Five Favorites Friday #12

29 Mar

Happy Friday guys!

Luckily this week has gone extremely fast for me, probably due to the excitement of my new job. But even so, I am very excited for the weekend even if it’s going to be a busy one!

Chris and I were just talking about how it would be so nice to just have a few weekends in a row at HOME so we could get some house stuff done. You know, like unpack the room full of boxes and wedding stuff that we still have in the basement. From November. Whoops.

Maybe someday we’ll get to them! Maybe.

Anyway, it’s Friday, and you know what that means! It’s time for a Five Favorites Friday – where I talk to you about 5 random things that I’ve been loving this week.

1. Favorite New Resource: Fitkit.me

I had never heard of fitkit before they contacted me to do a guest post for them. But after doing a little research on their website, I was very intrigued by all of the resources that they have available.

Not only does FitKit have a nutrition and vitamin side of their company, where you can take an interactive quiz to get a personalized vitamin regime (which I think is super cool!), but they also have a blog full of tons of great tips, workouts, recipes and motivational stories.

You should definitely check them out!

 

2. Favorite Warm Weather Activity: Running Outside

Ok, I know it’s not REALLY warm yet. In fact, some days it still feels like winter out there. But every once and awhile the sun shines through the clouds and the winds stop blowing and it actually feels ok outside! Which of course is what motivates me to actually get out and run outside, because goodness knows if I think it might be cold then I wont go!

IMG_2507

I’ve definitely had to start out slow, because I can really FEEL the 2 months that I took off from running. I still haven’t quite gotten my stride and my pacing back, but I’m still trying even if it isn’t coming back quite as easily as I had hoped!

 

3. Favorite Part of my New Job: Getting home to make dinner at a reasonable hour!

When I worked at my old job, I typically would not get home until at LEAST 7:30 at night. Which meant that then I would have to start dinner, and we often wouldn’t eat until at least 8:30.

Now I’m getting home much earlier (minus my almost 3 HOUR commute yesterday thanks to several bad accidents AND a road closed for construction), which means that I’m actually getting to eat dinner when the sun is still out! It’s a miracle!

IMG_2511

Indian pita pizzas from Thursday night.

 

4. Favorite New Thing to Search for on Pinterest: Crafty Ideas

Maybe it’s because I have had ZERO time lately to unleash my inner artist and do anything creative so I’m kind of craving it, but recently most of pins have been crafty ideas! I really don’t know where this came from, but there are just so many good ideas out there that I just cant help myself.

Here are some of the ideas that I’m obsessed with lately:

(Although I would feel bad cutting up a book – I’d definitely need to buy one solely for this purpose)

5. Favorite Current Read: The Paris Wife

I’ve been reading The Paris Wife for the past few weeks, and I’m totally loving it. It’s kind of a mix of a biography and a fictional story that looks at the marriage between Ernest Hemingway and his wife Hadley. I really wasn’t sure about it at first, but it had been recommended to me on several occasions so I thought I’d give it a try.

And now I’m totally engrossed in the story. It’s like watching one of those relationships that is constantly on the verge of total train wreck, but yet they are still totally in love with each other. Fascinating! I definitely recommend it!

(Fun fact: I actually HATED reading Hemingway books in high school. His writing style is totally NOT me, and drove me crazy.)

There are five totally random things that I’m loving this week!

So tell me: What are you loving right now?

7 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #12”

  1. Her Happy Balance March 29, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    Love the heart book cut-out idea. And I’m totally with you, would need to buy a book solely for the purpose of this crafting idea.

  2. Taryn March 29, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    I’ve been going back and forth about reading that book – adding it to my list now.

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats March 29, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

    I’ve been thinking of reading the Paris Wife also but was a little unsure about whether I’d like it. I’m glad to hear you are enjoying it! Maybe I’ll give it a try 🙂

  4. Nicole @ Fruit 'N' Fitness March 30, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    Do you have a recipe for those pizzas? I’m happy your able to get home earlier now 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife April 2, 2013 at 5:51 am #

      I got the recipe from cooking light, but I wasn’t 100% happy with how it turned out (I made a few changes which definitely weren’t as good as they could have been). Once I perfect it I will definitely put it on here. Check out cooking light for “indian pizza” though!

  5. IHeartVegetables March 31, 2013 at 8:57 am #

    I totally agree with number 2!!! I love running outside!!! 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife April 2, 2013 at 5:52 am #

      I’m definitely glad the weather is allowing for it more now!

Leave a Reply

