Five Favorites Friday #16

14 Jun

Good morning guys!

It’s FRIDAY!!! Thank goodness! This week has been one of those weeks that just drags. On. Forever. I’m so happy that it’s over and we can finally enjoy the weekend!

I’m happy to say that I have some exciting things planned this weekend, including a hike, some farmers market hopping, a performance at church, AND a blog dinner with some other VA bloggers! So pumped!

But since it’s Friday and I’m sure everyone is raring to get to the weekend, let’s just right into our Five Favorites Friday!

(For those not familiar with Five Favorites Friday, it’s where I talk about 5 totally random, and often ridiculous, things that I’ve been loving this week).

1. Favorite Way to Eat Leftovers: Clean Out the Fridge meal!

Our fridge was getting pretty packed with leftovers (Ok, there seriously wasn’t even a place for our yogurt anymore…), so Chris and I decided to just have a giant leftovers feast. You know, the kind where you end up with this total hodge podge of small portions of random and unrelated leftovers.

Yup, that kind.

IMG_3028

I ended up with a GIGANTIC taco-ish salad, complete with black beans, rice, tomatoes with green chilis, greek yogurt, the last of the tortilla chips (added after this photo was taken), and some salsa. Yup, random. But it worked. Even better – by the time I’d finished adding everything I had enough for 2 meals. Leftover win!

2. Favorite New Workout Inspiration: Fitnessista’s Summer Shape Up

I’ve mentioned this a few times in the past week, but I’ve been loosely following the Fitnessista’s Summer Shape Up Plan (I use loosely, because I’m really just using the workouts and incorporating them into my usual cardio).

I’ve really loved them so far because she does a great job of bringing in some totally new to me moves and combos (like lunges straight into 1-legged rows? Yes ma’am!) Plus I love that they are short and to the point, yet leave my muscles screaming afterwards. I’ve been incorporating them into my working during lunch and loving it!

3. Favorite Commuting/Running Partner: Audiobooks!

Guys, I’ve seriously gotten obsessed with audiobooks lately. You see, I love to read but have had a very hard time finding the time in the past year or so. I read like 3 books on my honeymoon and remembered why I loved reading so much, and I vowed to try and read more. But alas, time got the best of me.

Enter: Audiobooks! These fancy little things that you can check out right from the library’s website and listen to on your commute, during your run, when you’re trying to tune out mr. grunty on the weight machines. They are awesome! Plus it’s a great was to get your “reading” in when you’re low on time to just sit and crack a book.

In the last month I’ve listed to: The Lucky One, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, and I’m currently listening to Game of Thrones book 1.

4. Favorite Summer Breakfast: Yogurt Bowls!

(First of all, almost just typed “bowels”. Yuck). Yogurt bowls seriously used to be a staple when I was in grad school and when I lived on my own. However, for whatever reason, in the past few months my warm weather go to has been cereal and fruit.

But no longer, my friends! The glorious yogurt bowl has returned!

IMG_3018

My yogurt bowls usually consist of chobani, frozen mixed fruit, and granola. Then you just mix it all together until it’s a giant mess and enjoy!

5. Favorite Summer TV Show: So You Think You Can  Dance

Honestly, I’m not usually super in to a lot of the summer shows. Every once and a while there will be a good one that comes on (in my opinion), but I usually spend the summers catching up on TV shows I’m behind on and watching old shows on Netflix.

There is one exception this summer.

(source)

I’m so excited guys! I may dance like the most awkward, nerdy white girl myself – but I LOVE watching other people dance. I’m always so in awe of the way they can move their bodies and express emotion through their movement.

Plus I think Nigel and Mary (and most of the time the guest judges) are hilarious!

 

There you have it – 5 totally random things that I’m loving this week.

So tell me: What are you guys loving?

7 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday #16”

  1. jessiebearwhat June 14, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    Oh man, I LOVE Game of Thrones. Do you watch the show?

    • MyFreckledLife June 14, 2013 at 9:20 am #

      Yes, but I only just finished season 1. I’m WAY behind!! We’re hoping to catch up on all of them this summer though so that we are ready when the next season starts.

  2. Ashley June 14, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    You literally just reminded me how much I used to love yogurt bowls. I may need to start doing that again in college it was one of my faves!

    • MyFreckledLife June 14, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

      They are so simple and SO refreshing in the summer! Love ’em!

  3. Little Miss Fit June 15, 2013 at 5:23 am #

    Ahh I am SOO addicted to So You Think You Can Dance! I am right there with you in that I have absolutely NO talent with dancing but I admire and just LOVE all the dancers! So impressive!!

    • MyFreckledLife June 16, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

      It is seriously SO addicting! In my head I can TOTALLY dance like that… if only my body would cooperate.

  4. di @ life of di. June 18, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    I love audiobooks too. I just finished Scream-free Parenting on audiobook and am about to start Bringing Up Bebe. Marty and I took several audiobooks on our cross country honeymoon trip last summer and it was a great way to 1) pass the time 2) create discussion 3) learn 4) multitask 🙂

Leave a Reply

