Cleaning and Weeding

13 May

Well, it’s Monday.

Haha. I don’t have anything happy to say about Monday, because let’s be real here. Monday’s kind of blow.

In my half asleep stupor this morning, I thought seriously hard about coming in a few hours late to work to sleep in. My darn conscience was finally able to convince myself that this wasn’t a good idea.

However, I’m happy to say that this was probably the most chill weekend I’ve had in MONTHS. It was definitely necessary, especially considering the insane weekend that I have coming up.

Friday

Friday was a super chill day at work, and included a soup and “MYOS” (Make Your Own Sandwich, of course!) lunch. I had a grilled sandwich with turkey, cheese, lettuce, tomato and mustard. Paired with some grapes and WAY too many doritos. Darn doritos get me every time. I paid for it later with a stomach ache, for sure!

IMAG0674

It was also a chill work day, because we had an after work event to attend. That’s right, we were required to participate in a bowling party!

IMAG0675

Rocking the super hot shoes. Sadly, they didn’t really help my bowling game, which is pretty terrible.

Saturday

We were up early Saturday morning to get a few errands out of the way.

First up, the farmers market! We didn’t really get too much, because we were on a mission. For flowers! We picked up these two gorgeous dahlias for our front porch. Aren’t they beauties?

IMAG0681

Next up, Lowes to pick up some veggies for our new garden. We ended up getting zucchini, 2 kinds of tomatoes (regular and cherry), jalapenos, and bell peppers.

IMAG0683

Finally we made a run to PetSmart to meet up with a foster agency. Chris and I are working on being accepted to foster dogs in the area, which we’re super excited about. I’m sure it’s going to be a challenged not to get TOO attached, but it will be equally rewarding to help puppies get adopted.

Plus it means Laney gets to make a bunch of friends!

After we dropped Laney back off at home, we headed out to meet up with Chris’ family at the Fredericksburg BBQ Jamboree, where some of his family friends were competing with their team: Baby Got Butt. Is that not the best name ever for a BBQ team?

IMAG0684

We hung out for awhile, before setting off to explore the event. Since I can’t really eat a whole lot of BBQ or pulled pork, I have to admit that the event wasn’t really my thing. But it was great to be able to support Chris’ family friends.

IMAG0686

There were also several wineries there with tastings, so after a couple of those (and almost no food) I was seriously feeling it. Since the clouds were getting ominous, we decided to call it a day and headed home, where we proceeded to make giant smoothies. Amazing.

IMAG0687

The rest of the day was spent cleaning out the spare bedroom. Seriously exciting stuff here people.

We finally called it a day around dinner time, when we cuddled up to watch Silver Linings Playbook. Chris and I both just finished listening to the book on audiobook, so we were seriously excited about the movie.

I have to admit, I was a LITTLE disappointed. I thought the book was great. And I thought the movie was great. But I think that the book and the movie were TOTALLY different. Like, almost not even the same story. It was just a very strange adaptation.

Sunday

We managed to sleep in a little on Sunday morning before getting up and getting our butts out the door for a 5 mile run. We have 2 (yes, TWO) races this weekend, so we knew we needed to get a longer run in.

Sadly our Garmin died like a mile in, so I don’t know our time, but we ran our usual 5 mile route. I feel like we ran it in a decent pace, minus the fact that the wind was NOT in our favor (always conveniently on the hilly roads. So not fair).

When we got home, Chris headed outside to mow the lawn and do some general yard work, while I got to work cleaning the inside of the house.

After about an hour, I headed outside to help Chris with our exciting weekend project: Planting a garden!

IMG_2820

IMG_2824IMG_2825

As I said, we have 5 different veggies to start out with (since this gardening thing is new to us), and I’m extremely excited for them to grow!

After cleaning up, we headed out to meet up with Chris’ family for our usual church and dinner. But not before stopping for some froyo, which was just calling our name as we drove by. Cinnamon and Cookies n’ cream topped with a variety of fruits and chocolate.

IMAG0689

Also, since it was mother’s day this past weekend, I do want to do a shout out to my Momma who got engaged this weekend! Congratulations mom!

Well there you go – my weekend. Lots of cleaning, lots of yardwork. Very much needed.

So tell me: Would you rather do yardwork or housework? Also, if you’ve seen/read Silver Linings Playbook, what did you think?

5 Responses to “Cleaning and Weeding”

  1. IHeartVegetables May 14, 2013 at 6:30 am #

    Phew that sounds like a busy weekend! That’s crazy you have two races this weekend! Good luck girl!

    I saw Silver Linings Playbook and I thought it was really good!

  2. jessiebearwhat May 14, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    Mmmmm froyo. Monday is not the best but at least you had a good weekend! 😀

    • MyFreckledLife May 15, 2013 at 5:59 am #

      I just wish they’d let us ease into Mondays a little more. Half day or nap time or something!

  3. Chelsea Eats Treats May 14, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    So jealous of your garden! One day I’ll move out of my apartment and hopefully be able to plant some veggies of my own! I felt the exact same way about Silver Linings Playbook….both were great but they were SO different! Also congrats to your mom!!

    • MyFreckledLife May 15, 2013 at 6:01 am #

      I know, this is my first time not in an apartment, and I LOVE the freedom of having a yard and a deck! And I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who feels that way about the book/movie!

Leave a Reply

