The At-Home Rut

4 Apr

Yay for Thursday!! 

I don’t know what it is about Thursday, but I always find it to be a fun day. It’s more than halfway through the week so it’s CLOSE to the weekend, but without the anticipation and stress of waiting for Friday to end. Maybe I’m just weird, but I see Thursdays like Christmas eve – getting ready for the weekend to arrive!

Except for those Thursdays when you wake up thinking it’s already Friday. That’s just a tease.

ANYWAY, I hope you all had a good Wednesday! Mine was actually pretty good, although a little bit busy. I’m finally starting to get settled in to work, and while I don’t have any actual projects yet, I am learning the ropes of the office. I just cant wait to get some actual work!

I headed home after work (and in the sunshine, no less – I’m LOVING getting home at 5:30!) and immediately headed down to the basement to get a workout in. I picked out one of Jillian Michael’s 40 minute workouts and huffed and puffed my way through it. I always forget how hard they are, because she makes them look so simple. But boy does that lady know how to combine some moves to make them HURT! Sheesh!

I followed up my workout with some good old fashioned Italian food – whole wheat pasta with homemade sauce and a nice big salad.

IMG_2554

Then proceeded to spend the rest of the evening plopped on the couch watching Dance Moms (since I’m like 3 episodes behind). Ok, I did manage to throw some laundry in and clean the kitchen. So the night wasn’t a TOTAL waste.

The Rut

I did want to ask you all for some advice though.

As you may have noticed over the past few weeks, most of my workouts have consisted of either running outside (yay for warmer weather!) or Jillian Michaels DVDs. I’m kind of in a rut.

Since I left my job in Culpeper, it also meant that I left my gym. Unfortunately there was a mix up (aka the gym lied to me), and I cannot transfer my gym membership, even though it’s in the same chain, to the gym closer to me without paying a gigantic fee and restarting my contract. Since my current contract runs out in June, Chris and I basically decided to just eat the cost, since it is cheaper in the long run than paying to “transfer” the membership.

Moral of the story: I’m gym-less. Hence the rut.

So I need some ideas. What are some good workout DVDs, websites, etc. that I can use to get some workouts in at home. I have a bunch of workouts saved thanks to lovely ladies like Tina, Julie and Tina, but I’d still like to try out some new and different kinds of workouts.

Please let me know if there are any online trainers, programs or workout videos that you’ve been loving lately – I’d love to get ideas while Chris and I are looking in to other gym (or maybe crossfit?) possibilities.

Not that I’ll ever fully give up my Jillian though. She scares me into working hard. haha.

(source)

So tell me: What are your favorite at-home workouts or resources?

6 Responses to “The At-Home Rut”

  1. Her Happy Balance April 4, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    I like to do Insanity DVDs at home, or make up a core exercise program from lots of planks and pilates. Sometimes I do Wii Zumba too! Bummer about your gym :/

  2. di @ life of di. April 4, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    The only workout I have ever done at home has been the P90X Ab Ripper X and one of Jillian Michael’s videos. I’m definitely a gym rat – I hope you can figure out some nice workouts at home. Luckily it’s starting to get nicer outside so you could start running or walking outside!

    • MyFreckledLife April 8, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

      I know, I am definitely happy for the nice weather!

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats April 4, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    Obviously I love Jillian but I also still realllllly love the Insanity DVDs. They are still the best workout I have EVER gotten, either from a gym or at home. They are seriously intense. They’re a bit on the expensive side (if you are interested look around on ebay and amazon first!) but I think it’s worth it. Also, I’m interested in Crossfit but it’s soooo expensive!!!

    • MyFreckledLife April 8, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

      I definitely might have to check out Insanity. And I know, I’m right there with you with Crossfit, but I’m also super intrigued by it!

  4. IHeartVegetables April 5, 2013 at 6:30 am #

    My roommates and I have like, every Jillian DVD ever, haha. So I love those. But if you want something different, I do like the Tone It Up workouts that they have online. They’re pretty simple and easy to do with just free weights. Also, if you have cable, video on demand has a bunch of free ones! The Sportskool channel has some great arm workouts!

Leave a Reply

