WIAW: Middle School Edition

24 Apr

Happy Hump Day! (<—remember when that got a giggle out of everyone in middle school? Ok, I still think it’s funny)

We are officially halfway through the week! I don’t know about you, but this week is actually moving super quick for me. I have finally really started to get projects at work and am actually feeling productive after nearly a month at my new job. It definitely keeps my busy during the day when I’m actually getting calls and emails instead of refreshing my email every few minutes just waiting for one to come in!

I’m sure I’ll be complaining about being TOO busy soon enough. The grass is always greener, right?

But it is Wednesday, and I’m pretty sure you all know what that means! It’s time for a What I Ate Wednesday!

For those not familiar with WIAW, it is a blog phenomena started by the lovely Jenn of Peas and Crayons that’s all about celebrating and sharing food, instead of using it as a means of judgment or comparison.

So without further ado… what I ate Wednesday Tuesday!

Breakfast

Pretty boring – Kashi cereal with almond milk and some tea. Got the job done.

IMG_2652

 

Mid-Morning Snack

The cereal didn’t really hold me over as long as I would like, so I ended up making some coffee around 10:30am.

IMAG0617

 

Lunch

I basically turned my leftovers from last night (mango pork carnitas) into a salad! I topped some spinach with pork, leftover pico de gallo, chopped mango, and some greek yogurt. It was definitely a delicious way to remake leftovers!

IMAG0618

 

Snack

I knew that it was going to be a late dinner due to a 6pm meeting with our financial planner, so I ate my blueberry chobani around 3:30 to hold me over!

IMAG0619

 

Dinner

While at the farmers market on Saturday, Chris and I ended up picking up some fresh made roasted garlic pasta. It smelled so good that the pasta lady didn’t have to do a whole lot of convincing to get us to shell out a few bucks! We didn’t want to over power the flavor of the pasta, so we just paired it with some olive oil, sauteed veggies (onion, tomato, yellow pepper and spinach), and parmesan cheese. Topped with a little bit of leftover grilled chicken. It doesn’t look like much, but it was seriously delicious.

IMG_2649

There you have it – what I ate on Tuesday!

So tell me: What did you eat today?

15 Responses to “WIAW: Middle School Edition”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake April 24, 2013 at 6:29 am #

    I love cereal, but I rarely eat it during weekdays because it definitely doesn’t fill me up! During the week, I eat breakfast at 6:00AM and don’t get my lunch break until 11:00AM (with no option for snacking anywhere in there).

    • MyFreckledLife April 24, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

      For me, it seems to all depend on the cereal. Some will fill me up for hours while some leave my stomach grumbling in 2!

  2. IHeartVegetables April 24, 2013 at 6:34 am #

    Oh wow that pasta sounds so good! Everything seems to taste better from the farmers market 🙂

  3. atwostoreyhome April 24, 2013 at 6:50 am #

    I top my Kashi cereal with almonds and frozen blueberries… that way it keeps me full a little longer into the morning!

    • MyFreckledLife April 24, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

      Yummm!! I’ve never thought to top cereal with nuts, but that sounds like it would be delicious! And add a little more staying power!

  4. jessielovestorun April 24, 2013 at 8:06 am #

    I think Chobani’s blueberry flavor may be my favorite. So good =)

    • MyFreckledLife April 24, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

      It’s definitely on my top 5 favorites… maybe even in my top 3. Black Cherry is still my all time favorite!

  5. Taryn April 24, 2013 at 8:52 am #

    That pasta sounds delicious! I just went to my town’s farmer’s market for the first time last week and was overwhelmed by the variety of foods there – I’ll have to keep an eye out for some homemade pasta.

    • MyFreckledLife April 24, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

      I love farmer’s markets, but they can definitely be totally overwhelming! I always end up spending way too long browsing. I swear, I could spend half the day there if I tried.

  6. Nicole @ FruitnFitness April 24, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    I love cole cereal but it would never fill me up for breakfast. I’m all about the hot and filling oatmeal in the mornings. Your pasta dish sounds amazing! There is a fresh pasta vendor at one of the farmers markets we go to and my favorite has been black bean and garlic stuffed ravioli, it sounds strange but it was so good!

    • MyFreckledLife April 24, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

      Oatmeal is definitely my go to during the winter, and my summer month staple is yogurt with fruit and granola. I’m struggling with this spring transition period! And black been and garlic ravioli?? That sounds amazing!

  7. Jen@Twenty-Something and Starving April 25, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    I don’t think there is anything boring about Kashi cereal and tea! I loveeeeee Kashi cereal, lately I’m all about the Heart to Heart Warm Cinnamon Oat and I top it with a cup of frozen mixed berries that I let thaw pretty much during my commute to work! And I have tea every morning – I think it’s more exciting and interesting than coffee :).

  8. Racing Bananas April 26, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    Your leftover lunch looks delicious!

    I wanted to let you know I nominated you for a Liebster Award. Keep up the inspiring blogging!
    http://racingbananas.com/2013/04/26/the-liebster-award/

  9. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats April 26, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    Yummm that pasta looks awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

