Fancy Bowling

18 Apr

Sorry that I kind of went MIA yesterday. To be perfectly honest, I was just really not feeling up to blogging on Tuesday evening. It was a really emotional day for me, and by the time I got home at like 8pm, I was just wanting to veg on the couch and watch some nonsense TV. Which is exactly what I did.

But I’m back now, so let’s recap a little!

Even though I didn’t really have a lot to do at work on Tuesday, it was still kind of a draining day for me with all of the facebook status and tweets from fellow Hokies remembering the day and swapping stories and moments.

Chris knew that it is always a difficult day for me, so he made sure that we had an evening to take my mind off of things a little.

First we stopped by a new (to us) gym in our area. A few months ago we bought a 30 day trial living social deal, so we decided to go meet with them and redeem it. It reminds me a lot of my club in Culpeper, so I’m excited about it!

Afterwards we headed over the Splitsville, which is a fancy bowling alley/movie theater! The last time that Chris and I went was last June, which is totally insane!

IMAG0587IMAG0592

Sadly, bowling is definitely not my forte.

But when I say that Splitsville is a fancy bowling alley, I mean FANCY. What other bowling alleys do you know where you can get wine, sliders, or SUSHI brought to your lane??

IMAG0590IMAG0593IMAG0594

We ended up getting some $5 house white, some gourmet nachos, and 2 sushi rolls (a spicy tuna and a “bubba roll” which had tempura shrimp, avocado and cream cheese).

The rest of the evening involved Smash on DVR, PJs, and some ice cream. Sometimes that’s just what you need.

Since my eating on Tuesday wasn’t exactly the MOST terrific day of eats, I decided to make up for in on Wednesday with a nice salad and apple for lunch.

IMAG0596

The salad included spinach, topped with mushrooms, tomatoes, grilled veggies and grilled chicken with italian dressing. Simple and delicious.

Minus the part that I spilled on my khaki pants…

After work I headed to the gym for my intro training session, which I am going to recap in full tomorrow after Chris goes through his (so we can get multiple perspectives). I will say that I am very happy with this gym so far!

My training session ended up going extra long, so I didn’t get home until about 7pm. Luckily I had some chicken in the crockpot and mixed it with some buffalo sauce and cream cheese for a simple buffalo shredded chicken. SO simple, and so amazing. Plus it makes a ton of leftovers.

Seriously, I’m kind of addicted to buffalo chicken…

IMG_2626

Paired with some roasted potatoes (with ketchup, of course) and leftover grilled veggies. Seriously hit the spot. I was practically licking my plate.

The rest of the evening consisted of catching on some DVRed shows (it seems like we’re ALWAYS behind!!!) and maybe looking up some new books to read. Anyone have any suggestions of a good book they’ve read recently?

Well I hope you all had a good Wednesday as well! I’ll be back tomorrow with a recap on my intro to my new gym!

So tell me: Does your gym do intro sessions? Have you ever gone to a fancy bowling alley?

9 Responses to “Fancy Bowling”

  1. di @ life of di. April 18, 2013 at 9:10 am #

    I love bowling. I’m not that great at it either but I really enjoy playing 🙂 Actually, that is a great idea for date night this week 🙂

  2. Nicole @ FruitnFitness April 18, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    That really does sound like a fancy bowling alley! My boyfriend was on a bowling team with his law school and the bowling alley where they bowled was practically falling down. My gym had an intro training session that I found so helpful I actually signed up for a few months of training. It has been really helpful in learning how to use the equipment and lift properly.

    • MyFreckledLife April 19, 2013 at 7:46 am #

      This is seriously the nicest, fanciest bowling alley I’ve ever seen! This is the first time I ever really worked with a trainer in person though, and it was really useful to have someone there to give you extra ideas and show me how to use some of the machines that I probably would have totally avoided because they looked intimidating!

      • Nicole @ FruitnFitness April 19, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

        I never used the free weights or TRX bands before meeting with the trainer because they seemed so intimidating. Now I love using them.

      • MyFreckledLife April 22, 2013 at 10:43 am #

        In my opinion, that’s what a good trainer should do: introduce you to new things and make you feel comfortable getting out of your normal gym routine!

  3. IHeartVegetables April 19, 2013 at 10:07 am #

    I like bowling but I haven’t been in a long time! That would be a fun date 🙂 I’ve never been to a fancy one though! 😉

    • MyFreckledLife April 19, 2013 at 10:32 am #

      It’s a great date activity. You should definitely see if you can find a splitsville though – it’s seriously the coolest bowling experience I’ve ever had! Or just come to Fredericksburg! ;-P

  4. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats April 26, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    That bowling alley looks awesome!! I recently spoke to a bunch of my friends about books I should read and here are a few that I heave read/have been recommended to me: Violets of March, Blackberry Winter, Extremely Loud Incredibly Close, Defending Jacob, The Art of Hearing Heartbeats, The Fault in Our Stars, Safe Haven. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

