Blacksburg Favorites

22 Apr

Happy Monday (said no one… ever).

Yeesh, I am STRUGGLING this morning. It was a super crazy weekend that started immediately upon getting home on Friday, and didn’t end until we got back at 9:30 last night! Talk about a full weekend!

On friday night we headed to Blacksburg in the middle of a CRAZY storm in Fredericksburg. I was actually in the process of throwing some laundry into the dryer when the power went out completely, so we had to run around and frantically spread our clothes everywhere to dry since we’d be gone for 2 days! We found out later that a tornado actually touched down in our area! Tornado’s in Virginia?? What in the world?

Thanks to a late start from the storm (and the laundry debacle), a dinner stop, and some trees down along the road, we didn’t end up getting into Blacksburg until after 11pm. And by the time we met up with our host for the keys and got ourselves settled, it was well after midnight, and this old lady was exhausted!

We were up early Saturday morning through to meet up with Chris’ sister for brunch at one of my favorite brunch locations in Blacksburg: Gillie’s! It’s all Vegetarian/vegan, and I’ve seriously never had anything less than amazing there. And you can tell it’s a popular spot too – for a small restaurant, it was overflowing with people at 9:30 on a Saturday morning! I almost always end up getting the Gillie’s Special: scrambled eggs and cheese on top of a bed of AMAZING potatoes and covered in salsa. Delicious.

IMG_2628IMG_2631

Definitely could only manage about half of it! So delicious and so filling!

Afterwards Chris and I walked around Blacksburg for a bit, including a stop at the Blacksburg farmer’s market (since we missed the opening of the Fredericksburg market this weekend!) After a loop around to pet all of the dogs (yes, seriously), we had fun looking at all of the interesting vedors and products. We ended up buying some fresh pasta, which I’m sure you’ll see make an appearance this week!

IMAG0604

Next up on our list of things to do in Blacksburg was to check out the women’s softball game! My cousin (who lives in Arizona, mind you) is a HUGE Virginia Tech softball fan, so I always try to get out there and take pictures when I can. Last year I even managed to get her a signed poster! Sadly Tech lost to Florida State in the last inning!

IMAG0605

Next up, we headed out to meet up with some old friends to tailgate before the start of Spring Game! For those non-football people out there, Spring game is basically the end of spring practice for most universities, where players get a chance to play in a “game like” setting (offense against defense), and players can try to impress coaches for a starting spot. For spectators, it’s a chance to see the potential for next year, and an excuse to drink a lot of beer and pretend that it’s fall. That’s how we roll.

_MG_1101_MG_1103IMG_1169IMG_1183IMG_1185

We started out in the West Stands, but soon it was covered in shade and got CHILLY. So we headed over to east stands and braved the sun. Gotta love the yo-yo weather in the mountains!

In case you haven’t figured it out already, Chris and I are HUGE VT football fans, and I’m pretty sure my husband took about 1,000 pictures of the game. But I’ll spare you the play-by-play!

Post-game plans included meeting up with my old babysitter (who I then babysat for in grad school) who recently had a new baby! It was great hanging out with the kiddos I used to see weekly, and meet the new little man. Babies are too cute. Even when they spit up all over Chris.

Followed by sushi at our favorite sushi joint in Blacksburg (can you tell we were trying to cram in all of our favorites?). Giant platter which included a philadelphia roll, an eel roll, and two Green’s special rolls.

IMAG0607

Followed by a stop at the new GobbleCakes (which is conveniently located right next to Greens…). Chris and I split a cherry/almond/ameretto (AMAZING) and brought home a “hummingbird” cake for later!

IMAG0608IMAG0609

At this point were were tired and stuffed, and like the old people that we are, we decided to leave the drinking to college kids and went home to bed. Yup, we’re lame.

Sunday morning we were up early again to participate in a 5K sponsored by Chris’ sister’s sorority, known as the 5KD (for Kappa Delta). Hi Kaitlyn!

IMG_2635

The race took place on part of the Virginia Tech cross country course, so it was definitely a major change for us! I’m totally not used to running on grass and over all of these hills! Chris said it took him back to his soccer days, so Mr. speedy definitely challenged me to run faster. I felt like we were flying! The hills definitely bothered my calf a bit, which is still sore from last week’s 10K, but otherwise it was a good run. Sadly, we totally forgot our Garmin in the car, so we don’t know how long the course actually was, but we’re PRETTY sure it wasn’t really a 5K. Considering we finished in like 18 minutes… which is like 9 minutes faster that my usual 5K time. Seems a little questionable to me…

After the race, we ran back to take super speedy showers and pack up, before heading to the Cellar (another fav!) to meet up with some friends for lunch before leaving. I ended up having the pita pizza with spinach, mushrooms and pineapples (sorry for the blurry photo), and finished about half. Yay for lunch tomorrow!

IMAG0610

Chris and I then hit the road back home, and made it back in time for the usual Sunday night dinner with his family. His mom was taking care of Laney this weekend, and apparently grammy knows how to wear a pup out. Within 20 minutes of us being home, Laney was in bed and passed out.

IMAG0616

Yup, she’s spoiled rotten. Not only does she sleep ON our bed, she usually ends up IN our bed.

Phew! That was a super long recap (fitting a super long weekend)! Did you make it through all of that? If not, let me recap: We ate a lot of food and spent a LOT of time in the sun!

Now here’s to hoping to getting back on track this week, starting with a gym session this afternoon! I’m hoping to change up my gym routine soon, now that we’re actually in a gym, so I’ll keep you all informed of that once I get myself organized!

Hope you have a great Monday!

So tell me: What did you do this weekend?

7 Responses to “Blacksburg Favorites”

  1. genkikitty April 22, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

    oh my! You had me so excited there was a vegan restaurant in Fredericksburg…. haha I almost cried when I looked it up. Looks amazing! I was shocked to hear about tornado’s in the area too.

    • MyFreckledLife April 23, 2013 at 5:51 am #

      Haha, sorry to get your hopes up there!

      • genkikitty April 23, 2013 at 6:05 am #

        It’s okay, it was nice to learn about places to visit later. Glad you had a nice weekend and that you were all safe through the tornado.

      • MyFreckledLife April 23, 2013 at 7:56 am #

        You too!!

  2. IHeartVegetables April 23, 2013 at 6:40 am #

    Wow that sounds like such a fun weekened!!! (And the storm on Friday was crazy! Not as bad here in RVA but still) The farmers market and brunch place look like two places I’d love to check out!

    • MyFreckledLife April 23, 2013 at 7:56 am #

      In my opinion, brunch and the farmers market are like perfect weekend morning activities! I wish I could do that every weekend! haha

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats April 26, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    Looks like a great weekend!! Thank for for supporting Kappa Delta!! 😀

Leave a Reply

