WIAW: 2x The Random Edition

15 May

It’s Wednesday, and we’re officially half way through this week!

Considering I have an INSANE weekend coming up (event at our house Friday night, race on Saturday morning, race again on Sunday morning), I’m both excited and stressed for the weekend to arrive. At least I’ve got a FEW more days to prepare, right?

Since it IS Wednesday, I’m pretty sure that you all know what that means by now. It’s time for a What I Ate Wednesday!!

Thanks to the lovely Jenn for hosting this link party. And for any of you who are not familiar with WIAW, please check out Jenn’s blog for an explanation on how WIAW is meant to celebrate food, free from judgment or comparison.

So let’s get started!

Breakfast

To be honest, nothing sounded particularly appealing this morning, so I kind of went for a mix of things. A small bowl of frosted mini wheats (aka the bottom of the bag, so mostly made up of the little scraggly bits), a fried egg on whole wheat toast and tea. While random, this sucker kept me full for HOURS!

IMG_2830

 

Lunch

Again, nothing was really calling my name this morning, which meant that lunch was equally as random. I paired a (super unphotogenic) chicken and cheese burrito with a small side salad, made of spring mix, tomatoes, feta and a bit of ranch.

IMAG0693IMAG0694

 

Snack

Around 4:00 I had a chobani flip since I knew I would be headed to the gym and would need a little extra fuel to get me through to dinner. This is hands down my favorite flips flavor. Seriously, AMAZING. If you have not tried it already, jump on that immediately.

IMAG0695

 

Dinner

Dinner was completely inspired by a post I saw on Kristin’s (Iowa Girl Eats) Friday Favorites, where she shared this recipe for Stuffed Salmon with Siracha Cream Sauce from the Boogie Blog. Since I’m kind of obsessed (aka REALLY obsessed) with sushi, especially philadelphia rolls, I knew I had to make this immediately. I followed the recipe pretty closely, and I have to say it turned out AMAZING. Really tasted like a deconstructed philadelphia roll! Paired with some brown rice and roasted broccoli. Although the salmon was definitely the star of the show.

IMG_2831

IMG_2832

Dessert

Dessert went totally unpictured (fail!), but it was a slice of angel food cake left over from this weekend with some mixed berries. Simple and delicious.

So there you have it! What I ate today!

Workout #1

I actually ended up having a double workout today, which you may start hearing more about in the near future. I’m lucky enough to have a job with a gym close by, and many of my coworkers take advantage of that during our lunch time. Today one of my coworkers had her first personal training session, and invited me along for moral support. I basically shadowed them around and cheered my coworker on when she needed it.

I have to admit, for a first workout with a trainer, it was pretty intense. She had us doing a million burpees, rowing about 1500 meters total on the rowing machine, and inchworming it across the floor. There was very little break, which I actually loved. I love trying out new workouts and new moves, and so this was right up my alley!

By the time the hour was up, I was sweating pretty hard core! We’re going to try to get into the habit of going to this gym 2-3 times a week (assuming our work schedule isn’t too crazy), so we’ll see how these 2-a-days work out!

Workout #2

I had already planned to go to my normal gym with Chris, so even though I’d already gotten my sweat on, I headed there anyway. I started with 20 minutes on the elliptical, before working on some bicep and tricep strength, which are hands down my weakest muscles groups (and the ones I like to train the least).

I was able to talk to one of the trainers about some other tricep moves to do around the gym, since I have a bit of a limitation with a wrist that wont bend all the way (thanks to an old HS injury). I’m excited to incorporate more of these moves into my workout routine!

 

Phew! This WIAW turned into a longer post than planned! Did you all stick with me? Thank!!

Have a great Wednesday!

So tell me: What did you eat today?? Have you ever done 2-a-days? How’d it work for you?

7 Responses to “WIAW: 2x The Random Edition”

  1. IHeartVegetables May 15, 2013 at 6:03 am #

    Yumm!!! I have that Flips flavor in the fridge! I Can’t wait to try it!!

    • MyFreckledLife May 15, 2013 at 6:06 am #

      Holy cow, it’s amazing. It’s seriously like eating dessert.

  2. jessielovestorun May 15, 2013 at 6:13 am #

    Woah, you do have one packed weekend ahead of you. Thank goodness your filling up on some delicious food throughout the week to get you ready for the go go go your about to encounter 🙂

  3. Caitlyn May 15, 2013 at 6:38 am #

    Whoa, busy lady!! I love that flips flavor too. And your eats all look so, so good!

  4. jessiebearwhat May 15, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    Ahhh I’ve been looking for chobani flips EVERYWHERE! They look so damn good!!

  5. Lindsay @ The Functional Foodie May 15, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    I seriously need to try some of those new chobani flavors. I feel like I’m missing out on life. Also that salmon looks like heaven. I think I’m now going to go buy some and make delicious asian recipes!

  6. Chelsea Eats Treats May 16, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    That’s awesome about your double workout! Fitness First (the gym I belong to) has a branch right near my office too so I’ve always wanted to go during lunch, but could never figure out if the shower in the locker room/go back to work after the gym still sweaty thing was for me. Can you give us a post with some details once you’ve gone a few more times? Also, I didn’t know you read Iowa Girl Eats! It’s one of my favs 🙂

Leave a Reply

