Enchiladas Three Ways

28 Mar

(By the way – Check me out over on Fitkit this morning for some tips of staying motivated!)

Happy Thursday!

Boy has this week gone fast! Maybe it’s just because it’s been a week of totally new things for me, with my new job, new schedule, and new daily routine, so it’s going way faster than normal!

That probably wont last too long, so I’m going to enjoy it while I can!

What I am also really enjoying is how much time I have in the evenings now with my new job! If you follow me on twitter (@myfreckledlife), you may have seen my excited tweet last night about my new evening schedule:

 

It’s seriously awesome to have so much time in the evenings! Now if only I could get used to this SUPER early morning schedule, I’d be good to go!

Anyway, I thought I would share with you all a fun trio of recipes that I tried out earlier this week.

You see, I love me some Mexican food (anyone who has been around MFL for more than a week probably knows this. I have an addiction). But I’ve never actually made enchiladas before. True story. For whatever reason, they always intimidated me.

But I decided to bite the bullet this week, and try them out. Except even better, I couldn’t decide what kind to make, so I decided to make 3.

Truth: That was actually my game plan in case any of them failed miserably. Luckily, none of them did!

So let’s take a look at them, shall we?

Enchiladas Three Ways

Please note that these made about 3-4 enchiladas each. So feel free to increase each recipe to full size (x3) if you only want to make one.

1. Chicken, bean and bell pepper enchiladas
IMG_2503

Ingredients:

  • 1 chicken breast, cooked and shredded
  • 1/2 onion, minced
  • 1/3 can of black beans
  • 1/2 bell pepper, minced (I used frozen mixed bell pepper)
  • 1/4 cup corn (I used frozen)
  • 1/4 cup of shredded mexican cheese
  • Olive Oil
  • Cilantro, chopped
  • Garlic salt
  • Cumin
  • Chili Powder
  • Dried Parsley
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • Corn tortillas
  • Enchilada Sauce

 

Directions:

1. Saute onions, peppers and corn in olive oil until the onions are clear. Mix all ingredients together in  small bowl. Season with spices to taste.

2. Heat corn tortillas for a few seconds in the microwave. Fill tortillas with filling, wrap enchilada, and put face down in a baking dish with a layer of enchilada sauce on the bottom. Top with the rest of enchilada sauce.

3. Cook at 350 degrees for approximately 20 minutes. Top with cheese and cook for another 2 minutes. Let cool and serve.

 

2. Spinach and Bean Enchilada

IMG_2504

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 onion, minced
  • 1/4 cup corn (I used frozen)
  • 1 small zucchini, chopped
  • 1/3 cup of black beans
  • Cilantro
  • 1 small handful of fresh spinach
  • Olive Oil
  • Cilantro, chopped
  • Garlic salt
  • Cumin
  • Chili Powder
  • Dried Parsley
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • Corn tortillas
  • Enchilada Sauce

 

Directions:

1. Saute onions, zucchini and corn in olive oil until the onions are clear. Mix all ingredients together in small bowl. Season with spices to taste.

2. Heat corn tortillas for a few seconds in the microwave. Fill tortillas with filling, wrap enchilada, and put face down in a baking dish with a layer of enchilada sauce on the bottom. Top with the rest of enchilada sauce.

3. Cook at 350 degrees for approximately 20 minutes. Top with cheese and cook for another 2 minutes. Let cool and serve.

 

3. Bean and Sweet Potato Enchiladas

IMG_2501

Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and chopped
  • 1/3 cup of black beans
  • Cilantro
  • 1 small handful of fresh spinach
  • Olive Oil
  • Cilantro, chopped
  • Garlic salt
  • Cumin
  • Chili Powder
  • Dried Parsley
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • Corn tortillas
  • Enchilada Sauce

Directions:

1. Cook sweet potatoes in boiling water for several minutes until cooked through. Drain and mash. Mix all other ingredients in a small bowl. Season with spices to taste.

2. Heat corn tortillas for a few seconds in the microwave. Fill tortillas with filling, wrap enchilada, and put face down in a baking dish with a layer of enchilada sauce on the bottom. Top with the rest of enchilada sauce.

3. Cook at 350 degrees for approximately 20 minutes. Top with cheese and cook for another 2 minutes. Let cool and serve.

IMG_2505

Now, they aren’t the pretty looking things ever,  but they definitely were delicious. And they all taste SO different, that I really enjoyed having all of the options on my plate. We topped ours with greek yogurt and some more cilantro, and they were all amazing.

Although let’s be real here guys – if you put salsa/spicy sauce and cheese on it, I’ll probably thing anything is amazing. I’m easy to please.

So tell me: What is your favorite Mexican dish? Do you have any creative enchilada filling ideas?

4 Responses to “Enchiladas Three Ways”

  1. Her Happy Balance March 28, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    I LOVE mexican food! I crave it entirely too much and most of my recipes end up having a Mexican-esque flavor. I love chimichangas but they’re not exactly the healthiest option but it’s okay for a treat every once in a while.

  2. IHeartVegetables March 29, 2013 at 6:28 am #

    The sweet potato and bean ones sound delicious!!

  3. David Scott April 6, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

    Red Chile Enchiladas are my favorite! Here is a link to my favorite recipe for them: http://www.chimayochilebrothers.com/the-brothers-recipes/classic-red-chile-enchiladas of course, if you arent using real New Mexico Chili, you may as well just forget it!

Leave a Reply

