WIAW: Car-bound Edition

20 Mar

Good morning all!

Phew, with all the craziness of leaving my job this week, I am both ready for this week to end, and terrified that it’s actually going to! I’ve been working some really crazy hours this week and basically not even stopping to breathe or eat, and it’s definitely starting to take its toll on me!

I ended up skipping the gym entirely yesterday due to a stress-induced headache that came on around 3:30pm and wouldn’t go away. You know, until I got home. Then it miraculously disappeared. Darn you brain, you win this time!

Yesterday was a particularly crazy day because I spent about 90% of it on the road. For those of you who don’t know, my job works in several counties in the area, so I spend a lot of time driving around for meetings. Since I’m leaving and I have to tie up all my loose ends, yesterday took me on a fantastic journey through our counties all day. I almost didn’t even get to eat lunch because my appointments were so packed in!

But since it is Wednesday, and you all know that that means it’s time for a What I Ate Wednesday, you get the chance to see what my “on the road” eats look like!

Check out Jenn’s blog for more information about What I Ate Wednesday and the phenomena that’s taken the blog world by storm!

Breakfast

Still stuck on the usual. I always SAY I’m going to change it up, but in my half-asleep stupor, I just grab the same ingredients out of habit every time. Hey, I guess if it ain’t broke…? Oatmeal with PB, jelly, cinnamon and blackberries. Plus some tea.

IMG_2466

Lunch

As I said, I was worried I wasn’t going to get lunch at all, seeing as I was booked solid from 10:15am to 3:45pm. But luckily I ran right by a sheetz at around 11:30 and decided to take my chance and grab something super quick to eat. I got a chicken sub on whole wheat with salsa, cheddar, lettuce, and jalepenos, and a Sobe lifewater. All scarfed, in my lap, in about 2 minutes in the parking lot. Classy.

IMAG0516IMAG0517

Snack

On my way back at 3:30ish, I desperately needed to find a place on the road to use the restroom (TMI?) I just HAPPENED past a Starbucks and decided it was the perfect place to address that issue, and get myself a snack. My headache had just started to come on at this time, and I wasn’t sure if it was stress, hunger, or caffeine related, so I decided to rule out the last two. I picked up a grande iced coffee and a raspberry-peach yogurt (unpictured). Sadly, the headache was stress related.

IMAG0527

Also, can we just note that Monday I woke up to snow on the ground and by Tuesday afternoon I was driving around with my windows rolled down and drinking iced coffee? Virginia is weird.

Dinner

As I said, I skipped the gym thanks to the headache and just stayed at work longer (yea, doesn’t make sense to me either. Certainly didn’t help my headache!) I managed to swing by Giant and Aldi on the way home for a necessary grocery shopping trip. Our fridge was getting a little concerning, it was so empty.

IMG_2469

Chris has been pretty understanding of me working late these past few weeks (since he knows that it’s almost over), and had dinner ready when I got home. We bought some Blackberry-Ginger balsamic a few months ago and have been trying to figure out how to use it!

He made salmon with a blackberry-ginger balsamic reduction, mashed red skin potatoes, and spinach. It was seriously delicious!

IMG_2471

We then spent the rest of the night vegging, watching Caps hockey (boo they lost) and catching up on a TV show. The kind of night I definitely needed!

So there you have it! What I ate on… Tuesday! haha.

*Spoiler alert* Also, I just have to say – Anyone else watch Biggest Loser??? AHHHHH DANNI!!!! Chris normally isn’t in to the show but even he was rooting for her by the end! But holy cow – they all looked so amazing! Such an inspiring show! *end spoiler alert*

So tell me: What did you eat today? Do you have the kind of job that makes you drive around, or are you pretty much office-bound?

5 Responses to “WIAW: Car-bound Edition”

  1. IHeartVegetables March 20, 2013 at 6:43 am #

    Aw that was sweet of him to make dinner when you’ve been so busy!! Hang in there!

  2. Nicole @ Fruit 'N' Fitness March 20, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    Oatmeal is always an excellent breakfast option! I love aldi, they have the best prices on frozen fruits!

    • MyFreckledLife March 21, 2013 at 11:45 am #

      I’m in love with their prices for ALL their produce!!

  3. Chelsea Eats Treats March 21, 2013 at 11:38 am #

    OMG Danni looked so incredible!!! I was rooting for her the whole time (I maybe even tweeted at her…sry not sry) and was SOOO happy (but not surprised) when she won. Also, total shocker, LISA?! I didn’t even recognize her! I seriously love the show so much I get goosebumps just thinking about it. There were definitely some happy/emotional tears during the finale. Glad you love it as much as I do!

    • MyFreckledLife March 21, 2013 at 11:46 am #

      I know!! I totally did not recognize Lisa at ALL! She was rocking it!! But yes, Chris and I were totally in love with Danni all season! It’s SUCH an inspiring show. And I’m so happy Jillian is back – she’s my favorite!

Leave a Reply

