Spicy Turkey Sausage and Leek Pasta

9 May

(First of all, I’m so happy to know that I’m not the only lobster out there! Shout out to my fellow gingers, or just fellow lobster-face individuals! I’m glad to know I’m not alone)

Happy Thursday guys! We’ve ALMOST made it to the weekend!

And I can’t even describe to you how excited I am for this weekend. Chris and I have been SUPER busy the last few weekends, and currently we have almost zero plans this entire weekend. We’re finally going to have a chance to sleep in, clean our house, and maybe even get some decorating done! Woohoo!

But I’m trying not to dwell too much on this weekend. I’ve got to make it through another 2 full days, after all!

So let’s talk about Wednesday, shall we?

I tried to avoid going outside all of yesterday thanks to the insane weather. I swear, one second it would be bright and sunny, and the next it would be ominous and thundering. What is up with this, spring??

After work I did head to the gym and busted out 20 minutes of elliptical intervals before heading to the BodyCombat class which totally whipped my tush last week after more than 6 months off from any kind of cardioboxing.

I’m happy to say that I did die AS MUCH today. It’s the little things, right? I am really loving this instructor though, because he’s a total stickler for form. As a real boxer himself, he’ll get right up in your personal space and correct your arm placement or get you to kick his hands so that you’re doing things correctly, which I totally appreciate. I swear, that class always leaves me drenched though!

Now enough of fitness talk – I have a delicious recipe to share with your today!

Spicy Turkey Sausage and Leek Pasta

How is that for a long recipe name??

Even though it has a super long name, this dish is actually extremely easy to make. Which is definitely my kind of meal – something that I can throw together quickly and sit down to enjoy within less than 30 minutes.

Because let’s be real. On a weeknight, who really wants to spend over 30 minutes in the kitchen. I love cooking and all… but I also loving getting to sit on my couch and catch up on some TV shows too!

Aka, I’m really kind of a lazy bum at heart.

This recipe is simple and delicious though, and you should definitely make it immediately.

Spicy Turkey Sausage and Leek Pasta

Makes approx. 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of spicy turkey sausage (or you could use pork or chicken sausage), with casings removed
  • 2 leeks, cleaned and chopped
  • 1/4 cup of sundried tomatoes (NOT in oil)
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 1/4 cup chicken stock
  • 1 tsp chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 package pasta (I used tri-color rotini) 

    Directions:

    1. Cook pasta according to directions on package.
    2. Heat 1tsp oil in a large pan over medium-high heat. Add turkey sausage, and use a spoon to break sausage into small pieces. Cook until no longer pink, approximately 5 minutes
    3. Add leeks to sausage and cook until soft, approximately 8 minutes.
    4. Add sun dried tomatoes, white wine, broth and butter. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 5 minutes, or until most of liquid is evaporated.
    5. Add sausage and leek mixture to pasta, and top with parmesan cheese. Mix and serve.
    6. Enjoy!

     

    IMG_2739-001IMG_2740IMG_2742-001IMG_2746IMG_2747IMG_2749IMG_2750IMG_2752

    This pasta is like the perfect mix of spicy from the sausage and tangy from the sundried tomatoes and leeks. It’s a great summer pasta because despite the sausage, it’s definitely still light and easy.

    I’m not going to lie, I’m ready to make this one again!

    So tell me: What is your favorite summer pasta recipe?

    I always tend to lean towards lighter sauces like white wine, lemon or pesto during the summer. Something about them just seem brighter!

    2 Responses to “Spicy Turkey Sausage and Leek Pasta”

    1. jessiebearwhat May 9, 2013 at 9:39 am #

      Mmm, I haven’t had turkey sausage in forever!

      • MyFreckledLife May 9, 2013 at 9:51 am #

        It’s so good! I always forget it about it too until I come across a recipe on a blog or pinterest!

    Leave a Reply

