Five Favorites Friday #13

12 Apr

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!

Can you tell I’m totally pumped that it’s Friday today?? Even though this week has gone by really fast, I have some exciting plans for the weekend I’m I’m raring to get going!

After work today Chris and I are heading down to Richmond for the Monument Avenue 10K, which I’m both nervous and excited about! We did a short 2 miler yesterday, and I have to admit, guys, it was TERRIBLE. My calves were cramping up, my lungs were hurting… it was awful! That definitely made me a little worried for this weekend.

I just have to keep reminding myself that I know I CAN run it. We just did a 5 miler last weekend without too much trouble! It was just one bad run.

ANYWAY, it is Friday, which around here means it’s time for a 5 favorites Friday! Which is basically where I tell you about 5 totally random things that I’m loving this week!

Except I am TOTALLY running late today, so it’s going to be a super speedy one! So ready, set, go!

1. Favorite New Protein Powder: All About Time

Awhile ago Liz at I Heart Vegetables did a great review of a bunch of different protein powders that he had tried and loved. There was one that caught my eye in particular, because who doesn’t want to try something that’s “birthday cake” flavored? I ended up ordering some and totally loving it!

When Chris and I made smoothies last weekend, I had him try a little that I had left and he really loved it also. Which then turned into us stalking the website to see what other flavors we could get!

IMG_2617

IMG_2618

YAY for sample sizes!!

2. Favorite Far Away Store: Trader Joes

Sadly we don’t have a TJs near us, so whenever I make the trek up to Northern VA (aka 45 minutes), I make a point to stop in. And of course, spend way too much money. This was definitely the case on Wednesday when I had plans to meet up with some friends and had some time to kill.

Trader Joes is like my dream store.

IMAG0565IMAG0566IMAG0568

 

3. Favorite Summer Staple: Grilled Veggies

Currently, I seriously cannot get enough of grilled veggies. And it doesn’t even matter what kind: peppers, onions, mushrooms… I’m loving them ALL!

Even when I go out to dinner, I still end up picking them off the menu. I met up with some of my friends on Wednesday night for dinner and drinks, and ended up getting a plate of grilled veggies and fried goat cheese over pasta that was AMAZING!

I’m looking forward to many more grilled veggies this summer!

IMAG0570

4. Favorite Season: Spring

Except, you know, we already basically said Hi and Bye to spring. It seriously lasted about 2 days before switching to full on summer mode!

Was it seriously just snowing a few weeks ago? COME BACK SPRING!!!

IMAG0564

 

5. Favorite Late Night Find: The Bed Hog

I headed to bed the other night and after getting ready, I came back into the bedroom to find Laney clearly letting us know that she was ready to go to bed. Mind you, we have a queen size bed, and she only weighs about 45 lbs. She’s really not that large of a dog.

IMAG0563

She claimed her spot for sure. The worst part was then trying to get her to move!

 

There are some super speedy things that I’m loving today!

So tell me: What are you loving?

5 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #13”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats April 12, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    I loooove Trader Joe’s too! It’s so cheap and has the best stuff 🙂

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake April 12, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    haha, my dog does the same thing! You’d think a pug couldn’t really take up much room but he sprawls out!

  3. di @ life of di. April 14, 2013 at 11:55 am #

    That protein powder looks really good. Where did you get it? I love Vega protein but it’s just so expensive, I can’t bring myself to buy it (love the free samples that I get at work sometimes though – that’s the only reason I tried it!) Ha. I am loving the individual Justin’s Almond Butter packages 🙂 It keeps me from going overboard on the almond butter jar!

  4. IHeartVegetables April 15, 2013 at 6:42 am #

    I hope you had fun on the 10k! 🙂 I was in DC otherwise I would have run it!

  5. genkikitty April 15, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    So you are the other one at TJ’s stocking up! haha It’s about an hour from our house (depending on DC traffic could be 3hrs) but we still go too. There’s nothing better! Mmm Hope the race went well.

Leave a Reply

