Summer Vegetable Lasagna

18 Jun

So if you’re reading this post from my website (as opposed to a blog reader), you might notice something different…

That’s right, I have an entire new blog design!!!

Header2c

This was a LONG time coming, guys. In fact, I think I promised it to you in like February. Yea, it’s bad. It just ended up taking 1000x longer than I ever thought it would, and I ran into a whole lot of road blocks along the way.

In fact, here is a SUPER shoutout to my husband, the amazing computer engineer, who basically ended up doing a good chunk of the finalizing stuff for me yesterday because the computer stuff was WAY over my head!

I’m sure there are going to be a few kinks and issues to deal with in the next few days, so please bear with me as I get everything 100% completed!!

 

Summer Vegetable Lasagna

Since my focus was on getting the ole blog fixed up yesterday, I don’t really have too many exciting things to tell you about my day. Except about what I ate for dinner.

I got the inspiration for a summer veggie lasagna from Iowa Girl Eats and her Famer’s Market Lasagna. Except I wanted to tie in this bad boy that we purchased (kind of on a whim) from the farmers market this week: fresh goat milk ricotta.

IMG_1580

Guys, this stuff is dreamy. It’s got the creamy consistency of ricotta with a nice goat cheese kind of flavor. Heaven.

The lasagna recipe itself is pretty basic, but I loved incorporating some of the fresh veggies we also picked up at the farmers market this week. You could really put in any of your favorite summer veggies (or change it up for fall) and make it your own. Chris also suggested adding in some spicy turkey sausage for an extra kick as well.

IMG_3041b

Summer Vegetable Lasagna

Adapted from Farmers Market Vegetable Lasagna via Iowa Girl Eats

Makes 6-8 servings

Ingredients:

  • 10oz lasagna noodles (approximately 12 noodles)
  • 2 large shallots, chopped (or 1 small sweet onion, chopped)
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1-2 medium zucchini, chopped
  • 1-2 medium yellow summer squash, chopped
  • 24oz favorite pasta sauce
  • 24oz ricotta cheese (I used a mix of goat milk and regular)
  • 1/2 cup packed fresh basil, chopped
  • shredded mozzarella cheese
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper

Directions:

  1. Add lasagna noodles to a large pot of salted, boiling water. Cook until al dente then drain and set aside. Spray with olive oil if you need to stack them.
  2. Heat olive oil in a very large skillet over medium heat. Add shallots and saute until translucent, approx. 3-4 minutes, then add garlic and saute for 30 seconds.
  3. Add zucchini and squash, season with salt and pepper, and saute until just slightly starting to turn translucent, approx. 4-5 minutes. Add pasta sauce and turn heat down to medium/medium-low, then simmer until zucchini and squash are tender, 5-7 minutes.
  4. In a large bowl combine drained ricotta cheese and chopped basil then set aside.
  5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees then spray a 9×13″ pan with non-stick spray. Spread a small amount of the vegetable/sauce mixture into the bottom then layer in 3 cooked lasagna noodles followed by 1/3 of the ricotta cheese mixture and 1/3 of the remaining vegetable mixture. Repeat layers 2 more times.
  6. Sprinkle shredded mozzarella on top then cover pan with foil and bake for 20 minutes. Remove foil then bake for an additional 15-20 minutes, or until golden brown and bubbly.
  7. Enjoy!

IMG_1584IMG_1586IMG_1589IMG_1594IMG_1596

IMG_3032IMG_3038

 

I actually made this ahead of time on Sunday afternoon and kept in in the fridge. It was super easy to grab and drop in the oven on a weeknight. I definitely devoured a nice big slice after getting home from my favorite butt-kicking Cardio, Strength and Intervals class that had me sweating like a beast.

Enjoy!

So tell me: What is your favorite way to enjoy summer vegetables?

One Response to “Summer Vegetable Lasagna”

  1. di @ life of di. June 18, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    1) I really like the new design! Very cute and I think it really fits you 🙂
    2) The veggie lasagna looks great. I don’t think I have ever eaten a vegetable lasagna with red sauce. It has always been with a white sauce; however, I think I would much prefer a tomato sauce 🙂 Thanks for sharing!
    3) My favorite way to enjoy summer vegetables is on the grill 🙂 Cannot get enough grilled food in the summer!

Leave a Reply

