Skinny Chicken Parmesan

9 Apr

Well, we survived Monday. I consider that a success.

Unfortunately my Monday did not get off to a very good start. There was a major accident on the highway in the morning, which meant my usual 45 minute commute turned into an hour and a half. Ugh! Needless-to-say, I did not make it to work on time. Great impression for my third week, right?

Then there were some major changes announced at the office which kind of sent everything into a stressful panic. Not bad news or anything, just some unexpected news. So that definitely made for an interesting Monday.

I ended up staying 30 minutes late at work to make up for my crazy morning commute, so I didn’t get home until around 6:15. Chris was due home around 7, so that left me 45 minutes to get my sweat on.

I spent 15 minutes running around with Laney in the backyard (because even puppies need exercise!), and then completed a 30 minute arm workout from Tone It Up that I found on Pinterest.

(source)

I did up the reps on most of the exercises (somewhere between 15 and 20) and went through 3 rounds.

Because Chris and I are running the Monument Avenue 10K on Saturday, I’m trying to take it a bit easy this week in terms of workouts. I’m aiming to maybe get 2 strength training days and 1 short run in between now and Saturday, so we’ll see how this goes.

Once I finished my workout, I got straight to work on dinner: Skinny Chicken Parmesan.

IMG_2615b

When I first started my journey to eating healthy, I knew how to make about 5 different things. This chicken parmesan was one of them. I don’t remember where I found the original idea for it, but over the last few years I’ve just kind of melded it into my own recipe.

Skinny Chicken Parmesan

Makes 6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts, cut into strips
  • 1.5 cup of plain cheerios
  • 1 tbsp of Italian spices
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 jar of pasta sauce
  • 1 package of whole wheat pasta (I used spaghetti)
  • 1/2 cup of reduced fat mozzarella cheese
  • Optional: parmesan cheese for topping

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Place cheerios and spices into a ziplock bag, and smash until crushed (You could also place in a food processor).

3. Take strips of chicken, coat in flour, dip into egg whites, and roll in crushed cheerios.

4. Place strips of chicken into a baking dish. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes. Meanwhile, make pasta.

5. Top chicken with jar of marinara sauce and mozzarella cheese. Place back in oven for 5 minutes.

6. Place chicken on top of pasta, and top with parmesan cheese as desired.

7. Enjoy!

IMG_2602IMG_2603IMG_2606IMG_2609IMG_2611IMG_2612IMG_2615

 

I hope you all enjoy this super simple and delicious dish that is perfect for a weeknight when you want tons of leftovers!

So tell me: How was your Monday? What is your favorite easy weeknight meal?

4 Responses to “Skinny Chicken Parmesan”

  1. di @ life of di. April 9, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    Cheerios! What a great idea 🙂 I usually just do Skinny Chicken Parmesan without the bread/crust but I love the idea of cheerios!

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake April 9, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

    Yum! This looks great! I love chicken parm, but for some reason I don’t make it that often!

  3. IHeartVegetables April 9, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    I did a tone it up arm workout yesterday, too! I did one from youtube. I watched it on my phone at the gym, haha!

  4. Chelsea Eats Treats April 10, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

    Yummm this look great! I’ve done something similar before, but I never thought of making so much at once. I guess I get comfortable making enough for two (or four, if I’m planning to have leftovers for lunch the next day) but making a whole dish at a time is brilliant! I’ll have to try this out 🙂

Leave a Reply

