Five Favorite Friday #11

22 Mar

Well it’s official guy. Today is my LAST DAY at my current job. My last time getting up early to make the hour plus commute to the country. My last time pulling 9-10 hour days and THEN having to make the hour+ drive home. My last time driving putting 1000+ mi on my car in a month, solely from driving around at work.

But it’s also kind of bittersweet. I’m going to miss my coworkers, and I’m certainly going to miss my clients. These last few weeks of having to go around and say goodbye to everyone has been really draining. Although I guess at times uplifting as well, when you can see you’ve made a difference.

I guess this is just going to be a bittersweet kind of day. But one that was definitely a long time coming.

Up and on to better things!

Anyway! Sorry for that little tangent there this morning. It is a Friday, which means that it’s time for a Five Favorites Friday, where I talk about some totally random things that I have been loving lately. Let’s begin!

1. Favorite Spur-of-the-moment meal: Grilled Pizza

While I was still stuck in the office at 7pm on Wednesday afternoon, I got a call from Chris stating that he was going over to his mom’s boyfriend’s house to change the oil in his car, and that I was invited over for pizza. Considering that my brain was kind of mush at this point, I really didn’t care WHAT I ate, as long as I didn’t have to cook it!

So I headed over there at 8, and low-and-behold, the largest grilled pizza I’ve ever seen!

IMAG0528

It’s a little hard to tell in this picture, but this pizza is literally like 2 ft across. It’s ridiculous! It was topped with mushrooms and turkey pepperoni and was flippin delicious!

2. Favorite New Food Staple: Buffalo Chicken

Guys, I think I have a problem. I’m seriously OBSESSED with buffalo chicken now. I put it on everything. On veggies as a dip, on wraps, and now I’m seriously dreaming about it on salads.

IMAG0529

We’ve made this skinny crock pot buffalo chicken twice now, and it’s seriously starting to become a staple in our house.

If you have not tried something like this on top of a salad, you need to get on that immediately. It’s SO incredibly good, and has me drooling a little just thinking about it! I also topped my salad with just a drizzle of ranch and it was perfect!

3. Favorite Weekend Plans: NADA!

We have spent the past 2 weekends away, first at a cabin with some friends and then in GA at a baby shower. We have not had a weekend at home almost the entire month of March! So I am SO incredibly happy that we have absolutely zero plans this weekend!

Thus I am planning on doing a lot of sleeping in, CLEANING (the house desperately needs a deep clean!), grocery shopping, and TV watching. We’ll probably try and throw some running in there as well, considering that we’re running a 10K in a few weeks and have been totally slacking on training for it… whoops!

I don’t know about you guys, but sometimes having a weekend to just veg is the most rejuvenating thing!

4. Favorite Food Challenge: “Healthify-ing” Restaurant Staples

There are days when you just get a craving for greasy chinese or crappy Mexican food, but obviously it’s not always the best idea to indulge (although let’s be honest, I have limited willpower when it comes to Mexican food). So it’s great if you can find a way to re-create those favorite staples in your own kitchen, with half the grease, fat, and added random unnamed ingredients.

Enter: Chicken fried rice.

IMG_2481

Chris was craving Chinese food all last week, so I was trying to find a way to bring it in to our meal plan this week. It’s been hard to really plan when everything has been so crazy for me at work!

So when I got home on Thursday, I decided to improvise and whip together some chicken fried rice and edamame to fill his chinese craving. It was super simple and super delicious, and MSG/salt/crappy stuff free! Recipe coming soon!

5. Favorite New Trend: Spring colors!!

Even though the weather is disagreeing with me right now, I’m SO pumped that it’s officially spring, which means I can bust out some spring colored clothing. Even better, I can get red of my dark red and tan nails, and bring in some bright colors!

I’m too embarrassed to show you pictures of my ugly nails right now (I took a few pictures, but they are seriously sketch looking right now guys!), so instead I’ll show you a few colors I am DYING to try!

OPI – Afrodite

Essie – Tart Deco (My current obsession)

OPI – Thanks a Windmillion

Any other suggestions???

 

Well there you have it guys, 5 things that I’m loving this week! I hope you all have a terrific weekend!!

So tell me: What are you loving this week?

4 Responses to “Five Favorite Friday #11”

  1. fortheloveofgloss March 22, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    Love that Afrodite polish! I can see it taking its place as my go-to summer pedicure polish!

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake March 22, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    Yay congrats on your last day!

    Oh, and I love all of those nailpolish colors!

  3. IHeartVegetables March 24, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    I hope you’re having a nice relaxing weekend!!! 🙂

    Grilled pizza sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

