Chicken and Vegetable Masala

2 May

Good morning y’all!

I’m clearly channeling my inner Paula Deen today.

So I don’t know what the weather looks like where you are, but in VA lately it’s been gross and gloomy outside in the morning and then becomes beautifully sunny and warm by the afternoon. While I’m loving the sunshine, these cold, dark mornings are seriously bumming me out! All I want to do is crawl back into my warm bed and stay put!

Isn’t May supposed to bring some flowers? Let’s get on that warm, sunny weather please, Mother Earth.

Anyway, yesterday was a pretty typical Wednesday for me – lots of morning traffic (got in an HOUR late yesterday thanks to an accident), a bazillion phone calls and emails, and some projects to work on. After work I headed to the gym to try out a “new” class.

Since we’re still new to this gym, and technically have kind of a trial membership thanks to our livingsocial deal, I’ve been trying to take a bunch of different classes to see whether I like them them (and the instructor). So far I’ve had pretty good luck, so I decided to take a BodyCombat class.

Also, thanks to this handy blog, I realized the last time I actually took a BodyCombat class was September 5!

(source)

If you’re not familiar with BodyCombat, it’s basically a cardioboxing class created by Les Mills. So it includes lots of kicking and punching, and definitely gets your heart rate up like crazy! It’s one of those classes where you are constantly moving (and usually FAST), and there is just a short rest to bring your heart rate back down before the next song.

It is seriously one of my favorite classes, but phew! After being out of it so long, I am seriously feeling it!! I was struggling a little after about 45 minutes to keep up the energy in class, and this morning my shoulders are definitely letting me know that they are taking a lazy day.

If you have a BodyCombat class near you, I definitely recommend checking it out.

Chicken and Vegetable Masala

Here is the real exciting part of this post though – a new recipe!

We picked up this TJ’s Masala sauce a few weeks ago and have been dying to find a way to use it. When we had some peppers that were on their last leg, I decided to just go ahead and try it out. And boy am I glad I did!

We paired ours with some pre-packaged Palak Paneer (also TJ’s) and some garlic naan (ALSO TJ’s!). This meal was so simple and seriously delicious if you’re craving some Indian food but don’t want to go out and splurge at a restaurant.

IMG_2737b

Chicken and Vegetable Masala

Makes approx. 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts, cubed
  • 2 bell peppers (I used 1 red, 1 yellow), sliced
  • 1/2 small onion, sliced
  • 1 jar Masala sauce (I used Trader Joe’s masala simmer sauce)
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 cup brown basmati rice (you could substitute white basmati or any other rice)
  • Directions:

    1. Cook rice according to directions on package.
    2. Heat 1tsp oil in a wok or pan over medium-high heat. Add chicken and cook until done all the way through. Remove and set to the side.
    3. Heat 1tsp oil in same wok, reduce heat to medium. Add vegetables, and cook until soft.
    4. Add chicken back into pan. Cover in masala sauce and 1/2 cup of water. Reduce to low heat and simmer for approximately 10 minutes.
    5. Serve and enjoy!

     

    IMG_2731IMG_2732IMG_2734IMG_2735IMG_2737

     

    So tell me: What is your favorite kind of Indian food?

    2 Responses to “Chicken and Vegetable Masala”

    1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake May 2, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

      I’ve never tried BodyCombat! I’ve done Step, Pump, CX, RMP… why not combat?! Definitely need to try it ASAP!

    2. Chelsea Eats Treats May 3, 2013 at 7:44 am #

      Yumm this looks great! It makes me really want to go to TJs haha!

    Leave a Reply

