WIAW: Shape Up Edition

5 Jun

Hooray, it’s Wednesday!

AKA, we survived Tuesday! Which in my my opinion can sometimes be a feat of its own!

Yesterday was actually a pretty great day, for a Tuesday (and you all know how I feel about Tuesdays). Maybe it was just because I was trying to be positive yesterday, but I was definitely in a great mood all day. The gorgeous weather certainly didn’t hurt either!

But today is Wednesday, and I’m pretty sure that you all know what that means by now! It’s time for a What I Ate Wednesday!

For those of you who aren’t familiar with this blog phenomena created by Jenn, please check out her blog for more details! WIAW is a great way for bloggers and readers alike to share their recent eats, without judgment and comparison.

This month Jenn challenged us to be sensible in our snacking. While I can’t say that I really ate TOO many snacks today, I tried to be more aware about portion control and feeling full. And I’d say I did a pretty decent job today!

Without further ado, let’s get ready to rumble! (<—no idea where that just came from…)

Breakfast

We were running a little low on breakfast supplies in our house. No fruit, almost no cereal, no yogurt, almost no granola… yea, it was a sad state of affairs. So I ended up just eating a bowl of honey nut cheerios. So not exciting. And drinking my normal cup of tea, of course. You gotta have the caffeine!

IMG_2980

 

Coffee

It was one of those mornings that definitely required a second round of caffeine (heck, who am I kidding – most mornings need a round 2 recently!), so around 8:30 I made myself a cup of coffee at work.

IMAG0716

 

Lunch + Snack

Lunch basically just consisted of leftovers of the Chicken and Sweet Potatoes in Peanut Sauce from Sunday night. I brought a yogurt to go with it, but ended up be full with just the chicken, so I saved the yogurt for later. I ended up eating it around 4pm for an afternoon snack.

IMAG0773

 

Dinner

While prepping dinner, I ended up snacking on some pita chips and hummus. My stomach was not so happy that we were having an 8:30pm dinner…

We had some coconut milk left over from the Chicken and Sweet Potatoes, so I knew it needed to get used up before it went bad (I HATE when I have to throw stuff out!), so I tried to figure out a way to use it. I ended up making this green curry chicken, and served it over brown rice. Recipe coming soon on this guy!

IMG_3001

 

Dessert

Later in the evening I ended up having a small bowl of cookies and cream ice cream. Sometimes, you just have to indulge a little. But within moderation, of course!

 

Workout #1

As per usual, my coworker and I headed to the gym around lunch time (I’m lucky in that there is a gym very close to my office that many people use during lunch). Since it was so gorgeous we decided to walk there (probably around 1/2 mile?), so we cut our workout a little short. I did 20 minutes of intervals on the elliptical, and 20 minutes of abs, before walking back.

Workout #2

After work I headed to my normal gym, and completed 30 minute intervals on the elliptical, followed by Workout 1 from the Fitnessista’s Summer Shape Up plan!

I decided to try something different, and although I’m not following it exactly, I thought it would be fun to incorporate some of her workouts as well. You should definitely check it out!! Because boy am I feeling all of those weighted squats and pushups today!

 

Well there you have it – everything I ate on Tuesday!

So tell me: What did you eat today? Are you doing any summer workout plans?

4 Responses to “WIAW: Shape Up Edition”

  1. di @ life of di. June 6, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

    I love Honey Nut Cheerios 🙂 Still one of my very favorite cereals!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats June 10, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

    I love the Fitnessista but I haven’t read her blog in a while (I just follow wayyyyy too many lol). I’ll have to pop over there and check out that workout plan!!

    • MyFreckledLife June 10, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

      Haha, I definitely understand that. I tend to get WAY behind on blog reading/commenting sometimes (as seen by the fact that it took me like 2 weeks to comment on your half recap!)

Leave a Reply

