Five Favorites Friday #14

10 May

Good morning guys, and HAPPY FRIDAY!

Today is going to be a bit of an insane day for me, because I have a full day of worked followed by an evening work event, so I’m trying to prep myself for a super long and busy day.

Which means that we’re going to jump right in to a Five Favorites Friday, and make it a speedy one! I know I haven’t done one of these for awhile, but for some reason Thursday nights just seem to be crazy ones for me. I’m definitely going to try to work on that.

So without further ado, here are 5 totally random things that I’m loving:

Five Favorites Friday

Favorite Salad Topper: Buffalo Sauce

IMAG0670

I don’t know what it is, but I’m seriously addicted to buffalo sauce. It’s spicy goodness just brings me back to watching football games with greasy, fried buffalo wings. Putting in on a salad is just SLIGHTLY healthier, don’t you think? I love to pair it with ranch or feta (or both!) for some creaminess. Seriously, you should try it.

Favorite New Workout: HIIT or Cardio Intervals

IMAG0671

Maybe it’s just because I’ve been running outside a lot more, but I seriously have a total mind block when it comes to the treadmill now. I get passed mile 1.5 and I am totally done. I decide I’m tired, I’m going to fast, blah blah blah. I don’t know what it is!

Enter some cardio intervals, which I have been LOVING. Not only do they totally break up the boredom factor, but they also allow me to work on some speed work and push myself faster than normal. Makes the time go by much faster. This workout I copied from Meghan at After the Ivy League (minus a slight change by me at the end), but there are also a ton out there on Pinterest!

 

Favorite Workout Buddy: The Husband

IMAG0672

This has been the first time since college that Chris and I have both had a gym “membership” at the same place (I say that with quotes since you didn’t have to have a membership for our college gym, just a student ID). In the past few years, he’s been doing his own thing, while I’ve been in Culpeper at my old gym. Minus running together, we really never got the chance to actually be in the same gym at the same time.

Now that we’ve joined a new gym TOGETHER, I’m actually able to see his handsome face when I’m pumping iron. haha. Even though we mostly do our own workouts, sometimes it’s nice to have someone to make faces at. Or take awkward mirror pictures with. His response when I pulled out my phone for this one? “Really….???” Yup, really.

Favorite New Breakfast Experience: Overnight Oats

IMG_2811-001

Not going to lie, the whole overnight oats thing kind of freaked me out for awhile. Even though it’s all over the blog world, I just couldn’t wrap my head around cold, puddingy oatmeal.

But I finally bit the bullet and tried it… since I had some chia seeds which had been sitting in my pantry in anticipation for nearly 6 months (that’s how chicken I was to actually do it). Now, I can’t say for SURE I’m converted yet, but I’ll admit it wasn’t terrible. I think I still need to play around with the proportions a bit. Anyone have any awesome recipes or topping suggestions?

Favorite Random Dinner: Chicken Parmesan Subs

IMG_2812-001

Another truth? Lately I’ve been really, really terrible about grocery shopping and meal planning. We’ve had such busy weekends that it’s kind of just fallen by the wayside, meaning that our meals tend to be “stand in front of the fridge  and squint, and try to come up with something that actually goes together based on the random ingredients in front of me” kind of deals. It’s bad, guys. Very bad.

But there have been a few meal successes. PLUS we’ve been able to clear out our freezer a bit. But one meal success was Thursday’s dinner. We didn’t have much in our fridge, minus a wonky zucchini that was on it’s last leg. But I found some chicken, and some leftover buns, and some pasta sauce… and a plan was hatched. Chicken parm subs. Super easy, super delicious. With some sauteed zucchini on the side.

IMG_2818-001

There you have it – 5 totally and completely random things that I’ve been loving this week!

And just because I’m feeling extra spunky, here’s a bonus #6

Silver Linings Playbook. Go read it. Then go see the movie. Don’t ask questions, just do it.

Well I hope you all have a fabulous weekend!

So tell me: What have you been loving lately?

9 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #14”

  1. di @ life of di. May 10, 2013 at 9:16 am #

    I have been wanting to do some HITT workouts. I am starting to get bored with my normal cardio and I think the interval training would be a great way to beat the plateau 🙂

    As for what I’m loving lately – Justin’s Almond Butter, ETSY, Nutritional Yeast, Weight Training, New Friendships 🙂

  2. Taryn May 10, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    My boyfriend JUST suggested having chicken parm subs for dinner. Zucchini on the side sounds pretty good, too. And I completely agree about Silver Linings Playbook. I saw the movie first, but I did read the book and loved that they were different enough to make reading both 100% worth it.

  3. jessiebearwhat May 10, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    Oh man overnight oats were my first (literal) taste of the blog world. You haaaave to top them with bananas, granola, and pb or some other nut butter though. I’m convinced that’s the only way to go! You can search my blog for some different recipes for it too if you want!

  4. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake May 10, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    I always hit a roadblock on the treadmill, too! I should try something similar to the workout you have written down!

    Silver Linings Playbook is definitely on my to-read and to-see list!

    • MyFreckledLife May 13, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

      It was a great (and quick) run that definitely had me sweating!

  5. nexu7 May 12, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    Hey, I haven’t posted a reply on your blog in forever! I have kept up with your comings and goings though.
    Overnight oats are not for everyone that is for sure! If you don’t like them, try Buckwheat (aka Kasha) or Quinoa (with the quinoa, cook a batch first, let cool then scoop 1/2 cup with a little cinnamon, cocoa, mashed banana, etc with 1/2 cup milk and leave in the fridge overnight-simple and delicious!). Of course use Chia seeds or flax meal to help gel it up a bit.
    I can’t straight run on a treadmill, I get so bored and I can’t go more then 10 minutes before switching to another cardio machine lol. I figured it was just because I hate cardio so much.
    I’m glad things are going well with you and the new job!

    • MyFreckledLife May 13, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

      Hey! Thanks for the advice on the overnight oats. I definitely think I need to play around with it a bit. But I’m right there with you… I get SO bored during straight runs on the treadmill.

  6. Chelsea Eats Treats May 14, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    I chop up an apple and spoon some almond butter over top of my overnight oats and I love it! The apple gives it a nice crunch and some flavor 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife May 15, 2013 at 6:02 am #

      Mmmmm, that sounds like a good idea! I never think of putting apples in my oats for some reason.

Leave a Reply

