Run Amuck 2013

11 Jun

As I mentioned in yesterday’s recap post – the exciting part of my weekend definitely revolved around running the Run Amuck race, sponsored by the Marine Corps Marathon.

image

Essentially, the Run Amuck is a mix of your “typical” mud races like the Warrior Dash or the Spartan Race where there are a mix of physical-based obstacles (walls to climb over, etc) and mud-based obstacles (giant pile of mud to crawl through), paired with common military obstacles or PT skills.

image

For example, there were obstacles such as climbing over walls, crawling through a mud pit, climbing backwards down a large hill with the help of a rope, and a “spiders web”.

image

However there were also some military obstacles, like flutter kicks, jumping jacks, pushups, carrying ammo cans, army crawling through the mud, and running up the stairs of the Marine Corps Quantico stadium.

image

To be honest though, the hardest part of the whole thing was the HILLS! The course was approximately 3.5 miles, but a good chunk of it was over rolling hills. Now, these hills would have been difficult on their own. But add in the fact that it had been raining the whole previous day, and these hills basically turned into giant mud slides.

We’re talking sometimes you’d take 3 steps forward just to slide 2 steps back!

image

Sometimes it could seriously take you like 5 minutes just to get up a hill! Assuming you didn’t slip and slide halfway down and have to start over.

In fact, there was one hill that was so steep and muddy going downhill, that most people ended up sliding on their butts! Which was fine and dandy for me, until a big Marine came sliding down after me and slammed right into me, pushing us both rapidly down the hill.

The Marines running the race actually ended up detouring people a little around this hill by the end (we heard) because people were getting hurt as they slid down the hill because it was still full of rocks! We saw people with ripped shorts, and even I got a nice scrape on my tush from a big rock that I slid over.

image

Overall, I had a ton of fun at this race. Chris and I completed it with his family, which made it even more fun.

Although I will admit, I actually thought that this one was WAY muddier than the Warrior Dash we did in April. While the Warrior Dash had more difficult obstacles, their obstacles were more geared towards strength, balance and agility. The Run Amuck race was all about getting dirty and doing some marine drills while doing it. 

image

This is definitely a race that I would do again! Sadly, I think it is something that is only done at Quantico, since that is where the Marine Corps Marathon Headquarters is based. However, if you live in this area of Virginia, I would definitely recommend it! It is very well run (it’s the Marines, come on!), and it is definitely an experience!

So tell me: Have you ever done a mud run? If so, did you feel it was more mud based or more obstacles based? If you haven’t, would you ever consider doing one?

* All credit for photos goes to MarathonFoto.com.

4 Responses to “Run Amuck 2013”

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats June 11, 2013 at 11:58 am #

    This looks so awesome!! I really want to do one of these races.

    • MyFreckledLife June 11, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      Come do the Tribal Quest in July in Fredericksburg! If not, I know that these kinds of races are all around during the summer!

  2. IHeartVegetables June 11, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

    I’ve never done one but you look so cute! My boyfriend did the tough mudder and that sounded insane!

    • MyFreckledLife June 11, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

      That is Chris’ goal someday… but I’m not sure that I can handle that! The Tribal Quest we’re doing in July is 6 miles, I think? But the 10-12 miles seems a little insane! And thanks!!

Leave a Reply

