Wedding, Part 5: The Candids

30 May

So, it might be almost 7 months after my wedding, but we’re finally finishing up all of the wedding recaps! While they are really fun to do, they can also be totally overwhelming. There are so many pictures to go through!!

For today’s final recap, I thought I’d have some fun with in and show you all some of the fun, candid pictures that were captured during our special day. I have to admit, these are some of my favorite pictures. Because while your portraits and formal pictures and the ones that get framed, the candid pictures are the ones that REALLY tell the story of your wedding.

Also, if you’re interested in checking out any of the other recaps, you can read more about Part 1: Getting Ready, Part 2: Portraits and First Look, Part 3: The Ceremony, and Part 4: The Reception

So without further ado, here are some of my favorite candid pictures:

 

baumann-52

When asked to hold my bouquet, this is what he came up with…

baumann-134

There ended up being at least a 20 pictures of me laughing throughout the day. I was just so full of excitement and nervous energy, I couldn’t stop giggling!

baumann-396baumann-400

So we entered our reception to “Enter Sandman” by Metallica (and Hokies out there will understand that one) and Chris got so excited and pulled me into the room that I seriously like slip across the floor on my dress. It was almost a total wipeout!

baumann-443

baumann-449

See, I hadn’t really eaten at all in almost 48 hours. Between being totally stressed and being super busy trying to finish everything (I’m a bit of a perfectionist), I kind of just forgot. So then at the reception, I had about 3 sips of an adult beverage… and loosened up a bit.

baumann-540baumann-541

Also, about halfway through the reception, the horse head made it’s appearance. It’s kind of a joke with Chris’ family that it always shows up during important events (i.e. Christmas morning) for pictures. It then proceeded to make its rounds at the reception.

baumann-545baumann-548baumann-552

Then there was a massive Hokie Pokie for all the Hokies (and small children) attending. Complete with tuba moves, since most of us were band kids. Go big or go home, right?

baumann-613baumann-616baumann-618

And then there were some conga lines…

baumann-626

…and some Cotton Eyed Joe…

baumann-635

…and some Gangnam Style.

baumann-648baumann-638baumann-639baumann-641

Chris’ garter toss ended up pretty epic. It started by putting the garter around a football…

baumann-643baumann-644

…and ended with people nearly taking out a table. Apparently some guys REALLY wanted to be the next to marry? Is that how the tradition goes for guys too?

baumann-645

And of course, the wedding had to end with some Wobble. You shake it, white boys!

baumann-657

There you have it! There were probably at least 100 others that I could have put in here as well – there were so many fun pictures of our day and I absolutely love looking through all of them and remember what a great time we had with our friends. While planning the wedding was super stressful and I hope I never have to do it again, in the end it was 100% worth it.

So tell me: Were there any funny moments that happened at your wedding or a wedding you’ve been to?

Me nearly biting it during our entrance into the reception definitely was one of those moments for me. Or the guys nearly taking out an entire table trying to go for the garter toss. One of Chris’ little cousins also totally busted out the worm in the middle of the dance floor, which had everyone cheering!

6 Responses to “Wedding, Part 5: The Candids”

  1. Caitlyn May 30, 2013 at 9:47 am #

    hahah the dancing pictures are always classic. looks like you and guests had a great time!

    • MyFreckledLife May 30, 2013 at 10:43 am #

      Haha, we definitely did. There were a ton more that were way more awkward than these, but I figured I’d spare my friends pictures of their dancing faces all over the internet!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats May 30, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

    You look so beautiful in these pictures!!! And I think you can totally frame the candid pictures…they are the best kind!! I love all the ones where you are laughing 🙂

    • MyFreckledLife May 30, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

      Haha, thanks!! I’m pretty sure Chris wants one of him dancing in the horse head framed.

  3. IHeartVegetables May 31, 2013 at 9:00 am #

    You guys are SO CUTE!!!! ahhh!!! I love these!

Leave a Reply

