Granola Priorities

21 May

Well, it’s Tuesday. And you all know how I feel about Tuesdays.

They suck.

Like, worse than Mondays. They are like Monday’s annoying little brother.

So I’m just going to try to annoy the fact that it’s Tuesday, and focus on the positives from yesterday. Yay positivity! Go team!

Since we had such a crazy weekend with our two races, Chris and I both decided to take the day off from the gym. Sometimes, you just need a little bit of a break. Considering how much my knee was still bugging me, I figured this would also be the best bet to make sure that it heals properly. Luckily, I dont think it’s anything more than a minor strain.

So instead of heading to the gym after work, I made a major grocery haul instead, with trips to both Giant and Aldi.

IMG_2846

 

(From left to right – ish) Shrimp, Chewable B12 vitamins, tomatoes, spinach, mushrooms, blackberries, whole wheat potato bread, ice cream, chewy calcium, strawberry preserves, juice, cornbread, frozen peas & carrots, mexican shredded cheese, OJ, 3 kinds of natural creamer, pineapple, lots of Chobani (we had like 10 more than this), enchilada sauce, and black beans.

It’s a little bit random, but for the most part fairly typical for us. Lots of fruits and veggies. And some ice cream. Because that’s obviously a priority.

Speaking of priorities (eh, you like that transition?), now that the weather is a lot warmer in the mornings, I’ve begun to have a serious craving for greek yogurt bowls first thing. Which of course, need to be topped with granola. Let’s be real here.

So I decided to make some. I’m going to be honest here – for some reason I’ve always been scared of making granola. I think I felt like it was this weird hybrid cousin of baking and cooking, in this weird limbo world I am not familiar with. I thought for sure that I’d manage to screw it up.

But I decided to suck it up and try anyway. Because I had all the ingredients, so what did I have to lose?

I’ll have to admit that this recipe isn’t perfect, which is why I’m not actually sharing it as a “recipe”. Instead, it’s more of a guideline or and idea for you all to play with too. I used the Maple Almond Granola from Iowa Girl Eats as inspiration, and changed it up based on what I had on hand.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2848

 

I started out by mixing 3 cups old fashioned oats, 1 cup chopped pecans, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 cup of flax seeds, and 1/2 tsp of salt.

 

 

IMG_2852

 

Then I melted 1/4 cup of coconut butter, 6 tbsp of maple syrup, 2 tbsp honey, and 1 tsp vanilla extract over low heat until the coconut butter was fully liquified.

 

IMG_2854

 

I then mixed the wet ingredients in with the dry, and made sure that everything was covered. I then spread it in on a parchment paper-covered cookie sheet. I baked it at 300 degrees for 30 minutes, mixing halfway through.

 

IMG_2870Make sure you let it cool fully, otherwise the oats wont be as crunchy.

As I said, this recipe is certainly not perfected. But for my first try at ever making granola, I consider it a success! I’d love to hear your ideas on what to include in granola!

So tell me: What kinds of things do you like in your granola? Any great granola recipes out there?

2 Responses to “Granola Priorities”

  1. jessiebearwhat May 21, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    JUST bought oats and maple syrup.. how perfect is that?? And I’m so glad someone else feels the same about Tuesdays as I do..

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats May 24, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

    Haha this is funny timing, I almost made granola bars last weekend for the exact same reason- “I have all the stuff!” – but in the end I skipped it. Maybe I’ll try granola instead?

Leave a Reply

