Birthdays and Weddings

29 Apr

Guys, prepare yourself for a long one! Not only did I have a SUPER packed weekend, but I also managed to actually remember to bring my camera everywhere with me, so I took a ton of pictures!

This has definitely been one of those weekends that has been so full and so awesome, but that I’m SO going to regret on Monday morning when my alarm goes off at 5:45am…

But I wouldn’t trade it for anything! Even if it means extra coffee on Monday.

So prepare yourselves…

Friday

Chris’ 23rd birthday was actually on Saturday, but due to our super crazy Saturday plans, we ended up doing most of our celebrating on Friday night.

We met up after work and headed north to Potomac Mills for my first experience at the Cheesecake Factory. Holy cow, that menu is overwhelming! It’s seriously like a book. Our waiter said they had something like 350+ options? Umm… I’m way too indecisive for that!

I stuck to the skinnylicious menu. Not only did it list the “healthier” options, but it also was only like 50 items. A little less intimidating, in my opinion.

IMG_2657IMG_2659

Because we got there so early (thank you no traffic going north on Friday afternoons!), we decided to take FULL advantage of their happy hour specials. Skinny margarita, don’t mind if I do! We also split the buffalo bites – shredded buffalo chicken in a pastry and fried. Sometimes you just have to splurge. Also, this was GIGANTIC.

IMG_2660

IMG_2661

I was so full already after this appetizer, I decided to go small for my meal and got something off the skinny appetizer menu. Which is still normal plate size. Explain that one to me! I got the asian lettuce wraps, which had chicken, sprouts, carrots, cucumbers, cilantro and asian dipping sauces (peanut and herby). Amazing.

IMG_2662IMG_2664

For our desert, we split a mango key lime cheesecake. Seriously delicious, and so summery.

IMG_2665

We ended the night by going to see 42 at the movie theater. For anyone not familiar, 42 is about Jackie Robinson, the first black major league baseball player. The movie was absolutely amazing, and I would highly recommend it. So inspirational.

Saturday

We were up bright and early Saturday morning to hit up the farmers market. We weren’t able to make the opening last weekend when we were out of town, so we were happy to be able to check out all the new vendors this week.

IMAG0625

You know, and hang out with these guys.

IMAG0627

Oh Virginia. Only you would have alpaca farms represented at farmers markets… This city girl is still adjusting to the country life.

We ended up picking up some big, juicy strawberries, an onion, and too leeks (one of my FAVORITE spring/summer veggies!)

IMG_2667

Once we got home, we switched it in to high gear to get cleaned up for a very special event! The wedding of my dear friends (and old roommate) Maria and Geo!

IMAG0630

It was a beautiful ceremony, and my first ever Catholic AND bilingual wedding. It was so cool to hear everything done in both English and Spanish, and added such a personal touch for all of Geo’s family. Maria was an absolutely stunning bride, and I’m pretty sure everyone was in tears when Geo choked up giving his vows. So much love!

IMG_2675

 

IMG_2685IMG_2688

(This was taken after I nearly lost it hugging and talking to Maria and Geo. I am so happy for them!)

IMG_2695IMG_2703

And then there was much dancing. And much drinking. And more dancing. And more drinking… I think you get the idea.

IMG_2720

And then these gems happened. This is why I married him. He understands me.

IMAG0631IMAG0632IMAG0633

 

Sunday

We originally had planned on going to Kings Dominion for a few hours on Sunday morning before meeting up with Chris’ family. But after getting back home at 1am and literally falling into bed, we decided to a lazy morning sounded much more appealing. As long as the birthday boy was happy, I was open to anything.

We started out the morning with some banana pancakes. So simple, so delicious. I ended up substituting 1/2 a banana (mashed) for the egg, because we were out. They still ended up being delicious, just a little denser than normal. Still a thumbs up though!

IMAG0634

After some cleaning and lazing around the house, we headed out in the rain to meet up with his family at Barren Ridge winery for a birthday celebration. My mother-in-law set up quite the spread for us!

IMG_2723

The winery was dog friendly too, so even Laney could celebrate her daddy’s birthday!

IMG_2725

A little gloomy outside, but still a beautiful view. Even though I sometimes find myself tired of Virginia (I’ve lived here my whole life), I can’t help but appreciate what a beautiful state we have sometimes.

IMG_2726

We hung around, opened presents and ate cake (which I totally didn’t manage to get a picture of. Fail!) until well after 5. Chris and I then made the 2 hour trek back home and parked ourselves on the couch for the rest of the evening.

There you have it – my super long and super busy weekend. Now if only I could get it together this morning for work… I feel like I’m dragging a little more than usual today! The rainy weather probably doesn’t help.

I hope you all have a good Monday!

So tell me: What did you do this weekend?

4 Responses to “Birthdays and Weddings”

  1. IHeartVegetables April 29, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    Wow your weekend was packed!! The wedding looks like fun 🙂 Mine was super busy too, celebrating Alex’s birthday!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats April 29, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    Looks like a great weekend! I love that vineyard…my friends went to one recently in VA and the views were fantastic!! Who knew Virginia had so many wineries haha?! Tell Chris happy birthday!!

  3. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake April 29, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

    Mmm, I LOVE Cheesecake Factory, but you’re right–the options are overwhelming!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Roscoe | My Freckled Life - June 3, 2013

    […] means, inevitably, there were some awkward selfies that happened. Apparently that seems to be my new tipsy thing at […]

Leave a Reply

