Calm, Productive Weekend

25 Mar

Well good morning all!

I have to be honest with you and say that I’m actually writing this post on Sunday night, which I don’t normally do. But tomorrow is my first day of work at my new job, and being the type-A person that I am, I want to be as prepped as possible for tomorrow!

So far I’ve gotten ALL my forms together for my job orientation (and there are a LOT), gotten all my IDs ready to go, made my lunch, wrote this blog post, and picked out my outfit.

Give me a break, I’m a little nervous. This makes me feel better. Type-A for sure.

ANYWAY, I wanted to give you all a recap of my weekend! As you may recall, we’ve been out of town for the past 2 weekends (at a cabin with some friends and then in GA for a birthday party/baby shower), so it was AMAZING to have a whole weekend at home.

Friday

After work on Friday (aka my last day at my old job), Chris and I met up in Fredericksburg for dinner and a movie to celebrate. Except due to a late lunch we decided to flip those and go see a movie first.

We ended up seeing Oz: The Great and Powerful, which I LOVED. It was a little Tim Burton-esque, with all the bright colors and creepy stuff, but it was totally worth seeing. I loved that it stayed very true to the Wizard of Oz story and set things up perfectly for the regular movie (you know, the Judy Garland one). Plus the acting was amazing! You totally should check it out!

We have both been craving Indian for awhile, so we decided to hit up our favorite Indian place, Taj Indian Cuisine, after the movie. Plus it was 9pm and we were getting a little HANGRY (hungry + angry). 

IMG_2486IMG_2488

We split a chicken and veggies dish, and a palak paneer, along with some garlic naan and mango lassis (hey, we were celebrating!). SO DELICIOUS!

Full and happy, we headed home and watching some TV before passing out.

Saturday

We were up bright and early Saturday morning to hit up a yard sale and the farmers market. But not before we had breakfast! 2 eggs over easy and some toast (which I covered in TJ’s superfruit jam after this picture).

IMG_2489

The farmers market is still pretty small (the full one doesn’t open until April), but it was still fun to check out the vendors. Especially when they have some… interesting… produce.

IMAG0533

Ummm… emu eggs? What in the world? Best part? They are GREEN! And huge! And $25 a pop. Yea, not trying green emu eggs any time soon, thank you very much.

Once we got home, Chris and I decided to head out on a run. We have the Monument Avenue 10K in Richmond on April 13, which we are seriously undertrained for, so we really need to kick things up a notch. We ended up doing 4 miles, plus a long cool down. It was slow and rough, but we got the job done. And realized how out of long distance running shape we are!

IMG_2494

(and yes, I realize that I have super freckly arms)

After a quick lunch of leftovers, I got started on some projects that I have been putting off until the weather was slightly nicer.

IMG_2492

This is a little more coral and less baby pink in person, but this is going to end up being a necklace holder once I’m done with it. Pictures and maybe even instructions once I’m done with it (I’m kind of making it up as I go along).

Dinner was a super simple homemade chicken and broccoli alfredo.

IMG_2498

The rest of the evening was spent catching up on some TV shows that we’re super behind on (i.e. How I Met Your Mother and The Bible).

Sunday

I was ALL about sleeping in Sunday morning. Chris even got up and started working on an exam for his grad class, and I didn’t even roll over. I was out.

Once I finally did arise, around 9am (I know, I’m pathetic), I made a quick breakfast and caught up on some blogs before getting into the major plan for the day: house cleaning.

Usually Sundays are our cleaning days, but since we’ve been gone the past few weekends, our house has been collecting a nice layer of grim and puppy smudges. So a hard core cleaning was definitely needed. I scrubbed, washed, wiped, vaccuumed, and dusted my way around the house for a few hours until it finally looked livable again!

Laney supervised. And somehow managed to squish herself between the pillows. Such an awkward dog.

IMAG0535

After cleaning I decided to go ahead and get my workout in before showering for the day. I completed a quick Jillian Michael’s DVD, and then headed out for a FREEZING and WINDY 2 mile run. Where did spring go??? I was running in to the wind for about half the run, which definitely slowed me down like crazy. My 2nd mile was a good minute slower than my first.

But hey, a so-so run is better than no run at all, right?

IMG_2499

The rest of my afternoon was spent running around doing more chores, showering, and making a Target run.

As per usual, Chris and I ended Sunday by heading up to Church and doing dinner with his family.

So there you have it – my nice, calm, productive weekend. It’s not too often that I can say that!

So tell me: What did you do this weekend?

4 Responses to “Calm, Productive Weekend”

  1. di @ life of di. March 25, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    I did enjoy OZ but I thought the acting was pretty terrible. James Franco did an okay job (when he wasn’t awkwardly smiling) but Milan Kunis was, in my opinion, horrendous! Did you see it in 3D? I definitely thought it was a fun movie and would probably watch it again but I still thought the acting and casting could’ve been better. 🙂

    My weekend was great! Only had to work for four hours on Saturday night so I spent the afternoon working out and branching with my mom, sister and aunt 🙂

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake March 25, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    I hope your first day went well!

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats March 29, 2013 at 9:22 am #

    Sounds like a great weekend to me! I’ve been running around a lot lately myself and could use a relaxing weekend. Looks like it’s not going to happen this weekend though, unfortunately 😦

Leave a Reply

