Monument Avenue 10K

15 Apr

HAPPY MONDAY!!!

(Maybe if I yell it loud enough, it will be true, right?)

I hope you all had a lovely weekend. I feel like I say this every Monday, but I felt like my weekend went by WAY too fast. Probably thanks to the fact that we managed to pack in a lot of stuff in a short amount of time.

Let’s do a little recap of the weekend, shall we?

Friday

I spent almost the entire day on Friday at an event for work that took place at a High School, which involved about 400 people (150+ of which were HS students). Since we were all wearing “volunteer” tshirts that looked exactly the same, it also meant that I was mistaken for a high schooler about 15 times.

And not only by teachers. Some students thought I was still in HS too.

Ummm… I have like 10 years on some of you. No. Just no.

It was a very fun event, despite apparently looking like I was 16, and it ended with finding this gem outside the school.

IMAG0571

It was pouring outside, and apparently Mr. Snapping Turtle decided that he didn’t want to be in his pond anymore. Oh rural Virginia!

After work on Friday, Chris and I headed down to Richmond to pick up our race packets for the Monument Avenue 10K!

There were over 38,000 runners, so they had quite the expo! Not as big as the Disney (obviously), but definitely the biggest I’ve ever been to otherwise. They had a ton a vendors there, and Chris and I managed to roam around for an hour or so looking at everything.

IMAG0572

IMG_2620

We ended the night (around 9pm, mind you) grabbing some dinner at Noodles n’ Co. Best place to carb up, right? A restaurant called Noodles n’ Co?

I got the Penne Rosa. Of course. I always look at the menu like I’m going to get something else, and I never, ever do. (horrible picture lighting, sorry!)

IMAG0573

Saturday

We were up nice and early to prep for the race. Unfortunately I managed to completely grab the wrong pair of pants when I was packing for the weekend, and brought a pair of spandex shorts instead of my usual running rights. Whoops! Definitely stressed me out a little on the morning of the race, but there was nothing I could do about it at that point!

Our corral started at 9:14, so we left at around 8 to make sure we could find parking. A lot of the streets in Richmond were closed off for the race, so we did have a hard time finding parking, but still made it in plenty of time.

While the race was really well run, my ONE complaint is that they did not make it clear where the baggage check was. After asking several people and getting no answers, we started to run out of time to go looking. Eventually we just gave up and Chris ended up running with a bag on his back the whole race! What a trooper!

Minus a slightly different start and finish point, the race was basically an out and back down Monument Avenue (hence the name of the race), with a turn right around the 5K mark.

(source)

The event did a great job of having plenty of entertainment along the way to keep things interesting. Besides, Monument Ave is a beautiful location, with about 5 large statues in the middle, and a ton of gorgeous row houses lining the sides. I was impressed with the sheer number of spectators that came out so early in the morning to cheer people on!

The ONLY downside, in my opinion (Chris didn’t even notice), was that a bunch of Monument Ave was made of this cobblestone-brick kind of surface, which made me super nervous! I felt like I was watching the ground the whole time to make sure I didn’t trip or twist an ankle!

I will admit that it wasn’t our best race ever – Chris got a super tight shoulder in the middle, and my poor calf was really bothering me after my bad run on Thursday. But we did manage to still finish in a decent time, which I was very happy about.

IMAG0574

IMAG0575

We spent a good hour or so hanging out at the post-race event, drinking water and hanging out in the shade. We actually ran into several friends while were were there too!

And of course we managed to find a coffee shop on the way back to the car, and I picked up an iced coffee with almond milk (LOVE when coffee shops offer this option!) I can’t survive too long without caffeine. #caffeineaddict

IMAG0578

We then headed back home and spent most of the afternoon washing cars, doing some yard work and getting ridiculously sunburned. Whoops! Oh yea, totally forgot it was summer now and sunscreen is required!

We did head out to dinner at around 7:30 after running a few errands, and tried out a pub in Fredericksburg called Park Lane Tavern. It had a really cool british pub kind of ambience, which I loved.

IMAG0584

We started out with the goat cheese and marinara dip (delicious!) and then I had a balsamic portobello with crab for my entrée. Both were amazing, but I feel like the portobello did not sit very well in my stomach, unfortunately. I don’t know if it was the mushroom or the crab topping…

IMAG0580IMAG0583

We finished off the night with some froyo. Because all good days should finish off with self-serve froyo, of course!

IMAG0585

 

Sunday

(Phew, you still with me??)

Sunday was overall a very chill day. After all the craziness of Saturday, we slept in and had a nice, lazy breakfast of pancakes and hashbrowns.

IMG_2623

We followed up breakfast with some grocery shopping (we both took a different store to speed up the process), and some serious house cleaning.

This was followed by about 2 hours of vegging on the couch. Some very well deserved and much needed chill time.

We did manage to at least get temporary pictures into our gallery wall frames though, so I do consider that a great Sunday success!

IMG_2625

Otherwise, we spent the rest of the evening doing our usual Sunday tradition: Church and dinner with the family. Super exciting!

Phew! So is anyone still reading??? I feel like this has been one of my longest weekend recaps ever! Thanks for hanging in there!

Here’s to hoping that this week is a good one. Unfortunately it is going to be an emotional and difficult week for me, so please bear with me. If I seem a little out there, please know that I should hopefully be back to my normal self by the weekend!

So tell me: What did you do this weekend?

7 Responses to “Monument Avenue 10K”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats April 15, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    Looks like a great weekend!! Good job on the race 🙂 My recaps always feel super long too haha!

  2. Her Happy Balance April 15, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    I’m the same way with restaurants, stare at the menu looking for something new and ordering old faithful!

  3. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake April 15, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    Looks like you had a fantastic weekend! I love how the picture frames turned out!

    • MyFreckledLife April 17, 2013 at 6:06 am #

      Thanks!! I was a little nervous about then since I just kind of decided to wing it. But I think they turned out nice!

  4. di @ life of di. April 16, 2013 at 10:50 am #

    What a nice weekend 🙂 I really like the frames. I want to do something similar in our upstairs hallway but I’m thinking floor to ceiling of all different types of frames. I saw something like it on Pinterest and think it could turn out really well 🙂 We’ll see…

    • MyFreckledLife April 17, 2013 at 6:07 am #

      I LOVE the floor to ceiling look, but I’m always too chicken to try it!

Leave a Reply

