WIAW: Summer Favorites Edition

22 May

Hooray, we made it to Wednesday!

I always like Wednesday, because you know that it’s basically all downhill to the weekend from here. Which is especially true this week since it’s a holiday weekend!

Wednesday also means that we survived Tuesday, which you all know is probably my least favorite day of the week.

The only redeeming thing about Tuesday is that I get to take pictures of ALL my eats for What I Ate Wednesday!

What is WIAW, you ask? Well, it’s this phenomena that has swept the blog world. Creator Jenn from Peas and Crayons explains that it is a way for us to celebrate and share food instead of comparing or judging. Awesome, right?

So let’s get to it.

Breakfast

Breakfast started with my favorite summer morning wake up: a yogurt bowl! I mixed raspberry chobani with blackberries, and topped it with some of my homemade granola. Mmmmm, delicious. Paired with a cup of tea.

IMG_2875

By the time I got to work an hour and a half later, I caved and made myself some coffee. Sometimes it’s just a coffee kind of day. Especially on Tuesdays.

IMAG0716

 

Lunch

Apparently I’m a creature of habit, because this is very similar to the lunch I had last week. I guess I have a go to for those mornings where I’m like “Oh crap, I’m running late and don’t even have time to make a PB&J. Quick, grab a burrito!” So burrito it was! I paired the chicken, cheese and bean burrito with an apple and some pears that I had left over from the race this weekend.

IMAG0717

 

Snack

I completed one workout during the day, but as I was getting to the end of the work day, I knew I had another workout planned and needed a little extra something to keep me going. So I grabbed another favorite summer snack: hummus and celery!

IMAG0718

 

Dinner

We’ve been trying to incorporate more seafood into our diet (since we tend to eat a lot of chicken and turkey around here), so I challenged myself to come up with some involving shrimp this week. Thanks to Pinterest, I found this recipe for a shrimp penne rosa. Hey, I love me some Penne Rosa from Noodles and Co, so I figured I’d give it a try. I followed the recipe almost exactly, and it came out quite delicious! Not exactly like the real thing, but a good (healthier) substitute. 

IMG_2879IMG_2881

 

Dessert

Dessert involved some mint chocolate chip ice cream that went unpictured because apparently I have no self-restraint when it comes to ice cream and just gobble it up. But I can promise you, it was delicious. It was devoured while watching gymnastics on TV. Basically, my version of a perfect evening.

 

Workout #1

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m lucky in that a lot of my co-workers go to a local gym during their lunch hour, and I have been able to start going 2 days a week as well. I’m still getting a hang of the whole two-a-day thing in terms of figuring out WHAT to do without burning out my muscles, but I promise there will be a post coming soon about that.

Today I did 30 minutes of elliptical intervals (since my knee is still a little sore, I decided to keep it to only ellipticals/arc trainers this week), followed by 25 minutes of arms and shoulders. I’ve been working out with one of my coworkers who is just getting back into working out, so we’ve still be trying to figure out each others style. But at least we’re able to show each other new moves! She showed me some great ones with a resistance band yesterday.

Workout #2

After work I headed to my normal gym. I started with another 30 minutes of elliptical intervals (boring, I know, but it got the job done), followed by about 20 minutes of abs. Nothing too mind blowing.

Well there you have it people – What I Ate on (Tuesday) and my workout schedule!

So tell me: What did you eat today?

8 Responses to “WIAW: Summer Favorites Edition”

  1. IHeartVegetables May 22, 2013 at 6:29 am #

    That lunch sounds good, even if it’s quick and easy! I love me some burritos 😉

  2. Caitlyn May 22, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    this all looks so good! i tried the elliptical for first time today. holy cow it was weird. i couldn’t get used to the motion and kept thinking i was doing it wrong, ha.

  3. di @ life of di. May 22, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    Your lunch looks good! I have been wanting to mix my lunch up lately and a burrito would be a great choice. I have been eating a salad and sweet potato almost everyday for MONTHS. I am a creature of habit but I think it’s time to change things up 🙂

  4. Lindsay @ The Functional Foodie May 22, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    I’ve been eating so much hummus lately. It is my go to snack. Jewish problems right there. We like live off hummus.

  5. livliveslife May 22, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

    I definitely think I’m a creature of habit, too…I often repeat meals! That dinner looks delicious!

  6. genkikitty May 23, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

    Oh hummus has been a favorite of mine lately also – apparently Sabra is in Richmond, VA. (Who knew?!) Your food looks tasty (even if I can’t eat it, ha-ha) Thanks for sharing your delicious looking meals today.

  7. Chelsea Eats Treats May 28, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    Yummm that penne rosa looks delicious. I wish Fabio wasn’t allergic to shrimp!!

    • MyFreckledLife May 30, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

      Oh no! I’m sure you could probably do it with some sort of pan-fried chicken or something on top and it would be just as good!

Leave a Reply

