WIAW: First Day Edition

27 Mar

Well it’s official guys – I’ve made it through my first day at my new job!

I don’t know about you guys, but I always am a mix of excitement and total terror when it comes to starting something new. For whatever reason I always have this total fear that I’m going to walk in and their going to go “oh… you’re not the person we wanted to hire. Nevermind!”

But luckily that definitely did not happen! I actually had an amazing first day, learned all about the kinds of work I’m going to be doing, and met a ton of nice people.

Although I forgot what it was like to walk around in heels for 8 hours! I’m going to have to get my feet used to this again!!

I have a feeling the next week or so is going to be a little crazy as I try to figure out a new schedule (which has me waking up MUCH earlier than before, but getting home several hours earlier too!), and how I’m going to fit in blog posting and working out. So bear with me, please!

Anyway, it’s Wednesday and I KNOW that you all know what that means. It’s time for What I Ate Wednesday!!

What is What I Ate Wednesday, you ask? Well it’s this awesome phenomenon created by Jenn at Peas and Crayons that allows us to share and celebrate our food, free from judgment or comparison. I love what it stands for, and the way we can all come together over something like our meals!

So without further ado, What I ate on Tuesday!

Breakfast

Pretty much the usual, but at I made a SMALL change. Baby steps, people. Oatmeal with peanut butter, TJ’s superfruit jelly, and a banana. With a cup of tea, of course.

IMG_2506

Lunch

I’m not going to lie, I did NOT take a picture of my lunch today. We were all eating together in the break room, and I felt a little strange on my first day with my new co-workers taking pictures of my food. So here are some repeat pictures, but hopefully you get the idea.

I had a salad topped with buffalo chicken, feta, and some ranch dressing. And a black cherry chobani as well. Simple, but delicious!

IMAG0529

Dinner

Chris and I had some errands to run after work (I had to take my ring in to the jewelers and then we had a Costco date), and by the time we left Costco both of our tummies were grumbling. So we decided to scrap our planned dinner and go out. Plus we wanted to celebrate my successful first day!

After about 5 minutes of debating (we are so indecisive), we finally decided on TGIFridays because it was quick and we hadn’t been in awhile.

We started out with some appetizers (spinach Florentine flatbread and potstickers), and then I had the cajun chicken and shrimp pasta as my meal. Definitely not the healthiest choice on the menu, but to be honest, nothing else was calling my name. And you know, I’m all about moderation. You gotta enjoy life sometimes too!

IMAG0538IMAG0539

Overall, definitely not my healthiest of days. But again, sometimes it’s worth a little splurging.

So tell me: What did you eat today?

11 Responses to “WIAW: First Day Edition”

  1. IHeartVegetables March 27, 2013 at 6:25 am #

    Haha depending on which co-workers I’m with, sometimes I feel weird taking pictures too! Your eats look delicious though!

    • MyFreckledLife March 27, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

      Haha, I know! I thought that might be a little much for my first day…

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake March 27, 2013 at 6:27 am #

    Glad to hear your first day went well! I haven’t been to TGIFridays in forever, but that dinner looks awesome!

    • MyFreckledLife March 27, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

      Thanks! And I know – they have some great options. I just wish they had more “healthy” options on their menu – almost NOTHING came with veggies!

  3. jessielovestorun March 27, 2013 at 7:11 am #

    Congratulations on the successful first day of work!! How could anyone dislike you though forreal??

    and great pick at dinner. TGIF flatbread is delicious!

    • MyFreckledLife March 27, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

      Awww, thanks! You’re sweet! And yes, their flatbread is amazing! It was the first time I’ve ever had it, and it was probably my favorite thing we got!

  4. Nicole March 27, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    So glad to hear your first day went well! I always worry myself sick about starting new things, it feels so good to have the first day behind you!

    • MyFreckledLife March 27, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

      I know, I get like that too! I’m definitely glad I’m over the first day hurdle!

  5. Danielle March 28, 2013 at 4:33 am #

    Congratulations on your new job, I hope you settle in well!

  6. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats March 29, 2013 at 9:27 am #

    Yay I’m so glad your new job is going well! I always feel awkward taking pictures in front of new people too. It definitely takes a while to get comfortable. Your salad looks yuuuummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

