Nerd Alert!

10 Jun

I’m BAAAACK!!

My super amazing, spectacular, totally awesome husband completely took apart my computer this weekend (like down to the green motherboard) and replaced the broken part that was causing my computer to not only refuse to charge, but was making it kill chargers. And now I’m up and running again!!

I have to admit, it was a little strange to go several days without a computer! We get so used to technology that it’s easy to get completely reliant on it for everything. So it was nice to step away for a few days and regroup.

Now that’s not to say that I unplugged entirely, because I do still have a kindle and a smartphone, but still… baby steps people!

ANYWAY, for the most part this weekend was actually very chill and I don’t really have too much to share with you all in terms of a recap. But let’s review anyway, shall we?

Friday

Chris came up to meet me after work on Friday to pick up our race packets for the Run Amuck that is run by the Marine Corps Marathon crew. Essentially it’s similar to the Warrior Dash or the Spartan Race – 3 miles of obstacles and mud. And awesomeness.

(source)

While waiting, I did some window shopping at some nearby stores and ran into this beauty.

IMAG0785

Seriously almost barfed when I smelled it. Trying a little too hard, Yankee Candle??

After picking up our packets, we took Roscoe to meet some potential new parents! They wanted to see how he would do with their dog and cats, so we spent some time letting them meet him and sniff around. Maybe he’ll have a new home soon!

By the time we go home, it was after 8pm and we were feeling pizza and a movie. Sometimes you just have to go old school. So we ordered pizza from a new-to-us pizzeria (note: not very good pizza… bummer), and watched Thor. Because Chris wants me to watch all of the Superhero movies before I can watch the Avengers. Yes, we are nerds.

Saturday

We were up SUPER bright and early for our 8am start time at the Run Amuck. Sadly I did not bring my camera with me (I wasn’t about to risk getting it muddy!) and the official pictures aren’t out yet, but I promise to share them with you as soon as I get them!

In the meantime…

(Source)

(Source)

I think you get the idea…

Upon returning home and spending a good 45 minutes in the shower trying to get mud out of my ear drum, Chris and I both proceeded to take a “15 minute nap”.

…1.5 hours later…

Whoops! We puttered around a little bit and watched some TV before heading over to his mom’s boyfriend’s house for a good old fashioned shrimp BBQ and Kan Jam extravaganza.

IMAG0786

 

Sunday

Thankfully we were able to sleep in on Sunday, and when I finally got up around 10:15, enjoyed my frosted mini wheats (seriously,

obsessed… it’s a problem) and coffee while catching up on some blog reading.

IMAG0787

After spending the morning cleaning, Chris and I headed to the movie theaters to see the new Star Trek movie. Yes, we really are nerds – I warned you!! The movie was AWESOME and now I really want to go back and watch some of the old school Star Trek stuff. Nerd.

We then headed out for some epic grocery shopping, which was very much needed around our house. I even tried my hand and some Sunday food prepping once we got back, and packed up 3 salads, some tuna salad, and some veggie snack packs for this week. Not too shabby, if I do say so myself!

IMG_3017

The rest of the evening was spent doing the usual –  heading to church at 6pm and then dinner with Chris’ fam. Our usual Sunday evening routine.

Then we came home and Chris fixed my computer!! Yay for computer nerds!!

Well there you have it – my super non-exciting, nerdy weekend!

 

So tell me: What did you do this weekend?

 

 

5 Responses to “Nerd Alert!”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake June 10, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

    I NEED to get better at Sunday meal prep!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats June 11, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    I love Kan Jam! So much fun. Looks like a good BBQ too. That’s awesome that Chris was able to fix your computer- that’s totally something my dad would know how to do. How do boys learn these things?!?

    • MyFreckledLife June 11, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      I have no idea – but that’s why we keep them around, right?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Run Amuck 2013 | My Freckled Life - June 11, 2013

    […] I mentioned in yesterday’s recap post – the exciting part of my weekend definitely revolved around running the Run Amuck race, […]

Leave a Reply

