Weekend Traditions

8 Apr

Why hello Monday… you came along way too quickly! I was seriously enjoying my warm, sunny, SPRING (finally!) weekend!!

I hope you all had a warm and sunny weekend as well! I’m not sure what the weather was like elsewhere, but here in Virginia we FINALLY got our first real taste of spring. Most of the weekend was sunny, 65 degrees and breezy. Perfect spring weather!

You could tell that people were enjoying spring too. I don’t even know how many people I saw mowing their lawns, gardening, or just spending time outside. I think we’ve all gone a little stir crazy!

But since it’s Monday and all, let’s spend a little time recapping the weekend, shall we?

Friday

I spent most of Friday at work getting my office space together, now that I finally officially have a place to sit. Of course, that meant putting up the important things first.

IMAG0548

I may not have ANY office supplies yet, but you’d better believe I’m repping VT over here! I know, I’m a tad bit obsessed. I’ve accepted that fact.

After work I headed to nearby Potomac Mills Mall with some of my coworkers for the grand opening of a new Vera Bradley Outlet. It’s hard to pass up $10 bags and $30 suitcases! Especially when they come it such fun colors! It was definitely a little overwhelming though – WAY too many choices!

IMAG0549

By the time I got home, Chris had been hard and work on our first grilled meal of the year (thanks to our new grill which we got as a wedding present!)

IMG_2565

Sockeye salmon with soyaki sauce, grilled zucchini and squash, and quinoa. SO delicious!

We then spent the rest of the evening catching up on Vikings on our DVR. Don’t judge!

Saturday

We were up fairly early on Saturday morning (read: 9:30) to hit up the farmers market! The official farmers market doesn’t open until April 20, but on the first weekend of the month the “winter market” still draws a pretty good crowd of vendors. This was probably the biggest one yet, in fact, for the winter season.

I can’t wait until the real market opens up, though! Farmers markets on Saturday morning have become one of my favorite traditions!

IMAG0550IMAG0551

IMAG0553

Plus I was just excited to finally get to bust out some spring clothes without having to wear a jacket! I even had on flip flops! #itsthelittlethings

We only ended up picking up a few things from the market, including some curly kale, a red pepper, some peach brandy jam (it’s AMAZING!), and some salmon rub that Chris really wanted to test out.

IMG_2568

Chris had a whole bunch of errands that he needed to run in the afternoon, so I took the opportunity to do some behind the scenes work on the ole blog (new layout to debut soon, it’s SO close to being ready!).

By the time early afternoon rolled around, I was itching to get back outside in the warm weather! So what better way to do that than to get a run in?

IMG_2569

Quick 3 miler, followed up with a 30 minute core workout while catching on some DVRed shows. Multitasking, people!

Since I hadn’t had much of a lunch, the warm weather had me craving a smoothie. And who am I to deny such a thing? Made with strawberries, almond milk, birthday cake protein powder, ice, and some chocolate stevia drops. Delicious!

IMG_2572

The rest of the evening was spent working on a house project! Chris and I had gotten a bench from a coworker a few months ago, which has been sitting in our foyer. However, it was a little plain and I really wanted to put a bench seat on it. So a trip to JoAnns, some plywood, and a learning experience with a staple gun later…

IMG_2590

We have a bench!

(We do plan on painting the whole the white soon, but we’re still looking into the best way to accomplish this. Any DIY tips would be much appreciated!)

Dinner was our grilling attempt #2: Chicken. I have to say, I’m totally loving this whole grill thing. So easy, and so delicious! We paired our chicken with kale chips and some quinoa leftover from Friday night.

IMG_2583

Sunday

We decided to sleep in a bit on Sunday morning (aka 10am. Just can’t sleep in like we used to!), and have a nice lazy Sunday morning breakfast.

IMG_2591

A little on the brown side, but it was 2 eggs over easy, some hashbrowns (which I doused in ketchup after this picture), and some toast. I topped my toast with some peach brandy jam, which definitely was a good choice at the market! A banana on the side too.

We spent all of Sunday morning cleaning, which has kind of become our tradition. At least it forces us to clean the house!

After we were finished, Chris and I headed out on our last training run before our 10K next weekend. We are planning on doing at least 1 short run this week to keep our legs awake, but probably wont push it too hard. Chris’ knee has been a bit off the last few runs, so I definitely don’t want to risk injury.

IMG_2593IMG_2596

5 miles in the books! And the first case of lobster face of the year!

Since I told Chris about my smoothie from Saturday, we were both craving smoothies for lunch again. This time made with almond milk, ice, 1 banana, strawberries, frozen peaches, and some birthday cake protein powder. Drank with a bright purple straw, of course!

IMG_2599IMG_2601

We then spent the rest of our afternoon grocery shopping (small haul this weekend, mostly consisting of 15 chobanis… they were on sale), church, and dinner with Chris’ family. Which has also become our new tradition – Sunday night dinner with the family.

There you have it, my spring-y weekend! Now let’s just hope that the weather stays this nice. No More Snow! No More Snow!

So tell me: What did you do this weekend? Do you have any regular weekend traditions?

10 Responses to “Weekend Traditions”

  1. di @ life of di. April 8, 2013 at 9:07 am #

    Regular tradition: Family dinner on Sunday night at my parents house. I seriously LOVE this tradition. Marty and I have been going over there on Sunday nights ever since we were married and whenever we happen to miss a week, I always feel like something is missing.

    As for this weekend, I traveled to Cincinnati to an art museum and caught up with some old friends. 🙂

    Also, I am super jealous that you have a Vera Bradley outlet so close! Ah! I just spent 120$ on a new suitcase/tote from there. I didn’t realize there were outlets with discounted prices. I need to see what I can find in Columbus 😉

    • MyFreckledLife April 8, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

      I love the family traditions like that! And I know, having a Vera Bradley outlet nearby is both awesome and dangerous! They do have cheaper prices than regular vera bradley stores though, so you should definitely see if you can find one!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats April 8, 2013 at 11:58 am #

    Looks like a nice weekend!! I can see you were as happy as I was about the weather haha FINALLY!!

  3. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake April 8, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

    I’ve been loving the warmer weather too! It’s about time!

    • MyFreckledLife April 8, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

      Seriously! Except now it seems like we skipped right to summer!

  4. genkikitty April 15, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    Every other week my husband has off from work so we tend to do special day trips on that friday off (which was this week). We had intended on going up to D.C. but unfortunately the rain held us back so we did our normal thing of TJ’s & Korean grocery shopping. I had no idea there was a Vera Bradley Outlet at the Potomac Mills Mall. Actually we just moved to the area (Just realized by your winter market photo we live in same area) and have only gone to the Ikea there but now I’m going to drag the DH to the Mall. Yay! Thanks for the suggestion!

    • MyFreckledLife April 17, 2013 at 6:05 am #

      No way!! Another Fredericksburg person?? YAY! And yes, it JUST opened. It’s seriously huge! You should definitely check it out!

      • genkikitty April 17, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

        Yep, in the area at least. Just moved to Lake of the Woods but we spend all our time in Fredericksburg or DC area now. haha Thanks for the suggestion! I also didn’t know the farmers market was open already on some Saturdays, can’t wait!

      • MyFreckledLife April 17, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

        That’s awesome! I used to drive past LotW all the time when I worked in Culpeper! The market officially opens this weekend (the 20th), but they have a small winter market that goes all year round! Maybe I’ll see you there!

Leave a Reply

