The Time My Husband Passed Out at the Gym (and other Personal Training Thoughts)

25 Apr

How is that for the world’s longest title?

I must preface this post with the fact that Chris did (although somewhat begrudgingly) give me permission to tell this story on my blog, despite the fact that it embarrasses him heavily. So you should be extra nice to him. His poor ego took a bit of a beating.

So I mentioned before about how Chris and I joined a new gym last week. Thanks to the move, and a bad experience with trying to transfer my gym membership from Culpeper to a sister gym here in Fredericksburg, we have been in the market for a new gym option since November. Lucky for us, a handy LivingSocial deal popped up that allowed us to essentially join a gym with a month-to-month membership for a very small fee.

IMAG0620

One of the requirements for a new membership is to have an intro session with a personal trainer. This session goes over basic information about the gym, and they get weight, height, body fat, BMI, and additional measurements to use as a starting point. They then take you around the gym and through a basic workout based upon what you’ve stated are your primary goals.

Then, of course, they tell you how you can sign up for personal training sessions. Gotta make a living, right?

One thing I really liked about the intro session was that one of the components of the “measurement” portion was where they make you hold a stick above your head and do a basic squat. You go through this a few times while they watch you from all angles, to see if there are any imbalances in your form, muscles that aren’t being activated, or other muscle concerns.

I didn’t really think too much of this (I did my squats, my trainer said they looked good, and we moved on), but when Chris went through his session, the trainer pointed out that he does have a muscle imbalance on his left side, and that he tends to overcompensate with his right hip. Who knew?

Overall, I thought this intro session was extremely informative. While there wasn’t necessarily a ton of information that I didn’t know already, my trainer did show me some machines or free weight exercises that were totally new to me, and forced me to step a bit out of my comfort zone (which I always appreciate). Doesn’t necessarily make me want to sign up for $75 sessions every week, but it’s definitely good to know that a good resource is available at my gym if I should need it.

Here is the crazy, husband dying part. Since I know that’s why you all really kept reading.

You see, while I was spending a lot of time at the gym in Culpeper, Chris had pretty much just settled into our normal running routine without really any additional strength training. He used to do a ton while he was in school, but just got out of the habit after graduation, and between a new job, the wedding, and the holidays, it kind of fell by the wayside for him.

Enter his personal training session, which started the same way as mine: measurements, squats, etc. The trainer then lead him through a workout, which was WAY different than his usual running-only stuff.

About halfway through, Chris starts to get really nauseous and dizzy. He didn’t really think to eat anything after a small lunch (since he’s not used to going to the gym right after work), and apparently his blood sugar took a nice spike. He walked back from a drink of water with a sheet shite face and blue lips, and within about a minute was being held up by two trainers while his knees buckled. He then lost consciousness completely and had to be dragged/carried to the nearest couch (at the totally other end of the gym, of course).

After a nice call for an ambulance (gym policy), a banana and a gatorade, he finally started to get some color back and his blood pressure went back into the normal range from scary low. Luckily the medics didn’t need to take him to the hospital, and by the time they had checked him out he was pretty much back to his old self. Feeling fine, minus a bruised ego.

Needless-to-say, we called it a day from there. And went and got some Chipotle. His choice.

After talking to the trainers, they said that this kind of thing happened at least once a month, because people come in to the gym underfueled or underhydrated and push themselves past their limit.

So as a little PSA, I thought I would share some tips on things to eat before a workout!

Best Workout Foods: What to Eat Before a Workout: US News Health

What to Eat Before and After a Workout: Fitness

Eating and exercise: 5 tips to maximize your workouts: Mayo Clinic

 

Moral of the story? Make sure to properly fuel your body before any workout!

So tell me: What is your favorite pre-workout snack?

4 Responses to “The Time My Husband Passed Out at the Gym (and other Personal Training Thoughts)”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake April 25, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    Oh my goodness! That would’ve scared the crap out of me! Glad he ended up being ok. 🙂

  2. Chelsea @ Chelsea Eats Treats April 26, 2013 at 11:38 am #

    Poor Chris! That sounds scary!

  3. IHeartVegetables April 26, 2013 at 4:02 pm #

    Aw, poor Chris! I’m glad he’s alright! That sounds scary! I feel like guys sometimes forget to eat, haha where as we never miss a meal 😉 My favorite pre-workout snack is an apple with some PB!

  4. Nicole @ FruitnFitness April 26, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    Poor Chris, I’m glad he is okay! One run I got really dizzy and nauseous and ended up hitting the emergency stop and just sitting on the treadmill for a good 10 minutes before deciding to stand up and walk right to the smoothie bar. I hope he understands it happens to a lot of people and isnt to embarrassed to go back to they gym and get in awesome workouts!

Leave a Reply

