Two Races Too Many

20 May

Good Morning guys!

It’s Monday, and I’ll be honest and say that this is one of those Mondays that I wish was a holiday because I could REALLY use some extra time to sleep in and recover from my weekend. If I ever become President of the Universe, I’m pretty sure that’s going to be my first goal: Make all weekends 3 days. Who wouldn’t be happy about that?

This weekend could basically be summarized as “race weekend” or “That time we did too many races in one weekend”. We got a little overzealous in our planning. And at least I am definitely paying for it today.

But let’s back up a bit and review.

Friday

I actually don’t have any pictures from Friday afternoon, because it was a bit crazy. I ended up getting off work early thanks to some flex time I had, and spent most of the afternoon cleaning house, running errands, and generally running around like a stressed out, crazy person. And I’ll be honest – I’m not the most pleasant person when I’m really stressed out. Chris can attest to that.

The reason for my insanity was that we were hosting (and leading) a new bible study at our house. So not only did I have to worry about the house being clean and their being enough food, but I also was worrying whether people would get along, would they come back, could they find our house alright… etc. I was kind of a mess!

But luckily everything went off without a hitch and I think it was a good time. I know I enjoyed myself! Sadly I don’t have any pictures though.

By the time everyone left at 9, Chris and I basically cleaned up and passed out.

 

Saturday

We were up bright and early Saturday morning for race #1. We started by filling up on eggs with cheese and salsa and half and English muffin (with PB/greek yogurt) and tea.

IMG_2837

We then headed out on the 1 hour drive to Southern Maryland for the Warrior Dash!

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the Warrior Dash, it’s basically a 3.5 mile “run” (or hike through the woods) in the mud, with 10 obstacles of varying difficulty placed randomly throughout the course. There are balance obstacles (cargo net climb, balance beam with obstacles, swinging chains to climb), climbing obstacles (a giant wall, several pyramid obstacles to climb, etc), and several mud pits with barbed wire to go under. Basically, you get REALLY dirty.

IMG_2838IMG_2839

There were actually a TON of people there, and the staging area was pretty packed the entire time. Chris and I managed to snap a picture when we were nice and clean, just to compare.

After the race (which ended up being a lot hillier than I thought it would be, but still a ton of fun), we headed straight to the hoses to rinse off before picking up my bag (and camera) from the bag check.

IMG_2841

This is after about 10 minutes of rinsing. This picture just doesn’t do justice how muddy we were. I can’t wait for the official photos to come out. Let’s just say that Chris crossed the finish line with one muddy shoe in his hand…

After we got home, we cleaned up (and used up all the hot water in the shower because it took so long to get off all the mud!) and headed out to the Healthy Living Expo to pick up stuff for our NEXT race: The Marine Corps Historic 10K!

We originally went back and forth about doing this race, but finally decided to since it is LITERALLY in our back yard. It’s hard to pass up a race that is THAT close to your house!

IMAG0704IMAG0705

Of course the expo included the Marine Corps mascot (This is the female version, so I’m not quite sure of her name) making guacamole at the Qdoba station.

IMAG0706

Thankfully we were only running the 10K. There is no way that we could have done the full half after the Warrior Dash. Next year, though!

We spent the rest of the evening recovering and relaxing. Including some quality couch time with our new Zensah compression sleeves that we both picked up. After this weekend, I’m seriously in love with these things.

IMAG0707

 

Sunday

Sunday started out SUPER bright and early. I don’t know how some of you get up at 4:45 on a regular basis. I was dying. Chris and I headed out to the start of the 10K, which is a new race this year so it was much smaller than the half.

Thanks to some of my new gear, I felt a little like a 1980s jazzercise teacher. But hey, it’s about having fun, right?

IMAG0708IMAG0710

I’m not going to lie guys, this was a TERRIBLE race for me. It was one of those races where everything that could go wrong, DID go wrong. Around mile 1.5 I started to get super nauseous and had to stop for a minute to make sure I didn’t throw up. Around mile 2 (and the start of all the hills) my right knee started really bugging me, probably thanks to all of the mud and hills the day before. Around mile 3 it started raining. Around mile 4 I had to go to the bathroom. Mile 4 also meant the start of something called “Hospital Hill” which is basically a giant hill that goes on for a good mile.

The race sucked and there were several times where I was holding in tears. But we pushed through and even though it was about 5 minutes off of our fastest 10K time, we finished.

IMAG0711

IMAG0712IMAG0715

After getting some ice for me aching knee at the medical tent, we hung around the finish line for a few hours, cheering on people who were really struggling in the rain. We saw a few people we knew, and cheered on Chris’ mom’s boyfriend who finished his first half with a terrific time!

I always love the finish line at races, because you see so many different emotions on people’s faces. I love being able to scream and cheer for strangers, encouraging them to push it for the last .1 miles to the finish. Sometimes I love that part as much as the race.

Chris and I then proceeded to come home and crash for about 3 hours in a much needed nap. The rest of the day was spent vegging on the couch, heading to church, and the usual Sunday night dinner with the family. Nothing exciting, but definitely relaxing, which is exactly what we needed.

I hope you guys had a great weekend too! I think I learned my lesson, that two races in one weekend is just TOO many.

So tell me: What did you do this weekend?

4 Responses to “Two Races Too Many”

  1. jessiebearwhat May 20, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    Definitely sounds like you pushed yourself a little too far! I feel ya though, I tend to do that too 😛

  2. di @ life of di. May 20, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    Woah! You definitely did a lot this weekend! Be sure to relax this week if you can 🙂 Over the weekend, I worked on my teaching portfolio and spent some time in coffeehouses!!

  3. Chelsea Eats Treats May 24, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

    Wow I can’t believe you did both of those!! I would love to do a Warrior Dash (or Tough Mudder or Spartan race…since they are all pretty similar) and that 10K looked tough!! Good for you for powering through.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Run Amuck 2013 | My Freckled Life - June 11, 2013

    […] I will admit, I actually thought that this one was WAY muddier than the Warrior Dash we did in April. While the Warrior Dash had more difficult obstacles, their obstacles were more […]

Leave a Reply

