Currently

28 May

Good Morning and happy… Tuesday? Holiday weekends always throw me off! Maybe it’s just me, but I always feel like after a holiday weekend, I spend the entire week trying to remember what day it is.

Not that I’m complaining though. I wish every weekend was a three-day weekend! So much more gets accomplished!

Anyway, Memorial day was actually pretty low key around the Freckled household. After several early weekend mornings in a row (yuck), it was definitely on my priority list to sleep in, and sleep in I did.

Chris and I then got to work on some additional garden stuff (pictures coming soon, once the weather gets less dreary and the plants perk back up from transition shock!), before I spent my afternoon making a massive grocery run. My favorite thing about summer is definitely all of the fresh produce, but MAN does it get heavy to carry! (#firstworldproblems)

We did have some exciting plans for the evening though. Or, exciting to us at least. Because we are super band nerds. The Rappahannock POPS orchestra, a local orchestra in our area, was holding their annual Memorial Day outdoor concert, so we brought our picnic blanket and enjoyed some festive music. See, I told you we’re band dorks!

The rest of the evening was spent eating Mexican, hanging some shelves in our basement, and watching Game of Thrones. Super exciting, right?

Since my Memorial Day was not so exciting though, I thought I’d share one of the fun surveys I’ve seen going around the blog world. I’m not usually a survey person (they give me 7th grade flashbacks) but I thought this one was lighthearted and interesting.

So get out your gel pens (<—anyone remember those??) and let’s go!

Current Book(s): I actually JUST finished an awesome book, so I’m going to give you that one instead of the book I’m about to start (The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks). I just finished reading listening to Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (And other concerns).

Holy cow guys, this is HILARIOUS. Part autobiography, part random comedy sketches, I seriously was laughing out loud in my car while listening. Plus, if you’re into audiobooks, it’s narrated by Mindy, which is even better. Go read it, ASAP.

Current Music: For as much of a band nerd that I am, I’m actually usually more of a radio person. I have a TERRIBLE memory for song titles and artists (although I can usually bust out the lyrics pretty well). But if I had to pick ONE song that has been stuck in my head, I’m going to have to say Cruise by Florida-Georgia Line. Addicting.

Current Guilty Pleasure: ICE CREAM! Once warm weather hits, I kind of become a total ice cream/froyo/italian ice junkie. In fact, if you can’t find me, I’m probably hiding in a corner talking lovingly to my bowl of ice cream.

Current Nail Color: Last fall I was a neutrals girl for sure. But I’m starting to branch out this spring/summer, and I have really been loving pink. Which is weird for me, because I’m not usually a really pink person. Example: Essie’s Punchy Pink

Current Drink: I know this sounds super lame, but I’m going to have to go with water. I’ve been really trying to up my water intake in the last few weeks and have been trying to reach a minimum of 48oz a day. Which doesn’t seem like a lot, but it is definitely way more than my usual 16oz.

Current Food: Anything grilled. I have to admit, that’s probably one of my favorite parts of summer – being able to grill and eat out on the deck. And let’s be real here, you can basically grill anything. I’m so excited to try some new burger recipes and play with our new grill!

Current Favorite Show: If you’ve been reading MFL the last few weeks, this probably is no surprise.

Yup, it’s official. I’m hooked. I know I’m way late to this party, but I’m just going to pretend that I’m that fashionable person who totally owns their lateness. Yea, what of it?

Current Wish List: This one was hard… but I’m going to have to say some new, cute gym clothes. I have to admit, I have this bad habit of working out in old yoga pants and cotton t-shirts. They are just so handy! And I hate doing laundry…

Current Needs: New headphones. Guys, I’m seriously a headphones killer. I don’t know what it is, but mine always seem to rip/break/bend/fall apart. Even nice quality ones! It’s so frustrating. My current pair currently only plays out of one ear, and is literally hanging by a small wire thread before it breaks totally.

Current Indulgence: Hmmm… this one was hard. But I’m probably going to have to go with the cocoa butter body shop lotion that I just “splurged” on yesterday (a little less of a splurge thanks to my 20% off coupon). Seriously smells amazing.

Current Blessing: A new small group that Chris and I started which really seems to be growing. I’m so excited to be able to meet more young people in our area and form some new friendships!

Current Outfit: Gym clothes. Aforementioned old yoga pants and cotton tshirt. Super exciting.

Current Excitement:  We officially have another half on our agenda! I mean, it’s the first ever half in Blacksburg. How could we not?

 

So tell me: What is something that you’re currently reading, watching or excited about?

9 Responses to “Currently”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake May 28, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    Ah, I was going to do this survey tonight, but then I got too lazy/exhausted… maybe tomorrow? I’m reading Mindy Kaling’s book too!

  2. jessiebearwhat May 28, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    Oooooooh my god game of thrones is so good.

  3. genkikitty May 29, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    Oh we were thinking of going to that concert (we’re proud band geeks too) but ended up not wanting to drive all the way there from the countryside. We’re a sad bunch. haha Glad you enjoyed your long weekend.

  4. Chelsea Eats Treats May 30, 2013 at 11:13 am #

    Loooove Game of Thrones! Weirdly, I watched it from Season 1 and felt like a total weirdo because no one else knew what it was. It’s so good!!

    • MyFreckledLife May 30, 2013 at 11:49 am #

      Haha it is so good!! We’re just about finished with season 1, even though we’re so late to the party. Is it true that this is going to be the last season?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Currently… | For The Sake of Cake - May 29, 2013

    […] seen this survey pop up on a few blogs lately (most recently Tina’s and Stephanie’s). I’m not usually a big survey person, but I thought this one was kind of fun, so here we […]

Leave a Reply

