Heck, when I was home for the summer in college, I worked 65 hour work weeks nearly every year to bring in extra cash for school. While it wasn’t necessarily fun, I didn’t really think too much about it then.

Now, I am dying!

Probably due partially to the fact that I used to be able to live on 4-5 hours of sleep no problem. Now I’m struggling to get out of bed if I’ve had less than 8. I guess they call that getting old…

Instead my afternoons usually involve this. At least once.

IMAG0508

I don’t know what I would do without coffee sometimes…

Sorry for having a little pity party over here. I blame the exhaustion. I know that some people have to get up and do this every day, while I at least am only going to have to make it through next week. I shouldn’t be complaining.

All I’m saying is that I totally sympathize with you 10+ hour people now. It is HARD!

ANYWAY, moving on to something less pathetic, how about a recipe??

Ever since I made Skinnytaste’s buffalo chicken dip for the Superbowl, Chris and I have been slightly obsessed with buffalo chicken. It’s sort of become a staple rotation in our weekly meals, and makes an appearance once every other week or so.

While I love the original recipe, I didn’t love that it involved making the chicken in the crock pot first, and then straining it and adding the ingredients. Kind of defeated the purpose of a crock pot meal, in my opinion, which should be dump it and leave it. I can’t come home in the middle of the day to strain my chicken!

So I’ve been toying with it to come up with a recipe that will work if just left during the day. It definitely turns out runnier than the original, but considering I like to dump this stuff on salads and use the sauce as a dressing, I don’t really mind. We just use a slotted spoon to pull it out of the crock pot if putting it on buns/tortillas.

IMG_2451-001

Skinny Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken

Adapted from Skinnytaste’s Lighter Buffalo Chicken Dip

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts (mine were frozen)
  • 8 oz reduced fat cream cheese/neufchatel cheese, softened
  • 12 oz buffalo sauce (or whatever hot sauce you like) – Reduce to taste if you’re not a huge spicy buffalo fan
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese
  • 1 tsp white wine vinegar

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients in the crock pot, and cook on low for 6-8 hours.
  2. Shred chicken using 2 forks and mix thoroughly with sauce.
  3. Enjoy!

IMG_2448IMG_2449IMG_2450IMG_2452

Definitely not the most appetizing looking meal, but I promise it’s delicious. Nice and spicy, with the tang of the blue cheese and the creaminess of the neufchatel!

I put mine on a tortilla, with spinach and a tiny bit of ranch. Paired with potatoes and green beans. It is also awesome on salads, or as a snack with carrots or celery.

Or, you know, eaten with a spoon right out of the crock pot. Not that I’ve done that…

I hope you enjoy!

So tell me: What is your favorite Crock Pot meal?

4 Responses to “Skinny Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken”

  1. di @ life of di. March 14, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    Favorite crock pot meal= really anything involving black beans 🙂 I love soups, chili, or southwestern black bean dishes!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats March 14, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

    I make buffalo chicken dip whenever people come over because it’s super easy and I almost always have all the ingredients. What I do is boil a piece of frozen chicken and when it’s done I shred it with two forks. Then I toss the shredded chicken with whatever “creamy” ingredients I have on hand, usually a mix of nonfat plain greek yogurt, a wedge of laughing cow cheese, some cream cheese, and mozzarella cheese. Then I add in a few tablespoons of Frank’s hot sauce, mix it all up, and throw it in the microwave for two mins. Viola! Buffalo chicken dip!

  3. IHeartVegetables March 16, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    Hang in there, girl! I hope you can find some time to relax this weekend!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Favorite Friday #11 | My Freckled Life - March 22, 2013

    […] made this skinny crock pot buffalo chicken twice now, and it’s seriously starting to become a staple in our […]

Leave a Reply

